Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set

Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set

Overall rating:
3.909 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
19 out of 22(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Review 1 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tobichu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Not brillant quality, but OK for the money

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
They do what they say on the tin, but are not brilliant quality: That said, they are fine for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ryderz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Good quality pair of cone wrenches

PostedJune 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Nice to have the pack of two with four sizes (13-16mm) on each. Good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MelbGirl
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very strong

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Too small for shimano cone nuts (my fault for getting the wrong size), but strong enough to use as a pedal wrench
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Choppdogg78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
Havent even been home to see if they arrived yet,but had
&
lost identical set before. Bit thin & sharp edged for every day use,but great value for money. Look like the jaws could open easy,but dont,even after plenty use. Would recomend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bazza2602
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good quality product that did the job I wanted rally well. Slightly more robust than the ones I needed replacing so happy with them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Octoborne
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cone Spanners

PostedApril 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
I bought these to go with the ICE Toolz kit as it doesn't have them, and they make a great addition to it.
I was worried these looked a little cheap and thin - however I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and strengh of these. I have used them on several bikes already and there is no wear in them yet, so my first impressions were wrong.
You get 2 in the kit here with 2 sizes at each end so you can cover all of your family's bikes - a worthwhile investment at this price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
xburn
from Co. Tyrone, N.Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ice Toolz cone wrench set

PostedOctober 23, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: not great fitting
For the cost these cone wrench spanners are good value, fairly sturdy but being dual size on either end means they're not as close fitting on the outer slot as you would like. Not bad but with a single size spanner you can safely use more leverage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
JM2a
from 2 mile commuter
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cone spanners - review1

PostedOctober 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive, Uncomfortable, unclear markings
To work on your hub cones you just *need* cone spanners. I "misplaced" mine - I wonder who had them - and so I've bought these.
Okay despite everything else they've done what is required on my front hub. They've let me release the bearings and let me put them back together.
And they've let me do it not knowing what sized my cones nut were (13mm) beforehand (multi-set).
As for the spanners, thin (I mean *all* of it) and I might expect an accidental bend in use, not a good fit (I expect my cones to be faily acurate 13mm a/f (not proven), dual fit each end and not too clearly marked (now I know mine is 13mm I'd like to pick it up the right end first time).
They are lightweight but these stay in my garage so not relavent - possibly too long to carry with you anyway.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
iBike

Good quality set of tools

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a good set of tools to have but they should have a 17 as well as I had to buy another set just for that (generally a wheel hubs have 17 nuts)! Good but great still recommend to have a set of them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CanMan
from North Downs area
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic wrenches

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
These wrenches do the job they were intended to do. What else can I say? No problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
peen
from Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
It looks a little cheap. The grip is not very comfortable. But it works fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Goody
from Cambridgeshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Value

PostedMay 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought these cone wrenches as I currently run six bikes in the household and would you believe they all have different sized hub cones. This set covers the four most popular sizes 13,14,15,16mm and have worked brilliantly every time i've used them. Lightwight and no flex.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mattlysplat
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ice toolz Cone Spanners

PostedMay 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Do the job perfectally. has all the sizes you need. also works well as a pedal spanner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tboneking
from glasgow
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

magic!

PostedApril 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
these are the business, for value and performance, these are magic! redone my XT hubs a couple o times with these and they are perfectly adequate. Plenty narrow enough to do the cones, but i wouldnt do anything esle with them. I wouldda liked it if they had a 15 and 17 on them, as thats the 2 sizes on most mtb hubs, but you cant have everything. overall, do the job very well :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichyRichy
from Sussex
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value

PostedMarch 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Ideal bit of kit for basic home maintenance. May struggle to last long in the pro-workshop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Salomao
from Brasil

Cone wrench review

PostedMarch 15, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Uncomfortable
This is a very home made manual tool, I didn't realize it would be so weak.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barney088
from Lancashire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap option for rare use

PostedFebruary 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just the job for me, how often will I change/alter the cones on my bike? So far in two years, just the once (it was over due though!)
Perfect addition to the toolbox and sturdy enough for me and my level of mechanics, no need to spend more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
blueboy2001
from Lancaster
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, size range
These do the job just fine. They probably wouldn't stand up to daily use in a workshop as they are pretty soft, thin metal but for the odd cone adjustment at home they're good for the money, and they cover 4 sizes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nicknames
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

They're wrenches - they do what they're meant to

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: expensive for what they are - 2 metal plates, very oily from packet
Haven't had any problems except that they come out of the packet very, very oily - I assume to prevent corrosion in the pack. However, why they couldn't have found a slightly more practical method of protecting them I don't know - especially as the oil comes off after the first use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ice Toolz Hub Cone Wrench Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OttoSpark
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very useful

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I was a novice to basic wheel maintenance and so bought this set as you get the 4 different sizes of wrench. I managed to tighten the cones perfectly well with this tool and expect to use it again. The wrenches don't feel sturdy enough for regular day-to-day workshop use but for occasional home use they are ideal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>