Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey

Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey

The body gives its best performance at a temperature of around 37° C / 80° F. Microfiber is essential for balanced temperature management, as it keeps the temperature constant. Products made of microfiber are more breathable than the best natural fibres and have excellent thermoregulation qualities, which suit their final use perfectly. Microfibers high level of stretchability and rapid drying qualities guaranty garments with a perfect cut and excellent wearability. Microfiber is also very resilient, durable and easy to care for.
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
46 out of 48(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
juggsy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Typical Gore quality

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect fit.
Very comfortable.
Good pockets.
Quality item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FaceWheel
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent top for warm weather

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Nice and light jersey, ideal for warm weather, very breathable too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flat6
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
i have 2 of these jerseys. they fit well & the features (eg. front zip, rear pockets, reflective bits, etc.) are really all i need... nothing more, nothing less.
its understated design also appeals to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Db62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Can't fault it

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought in the shop rather than online and ended up with a size bigger than I would have ordered from the website.
The top weighs next to nothing, and has been perfect for riding in this recent hot spell. The 3/4 zip is good for getting plenty of airflow on the body if needed. Wouldn't hesitate to buy another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great value, one issue

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Gore makes great gear, and it can be bought at great value. The fabric is breathable, more comfortable than you would expect for the prove point and the detailing is nice.
One issue: The elasticated band around the bottom of the jersey, designed to keep it in place, rides up after a lot of use as the tacky hem loses its friction.
All in all, brilliant product for the money - reliable, quality jersey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jon55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple, stylish and functional!

PostedJune 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have three of these jerseys (red yellow and blue) which are all highly visible, practical with three rear pockets and simply designed. The material wicks well and the long zip keeps the temperature under control.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RH74
London
 
Please wait while more information about RH74 is loaded.
Additional information about RH74 could not be loaded.
Shrinking
Posted June 11, 2013
Did they shrink when you washed them?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shb17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great jersey

PostedMay 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Quality, fit and the look are all what you would expect from Gore, i got the lime jersey and the colour is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
expedrory
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is second one of these shirts i have bought - good value for money and good fit. I cycle in Asia every day so they are a bit thinner and more suited to the hot conditions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dubcat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great quality, well ventilated, super comfy

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
My first road cycling jersey and I am very happy with it. It is a bit generic looking due to the lack of advertising all over it. To many this will be a big pro :)
The jersey does everything you would expect and seems to be of the highest quality. It turns out that I am the type that likes the big colourful team kit prints though. If I wanted something plain I would definitely get another one of these.
What I will say is that it is amazing value for money at the 26% sale price Evans have it up for. Hmm maybe I will buy another one after all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tipper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An Excellent Jersey

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is a very stylish and lightweight jersey, which keeps you cool and wicks away sweat quickly. The long zip allows easy removal even after the most tiring cycle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daveboi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

GORE CONTEST SS JSY M-BLU cycling short sleeve

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Sometimes the simplest things make a ride great. This short sleeve Gore contest jersey is such a product. The cut is fantastic and you almost don't feel that you are wearing a jersey. It is able to comfortly stretch when you rotate your trunk and allows good ventilation without allowing you to get too cold. I love the separate compartments at the back pockets so that you can organise food bars and other accessories. The key compartment is safe and you can ride with a certain degree of confidence that smaller objects won't fall out when hitting a bump in the road. I have owned a few jerseys and this product is right up there with the best
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pratty
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality jersey

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As usual with Gore fine quality and value.
Great summer jersey
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ray7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good short sleeve jersey with a 3/4 zip which allows plenty of ventilation when your flying up those hills! also keeps you comfortably warm in cooler weather (14-16c) quality seems good so far, the only negative would be that it has 3 rear pockets none zipped and they don't seem to be large enough to take say a 750ml water bottle or an average size banana so I can't really see the use of them, other than that it's as good as it's competitors.. I bought a size small and i'm a chest 38-40'' but this makes it nice and snug and doesn't flap around going downhill fast.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scoot1999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable, Great Fit, Great Price thoroughly recommended
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trihero

Jersey for warm conditions

PostedMay 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this one for training on Lanzarote, and it performed really well, both in terms of heat deflection (I got the white version) and sweat wicking abilities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Milla
from Sydney, Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great summer commuting shirt

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
This is a perfect shirt for every-day commuting in a Sydney summer. Very light and just right for those balmy Sydney summer mornings/arvos. Buy a few and toss in the wash daily. I am fairly tall and skinny, 1.85m/85kgs, and the medium fits perfectly. I find a lot of medium shirts are too short for a tall./skinny frame. Not this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slem
from Newcastle
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent fits like a second skin

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
II've worn this jersey commuting to work over several months commuting to work and back (7 miles each way, approx 40 – 45 minutes each journey). Also used at the weekend cycling up and down an old railway line.
It's been worn either on it's own or under a sweatshirt and reflective jacket.
I find it comfortable, well made, easy to maintain (chuck it in the washing machine).
It fits like a second skin, so make sure you get the right size, the material is very fine compared to my other jerseys. Looks as good as the day I got it.
I will buy a second one next year
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scuderiablu
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great jersey

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
great jersey, looks great feels great!comfy on long rides, good for sprints as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
broomerider
from Broome, WA
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
comfortable, lightweight, as the temp warms up, still feels cool, will face a test when the 6am temp is 28C and humid though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Short Sleeve Jersey
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
braiders
from Edinburgh
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great, but be careful!

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: so fine it could snag and get damaged
I have a lot of Gore bikewear, and it's all brilliantly made, and looks good too. I bought this as it was on offer, and it is a great addition to my cycle clothing wardrobe – but it is made from very fine material, and you need to take care when stowing it. I commute to work on the bike, and stash all my stuff in my panniers after changing. There's a hole in mine already and I've only been wearing it a week!
Probably only good for summer wear as it is so fine, and I still love it, but beware of snagging the material!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>