Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool

Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool

Cromo BB tool that fits both ISIS and Shimano Bottom Brackets. For use with a 1/2" driver.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Review 1 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andicabby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tool

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
An excellent tool for the removal of bottom brackets, easy to use and very positive in action and location. A deifnite must have for the home mechanic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
john100

ok for light deuty job

PostedAugust 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
It seems to be sturdy enough but it doesn’t fit tight into the bracket so it is very difficult to put pressure on it in order to open a tight bracket. It simply slips out of position.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SprinterDiddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good price, worked perfectly.

PostedJune 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, effective
I wasn't an experienced bike repairer (Park tool blog and the Haynes Bike Book were my only guides), but this tool worked a dream. The original bottom bracket on my Trek 1.5 2010 was pretty worn (clicks and noise) and needed an overhaul.
Using a standard socket wrench, this little tool fitted into place despite the grime and was strong enough to loosen a very tight bottom bracket. All of the components on my bike were extremely tight out of the shop, and this tool was more than strong enough to cope with the pressures required. Great tool, great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Supershippie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what it says on the tin!

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Perfect fit for my slightly older bottom bracket: bear in mind you need a 12.5mm (1/2') socket wrench to use this tool... and if the bottom bracket's anything as tight as mine was, a big one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alexd103
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the Job

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Works fine, for half the cost of many of the alternatives. If, like me, you're only likely to use one of these a couple of times a year at most, why get a fancier one?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonb1
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly as I'd expect

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Used this tool with no probs, reqd 1/2 socket drive to use but thats the version i purchased.
Seen some reviews saying this tool not up to the job, but i had no problems removing ISIS BB with this - and its probably done 10k miles plus over at least two years!
If you need one of these why look any further.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ricky100

Good Value

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Compared with the price of the equivalent Shimano tool this does represent very good value. It does what it says though I did find it was prone to slip unless some body weight was placed on the tool to ensure that it couldn't slip out of the splined recess.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TonyP
from NE England
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made product

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: half inch drive
A well made product that fitted my bottom bracket well.
My only dislike is that it uses a half inch square drive, which had me scrabbling around my tool box until I found an old socket set that had the same (large) drive (most modern socket sets have a quarter inch drive).
Of course you will need a crank puller before you can use this tool. I bought the Ice Tools one from Evans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yaquaholic
from In the Shires
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin.

PostedJune 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: can only be used for bottom brackets
Need to change your bottom bracket?
You've pulled your cranks, but without one of these little lumps you'll not get any further. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flumanchew
from Greenford, Middlesex
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool

PostedMay 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Very easy to use tool. Not used one before and with a bit of patience and thought managed to use effectively. Recommend to all.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jaimito28
from northumberland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good tool..no need to pay more, does the job.Would recomend this tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheese
from South West UK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value for money

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Took out a Shimano Cartidge bracket that had been in my hybrid for over 10 years (from new), it does over 2000 miles per year so the bracket was completely shot, no grease left and had some water in it! It is a steel frame butit came out no problem with a quick soak with WD40. The tool gripped well and did not damage the plastic cup, the new bracket went in a piece of cake and went up to torque with no slippage. I have to say I was a bit wary as it was such a good price and I usually think you get what you pay for with tools, but I would recommend this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eric75
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tool

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Just bought this tool for a full spring cleaning on my Trek 7.5.
Removing and putting back the Bottom Bracket (Shimano ES25) was a piece of cake with this tool (and of course the help of youtube tutorials ;)).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tezzadaman
from lincolnshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
good quality tool makes the job its meant to do easy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AJC7
from Milton Keynes
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Bottom bracket tool.

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Used this tool to fit a new Shimano sealed bottom bracket to my Falcon Artic Fox. Made the job easy. Well recomended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xtrail999
from Wiltshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

ISIS/Shimano BB tool

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Did the job perfectly and because I was going from a Shimano BB to an FSA ISIS no other tool was necessary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tommo1968
from Bury
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Ice Toolz BB Tool

PostedJune 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality tool and good valve. Fits splines well but does not go in deep enough, this can cause it to come out during leverage. But if your careful it does the job well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ice Toolz ISIS/Shimano Bottom Bracket Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oldrocker
from norwich
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

good quality

PostedFebruary 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
good quality bb removal tool which takes an half inch drive ratchet wrench always preferable to a spanner which might slip off.
did the job without damaging the splines was a good fit highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.