Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks

Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks

Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StayPuft
from Horsham
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, well-fitting socks

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've always liked Gore Bike Wear clothing and when I needed a couple of new pairs of socks I opted for these excellent Gore ones rather than my usual Woolie Boolies. I've worn them on a few 3-hour rides and I am very pleased with the fit, comfort and support they give.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
neilos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

comfy warm sock

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
after recent use,more than happy with socks,quite warm and breath well enough.little bit snug,but not any complaints yet really.would buy again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Astrokid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well fitting socks

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: no choice of colour
Had a pair of these for some time now and they have started to get a bit bobbly on the outside but have plenty of life left in them, so I decided to get another pair as they fit so well. I nearly bought a triple pack from elswhere but it was cheaper to buy three pairs from Evans, they delivered them quickly too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hoots
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good socks for mountain biking

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I took a punt on these in the Evans sale and have been very pleased with them so far. I normally try and get socks with a bit of natural fibres in, as I don't like the clammy feel of some 100% man made fibre socks. However, these are the best man-made fibre socks that I've tried so far, and they have quite a soft silky feel. I've worn them in temps ranging from +8 to +22 Celsius, and they've not felt too hot, cold or sweaty; they also dry quite quickly when wet. Good value in Evans sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rus6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Not too warm, not too cool great for road and mountain biking
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
KiwiPete01
Country:New Zealand
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and delicate

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable
Cons: attract fluff
The socks are really comfortable but the wool attracts every little piece of fluff and dirt on the floor which is really frustrating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GARDIM
from HERAKLEIO - CRETA
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

excellent product

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
they are very warm and very good quality socks and they look beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
chris01942
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very Expensive

PostedOctober 18, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very expensive. Not much padding and not worth the money. Better look for Aldi's cycle sale. Got the same socks but better and Merino wool, for a quarter of the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stupiddawg
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Nice Socks

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Nice fit, snug but not overtight. Gets daily wear on commute and (hopefully) a bit more on the muddy mendips. Size fitted well, dry quickly, no sign of the stretch fit going baggy. Only missing thing is a bit of silver thread to cut down on the pong like my last pair (though to be fair, these haven't started reeking yet). Not sure how hard wearing these will be overall, only had a few weeks, but initial thoughts are comfortable, quick drying, good wicking and just the right amount of support. Recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
crashtestdummy
from Shepperton
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Keep your feet comfy and cool

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Only used these on hot days so far but keep your feet really cool and dry and are really comfy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BarkerWoo
from Sheffield
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Can't stop wearing these

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good quality
These are excellent. Fit so snugly. I'm not sure if these are supposed to be a winter sock (?), but I've been wearing them on the really hot days with no problems whatsoever - no sweaty feet or overheating. The only problem I have is that they are so comfy, I can't stop wearing them around the house all the time as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shardfang
from Hull
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great

PostedApril 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good quality
Cons: a little expensive
Very comfy and warm. All day wear on the bike with no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dontlikehills
from Reigate, Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

There socks, what more can you get?

PostedApril 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Good fitting socks that let my feet breath stopping me getting sweaty toes. Feel like they will last the year, but time will tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
herbie
from northamptonshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

well worth the money

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, nice touch of the left and right stitched in
I bought these after reading a couple of other reviews . They do what they say and thats keep my feet warm . I went out wearing these and a pair of overshoes and my feet where as warm as when I left home . previously I used a pair of thick socks ond overshoes and still got cold. I have also been out for about a hour when it has been cold and frosty and they work fine with just a pair of shoes.,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lafarge
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These are seriously good socks! They're extremely comfortable and supportive, and don't make your feet hot/sweaty. Almost worth wearing as every day socks in this weather :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mousey
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Top buy

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Good fitting warm sock offering support. Worn for last couple of months with no sign of wear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mickyf74
from birmingham
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

hmm

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
these socks are excellent for the commute but didnt stand up to the test of a welsh mountain in november! my feet were cold. the only thing keeping me going was the constant sight of the beautiful snow capped mountains. these socks made me realise that i really need proper specific equipment for every ride i do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Alp-X Socks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chalkey
from Newmarket
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Gore Alp-x socks

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent fitting all year round socks which are right/left 'handed'.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.