Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm

Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm

Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
16 out of 18Would you recommend this product to a friend?89%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Review 1 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

It seems to be well and does the jobs

Posted27 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Its also not to heavy and good value for money. It is a bit difficult to uncoil at times but my overall experience of it that its a good medium priced lock
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid lock

Posted23 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
The lock is sturdy and long enough to wrap around front wheel, back wheel and frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stout and easier to carry than a fixed bar

Posted29 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The coil lock seems to keep a good balance between strength, weight and size. I wanted a decent lock that could fit into a small pack under the crossbar on a MB. This fits the bill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Yorkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value lock

Posted04 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very sturdy for the price and a perfect length. Its slightly on the heavy side but not enough to discourage carrying it around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too easy to nick

Posted19 May 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: too easy to steal!
Used my bike in central London for a couple of months. Was stolen on a sunny day when parked in front of a flow hundreds of people outside a London museum! Could as well have been unlocked!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does the job!

Posted17 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I mainly purchased the Thule 538 cable lock to secure my front wheels to the frame with those being quick release. The cable seems sturdy and what I particularly love about the lock is that it comes with a 'proper' shape key; that is unlucky to snap or get bent like you would with more fiddy keys on other locks. For me, that was enough of a reason to purchase the Thule 538
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Athens-Greece
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Thule 538 cable lock-review by PDD

Posted05 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good quality lock. Feels solid and the locking mechanism seems to be trouble free. I chose it for the length of the cable (1.8m) as it provides great flexibility in attaching the bike to large posts etc as well as the brand. Cannot comment on the strength of the cable as nobody has tried to break the lock yet. One other nice thing is the end cap at the key insertion point that prevents mud and dust entering. Would definately recommend it as it is a quality product for its price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from West Midlands
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted07 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A secure lock. Good quality. I sometimes get it a little tangled up but that's just minor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

value for money

Posted01 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
easy to use,
keys are solid and dont look or feel flimsy like some bike locks do
wraps around the seat post with ease or will fit in some saddle bags if you want.
it has a cover over the key hole to prevent the ingress of dirt
Fast delivery and very reasonable price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job - so far

Posted09 December 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: pain to lock up
It's a pain to thread it through wheels/frame etc with the coils of the cable but that is a small price to pay for securing the bike. It's done the job so far.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Lancashire
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect lock

Posted09 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
does everything a lock should do, no1s tried to break it yet but its defo a must buy, good price for the quality to
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:18-24
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great

Posted05 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is a great lock, it looks good too as it's all black.
I've used it twice and my bike hasn't been stolen so it seems great so far.
The one problem I've had with it is that the little plastic cap that clips over the keyhole broke as I took it out the packet, but that's cosmetic anyway.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

Affordable Quality

Posted06 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Seems very strong does what it is supposed to do. only issue I have is I get all tangled up trying to unravel it but that's me I think!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Bracknell
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Great Value Extra Secure Bike Cable Lock

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, much securer with key lock
A sleek look security lock for the bike. It has a versatile cable with plenty of length to wrap around wheels and the frame. Lightweight and compact to carry. A lso a spare key.
Excellent value for money.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
from motherwell
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Major design flaw

Posted11 June 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: design flaw
This lock is fine apart from a the fact it doesn't lock without the key ebing in the lock. So you have to have the key in the barrel to unlock and to lock. This makes the lcok unlock procedure longer and more awkard especially if you have your padlock key on a bunch of keys. Strikes me as particularly obstructive!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Norfolk
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Posted08 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Well made product. No fixing for storage on bike frame.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Thornaby
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

GOOD ONE

Posted11 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
LONG ENOUGH AND STRONG ENOUGH...WHAT ELSE DO U NEED?
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Thule 538 Cable lock - 180cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Surrye
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Great lock

Posted11 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Excellent quality and great price, would recommend this to anyone
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.