Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Mayhem 3/4 Baggy

Altura Mayhem 3/4 Baggy

Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
6 out of 7(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Altura Mayhem 3/4 Baggy
Review 1 for Altura Mayhem 3/4 Baggy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roytheboy

Good all rounder

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Excellent shorts for the money comfortable in riding position neat adjuster on the back for waistband
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Mayhem 3/4 Baggy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
revmattsi
from Saffron Walden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

disappointing

PostedJuly 21, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive, Uncomfortable
OK, I know it says baggy and for a roadie like me I should have been wiser, but they are like sails!! Top fastening is not great, lack of any deep pockets or places to pop a phone and the most ridiculous zip pocket on the side which would just about hold a packet of chewing gum!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Mayhem 3/4 Baggy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
kiwidrin
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

almost a great pair

PostedJune 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good value
Cons: Poor quality
my wife bought these, fitted fine, length was great, but the velcro tab ripped after a couple of adjustment, other than that theyre a great pair of shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Mayhem 3/4 Baggy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dmac
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Look great- feel great

PostedJune 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, Good value
Have used these for a month or so now - found them to be really comfortable and they look good. Liner is not the best but perfectly adequate for the job at this price. Handy velcro waist adjuster to get a good - Would definitely recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Mayhem 3/4 Baggy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ClimbBoy
from Liverpool
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cracking value and great quality

PostedApril 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these 3/4's from Evans a month or two ago and am loving their work...
They arrived within 3 days by post as usual - no complaints there.
The material is very durable and shower resistant - perfect for the trails.
They also have velcro fasteners on the bottoms to tighten or loosen. These are especially useful if you wear knee pads or shin guards, as there is plenty of room without them catching on the material.
Size-wise, I am a 32-34" waist and the Mediums are perfect for me.
Having seen mine, my brother instantly ordered a pair. Such are my trend setting ways...
I would highly recommend these shorts - especially at their current price!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Mayhem 3/4 Baggy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
toonrider
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

good - but class as shorts & free undershorts

PostedApril 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: poor quality attachment of inner short
The outer shorts are good - lightweight but durable & shower resistant. the inner shorts are only attached by two flimsy poppers - one of which broke immediately. The inner shorts are adequate so if you class the teh mayhems as a good outer short with some free innershorts rather than a unit its good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Mayhem 3/4 Baggy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CheekyPlayMonki
from Warrington
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Superb 3/4 length shorts that look good & perform!

PostedMarch 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: inner short padding
Before buying these shorts I was torn between the Endura Humvee 3/4 and these Altura Mayhem 3/4. There were plenty of reviews on the Humvee, all with good ratings but in the end I decided to stick with Altura and I prefered the style of these shorts.
Dispatch from Evans was excellent, I ordered online at 10am and they arrived the following day (my post isn't usually that reliable!). I purchased these shorts to have in addition to my Altura Summit baggy's, ready for a charity MTB ride in April 2010 over the Trans Pennine Trail. I mainly ride locally in the North West of England and the occasional trail centre in Wales although I am planning to ride a lot more this year.
At first glance, the shorts look great, even off the bike and were as described on the website. I like the clean lines of the design and the hidden pockets and vents. I ordered XL as my waist size is 36 / 38 for jeans or trousers respectively and they fit perfectly. The rear velcro adjusters are great and you can tighted up very quickly when they are on. They are slightly tricky to put on initially due to the flimsy looking fastners on the inner short but I must admit, once I had put them on for the first time, I have now mastered this and it's very simple. Although the inner short fasteners look flimsy, they appear to be quite strong and it makes them easy to remove. My only slight critism is the padding on the inner short isn't as thick as my other Altura products but it still provides just enough comfort for most epic rides in the saddle. As the inners are removable they could easily be changed for an existing pair you might already own. The shorts let the air flow in all the right places and keep you warm when its cold. The first outing I had, the temperature was -3C and they kept me nice and warm. They have been equally as good in 15C at keeping me cool on big climbs.
All in all, a very nice looking, practical, well designed pair of 3/4 shorts. Altura remain a very good choice for MTB clothing and I would definately buy their products again based on the performance of these shorts. I may need to after the 215 mile charity ride...!
Thanks & Enjoy!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.