Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Backpacks & Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Deuter Race EXP Air

Deuter Race EXP Air

Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Deuter Race EXP Air
Review 1 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hiro38
Country:Japan
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cool

PostedMay 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Purchased as protection of the spine, I am very satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GavT
Country:United Kingdom

Nice bag but too small.

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A nice well made bag. Although for my needs this is a bit small, the front pocket wouldnt fit my wallet inside it (and i wouldnt say my wallet is particularly big).
The 'extender' function is actually a zip around the top part of the bag - and whilst technically this does increase the volume, it needed to expand the whole main section as the top bit expanding isnt particularly useful.
The air circulation on the straps and back is a great idea which works well to prevent sweat build up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sjo83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Light and comfortable

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I wanted a back pack that was light and comfortable for my ride to work as well as being breathable - this bag lives up to that. I can just about fit a change of clothes in so it is small but that's the point with this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandy2wheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great lightweight bag with adequate capacity.

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this to use whilst riding trails, carrying tools, puncture repair and refreshments. Its a nice fit, so much so that you forget you are wearing it. After adjusting the straps it stays in place perfectly and there is no chafing or pulling even over rough ground. Its well made and cleverly designed with a pull out hi-viz waterproof cover thats easy to fit, and a helmet carrier. It really is lightweight and comfortable. I'm very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bdog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Nice bag

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Light and looks good, nice space, I really recomend this one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlokeOnTheBike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant

PostedJune 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Wore this on a four hour ride the other week, and it was exceptionally comfortable (I'm 6' 1" tall with a 42" chest). The frame really does hold the pack away from your back, too, so no excessively sweaty backs here. It's very well made (just like the other two Deuter products I own), with just the right amount of room inside for some spares, tools, wallet, keys, compact camera, snacks, water, raincoat, spare T-shirt... For me it's pretty much perfect; I can't really say anything bad about it.
The helmet holder and rain cover are very welcome and very useful additional features. It cost a little more than I was initally thinking of spending on a small backpack suitable for taking out on long(ish) rides, but I'd say it was absolutely worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ottokar
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Daily backpack with perfect rain cover

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Perfect for cycling and running, good overall comfort and functionality. The rain cover is yellow and protects perfect rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HereFourTheRide
from Dorset
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made lightweight daypack

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Searched for ages for the right size pack for communting and going out for the day.
Love the expansion capability
Rain cover and helmet carrier thingo!
Even has space for a H2O pouch (not incluced) ;)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigSmokeCyclist
from South West London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic Bag, clearly designed by cyclists!

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
The Deuter Race Exp Air bag is excellent, it is really well designed for cyclists and has loads of nice little touches like the helmet holder and water bladder compatibility. It's size is ideal for the essentials for a commute and can be expanded to 15L if a bit of extra room is needed for shopping etc.
The main reason to buy this bag though is the back system which lets air to your back and really does help stop your back getting sweaty on a ride.
A brilliant product which I use everyday.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HerOutdoors
from Glasgow
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Winning Gift

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this for my serious cycling other half and he loves it. The air vent system works really well making it much more comfortable to wear than his old one. The rain cover is a great feature, but the fabric of the bag is pretty water resistant anyway. It has enough room for all the basics and the helmet web adds extra space. Although he doesn't use a hydration system (yet) the fittings are there for one. The colour scheme is good too - the only other bag I really considered came in bright red which is a little too bright for him outdoors.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bounty
from Malta
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent backpack

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A very light backpack with a 12 + 3L volume and aircomfort back system which is very ideal for commuting to work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonomc
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Just perfect for me

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great, air mesh back
I have spent a long time looking at different models of rucksacks – for once I was sensible and bought a cheap £10 backpack, it was about 18 litres and had a reasonable amount of padding at the back. It did the job well enough for 6 months until I figured out what I really needed in a backpack.
I really did do a thorough job of investigating this and even at one point had my wife being dragged around various hiking shops looking at various models. I had some very definite needs
1) It needed to have an air mesh back
2) It needed a rain cover that was high visibility
3) It needed a helmet holder.
4) It needed to be large enough to carry a shirt and some underwear into work and various odds and ends
5) If possible it needed to be able to carry a hydration pack.
So why these requirements?
1) For me the Air Mesh back padding was very important – one of the main problems with my cheap backpack was the amount of sweat I ended up with on my back after cycling even 8 miles on an average warmth day, maybe it is just me and I sweat a lot, maybe it is old age – maybe it is the fact I try and push myself hard when I cycle. Either way it is not pleasant – the only sensible solution I could see (given that my cheap backpack already had padding with air gaps) was to go for a mesh back (a little like those office chairs) this solution not only allows air in to cool you down but it also spreads the load on your back and stops certain items digging into you on the ride. A surprise bonus of the Mesh Back has been the slight reduction of the effect of cross winds and anything that stops the wind from blowing you in front of a bus is not to be sniffed at.
2) Generally speaking my cycle gear is black / grey – all fine on a warm sunny day with high visibility. But when it rains or is dark I like to switch to high visibility clothing. Nothing seems more crazy to me than to buy one of these high visibility backpack covers (about £20) this on top of the cost of the backpack seemed a crazy waste of money. Therefore I decided that any backpack I would buy would come with its own built in rain cover and this needed to be bright.
3) Same with a helmet holder – I tend to not wear a bike helmet unless it is raining, icy or dark. The trouble I have found is that some days it is sunny in the morning and raining in the evening. You need an impractically large everyday rucksack to carry a helmet in it. Therefore if I wanted to make sure I was in possession of my helmet for such an occasion I needed to be able to carry it on my backpack (I realise this is a very personal reason but I think all cyclist need to be able to carry their helmet around from time to time).
4) The size of the backpack is always very tricky – it really is a personal needs choice. The Deuter Race Exp Air is a 12 litres (+ 3litres expansion) is enough for me personally to meet my commuting needs 98% of the time. If I ever need more, then I will just use a less comfortable but larger backpack on those odd occasions. But if the backpack is too large, then it is just additional weight and wind resistance you are carrying around with you every day.
5) With respect to the hydration pack – I don’t need one now but it is certainly my intention to do longer and longer rides next year and the ability to carry sufficient fluids will be a requirement. But why pay for hydration now when I don’t need it? For me it was important to be able to add a hydration pack when I needed it and also to be able to buy one of my choosing, not just one that happened to come with the backpack. Additionally the ability to carry a hydration pack also means you have “the plumbing” to run earphones from your phone etc. from your backpack into your ears and therefore not have to put your phone in your pocket or wherever you keep it.
So there is my eminently sensible list of requirements – on top of that obviously it needs to look the part!
So having search high and low I came down to the 12L (+3) Deuter Race Exp Air. My search was made shorter by the need for a Mesh Back – this cut out 95% of the backpacks on offer. In the end there were only 3 backpack that it came down to – another one by Deuter (20L) and one more by Vaude.
I was really torn between the two Deuter backpacks and initially I was going to go for the 20 litre version as it had a helmet carrier. In a trip to the shop though to have a look at the backpacks in the flesh I discovered that the Deuter Race Exp Air did actually have a helmet carrier and even better it folded away into a specific pocket and could be taken out when needed. Also I had a good look at the insides of them to see how much they could carry. So my three main reasons for choosing over the 20 litre version were as follows.
1) The size was better for everyday use
2) Price!
3) Comfort
There was also a far more frivolous reason in that this is black and grey and therefore matched my clothes in general.
So what does this rucksack offer? Quite simply everything I need. It has the helmet holder and better yet I can fold it away for all the time I don’t need to carry a helmet. It has a built in rain cover in high visibility colour – perfect! Now I will not have to waste another £20 of a separate high visibility rain cover. It has the compartment and a required routing hole for a hydration pack and at the same time it has not got some standard pack in it (that I might not want in the long term and will replace anyway when the time comes when I am looking for a good one). It has a mesh pack to reduce sweat and increase comfort. What did surprise me though was the fact that it was more comfortable on the shoulders than the far more padded 20 litre version – this is very much a personal fit thing though I am sure – also the shoulder straps are very much setup for increased airflow (once again keeping you cooler). As mentioned above the size was also perfect for me for everyday commuting. An additional small but nice touch is the fact that you loop you shoulder strap lightener onto the stomach strap to stop them flapping around as you ride (this is one thing that really bugged me about my cheap backpack).
You can really see that this was a backpack design predominately for the cyclist, in my opinion it really pays off when you buy something that was designed for a sole purpose – yes you could use it in other circumstances after all a bag is a bag but this excels at being a backpack for the cyclist.
Any negatives? Yes there are two – firstly I think there should be a few more or larger internal compartments – I carry around not only keys and money but also things like mars bars (needed for any potential diabetic hypos) phones and wallets. A separate compartment to store these things would have been nice, I like to keep them separate so I can access them quickly if I ever need them and leave them in my bag at all times. The other minor gripe I have is that it would have been nice to have a loop on the chest strap to stop the loose bit flapping around (easily remedied though with a piece of elastic). I also think they could have pushed harder on the expansion of the backpack and instead of making it +3 litres they could have gone for the + 8 litres size – this could have been possible, but I guess they have to take into account their whole range and make sure there is no overlap of products and also maybe they felt the straps were too weak to take the potential extra weight.
So now for the biggy – price. I bought this backpack from Evans. It retails at £65 – but if you buy on-line it is £58. But they also do price match and with a quick hunt on the internet I found someone selling it for £47. So I printed that off and took it with me to the shop – no arguments they matched the price. When I take into account the fact I don’t need to buy a separate rain cover, I effectively bought this backpack for £27 and that is a bargain!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wolverine
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

very nice bag for coummuting

PostedOctober 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought this bag because my flatmate has got one. no regret buying this bag. compact size just big enough to bring my essentials, very well designed compartment in the bag, price wise its justifiable with the thoughtful design of this bag, the mesh on the back is excellent other wise you get a sweaty back when you get to work thats not nice and this little bag does plenty I would recommend this to anyone
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Value Back Pack

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Tried to find this one here in Finland and it wasnt available. So bought it here, used daily while commuting to work with bike. Excellent stuff, just the proper size for my clothes and gear. Wouldnt change it to anything. Best buy, have to say
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheBurras
from West Lothian
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Race EXP Air

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: some other colour combos might be nice
Bag as described in other posts so no real point in reviewing a genuinely well designed and very useful product, I am genuinely impressed with the simple and efficient price matching and delivery offered by Evans.
Will definately buy again
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zerologic
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Clever Little Bag

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Evans price matched this bag for me and delivered it really quickly!
I was looking for a replacement for my messenger bag, something that didn't slide off my back and need moving back into place all the time. I was not sure about a rucksack as I didnt want to get a really sweaty back on my commute. So after a load of research I went for the Race EXP air.
Not the biggest bag in the world but more than enough for my commute essentials. Rain cover hidden in the bottom is great, as is the air flow back system which i was most impressed with. Other features like the expandable sides for larger loads, bladder compatibility and helmet holder won't be used everyday but good to have.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blobbin
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: hi-vis - the rain cover detracts from the airflow
Everything I wanted. Light, comfortable, expandable and cool. More over it keeps my water away from my back and hence cool to drink.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dizman
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Male

Worth the cost

PostedJune 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good value
I'm still finding hidden pockets in this thing. Ok so it costs a little but it's deceptively large, the separation of your back from the rear of the bag is it's best feature by far and it's comfortable to wear. Even the helmet holder and waterproof cover are good. 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
omzman

faultless

PostedJune 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
best way of travelling fast and light, have put in some century rides (road) wearing this, i train with it on as well, its a bloody superb rucksack they have thought of everything.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Deuter Race EXP Air
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ad0211
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Decent Bag

PostedApril 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This is a great bag. I thought it was quite expensive (until I saw some other prices) but cost aside it has a lot of room and will expand to provide more volume. I use it for commuting and can easily get my clothes, spare kit, pump and lunch in it and there are still compartments to spare. Easy to adjust and does allow air to get round you so you don't take it off and find you've a soggy back.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>