Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier

Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier

Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Review 1 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
martinz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Seems very secure strong rack. Just driven 2000 miles with 3 bikes on the back and no problems!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SJC23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

EASY PEASY TO PUT ON THE CAR

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
OWNING A LARGE 4X4 WITHOUT A TOW BAR I REQUIRED A SIMPLE STRAIGHTFORWARD BIKE CARRIER.
WE HAVE THE THURLE BIKE RACKS FOR THE ROOF BUT I CANT PUT THEM ON WE ALSO HAVE THE THURLE TOW-BAR BIKE TRANSPORTER FOR OUR OLD CAR BUT THIS CLIP ON IS THE CATS PYJAMAS.
EASY TO USE AND "NO WOBBLE" WHEN 3 BIKES ON.
WOULD RECOMMEND.
GOOD FAST DELIVERY FROM EVANS CYCLES TOO.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MossyD
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Class

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very easy to assemble. Rock solid when attached to car ( Renault Scenic).
Fast to attach & take off bike and the rubber straps keep the bike firmly in place.
Like the fact that you can open the boot with the bike rack on.
Only minor issue is that i can't use the rear window wiper as it won't pass the frame.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Burnzie23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong, sturdy & secure.

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to fit
Cons: difficult to remove singlehandedly
A good strong well made piece of equipment. Quick and easy to fit, but can be a little difficult to take off. Care needed to avoid scratching car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gzchrz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, easy to fit once assembled
Secure, solid product that instils confidence that things are safe when you are driving. 3 comments though:-
1. The self-assembly instructions are a bit vague (mostly diagrams to cater for the wide range of target languages). Had to retrace my steps a couple of times when I realised I had assembled things the wrong way round!)
2. The rubber pads (to protect the car's tailgate) have come loose after just a couple of trips out. Not a big deal but there might be a better solution.
3. My Freelander has an automatic rear wiper that swipes when it's raining and the car is put into reverse. When the rack is fitted the wiper path is blocked. The best solution seems to be to remove the rear wiper fuse in the passenger footwell. Bit of a palaver though.
Other than that, very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geordie103
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great carrier.

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought to go on a 2009 Vauxhall Zafira. Bit tricky to get set up (please note the bottom 2 legs screw out to extend for different sized cars. This took me some time to figure out!!!)
Easy to put on the car once it has been initially set up. No need for extra bungees to tie bikes on as there is a rubber tie fixed to the carrier.
May need a number plate board for longer journies as the plate is partially obscured in the middle of the boot.
Great carrier for a good price as a summary!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OllieG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality solid construction & fitting rack

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a good quality, lightweight rack with solid construction, which is absolutely rock sold when fitted to the car (mine's a 56-plate Vauxhall Vectra estate) - when trying to wiggle it about to see if it's tight enough you end up shaking the car around.
The instructions are a little sparse (and one locking nut is not pictured correctly in the diagrams) and, whilst I managed it on my own, it would help to have another pair of hands available to hold things in place when assembling. I would allow yourself an hour to assemble and fit the rack for the first time (subsequent fitting/removal takes seconds) and definitely enlist the help of another adult when fitting to the car as you can quickly run out of hands and end up scratching the paintwork if you are not careful. I have to open my boot about halfway before the top clips will fit over the boot lid and then lower again to engage the lower hooks (if you only use the rack on one car then you'll only have to adjust the lower hooks on the first fitting) before closing the spring-loaded levers to very firmly lock the rack in place.
The instructions include a fitting book that shows how to configure the rack (the top hooks attach to the rack in one of three places) for your particular car with hundreds of vehicles listed. It does refer to an additional part number for some cars, which isn't described or even listed, which is a little confusing but wasn't needed for my car.
Depending on your particular vehicle and bikes used on the rack, you may find that, to stay legal, you should purchase additional accessories not stocked by Evans: a numberplate and/or electrics board (if your numberplate and/or lights are obscured).
If possible, unless you can be at home all day, I'd also reccomend having it delivered to your local store and picking it up from there to avoid having to arrange redelivery/collection with Yodel.
I also purchased the 180cm locking cable to secure my bikes to the rack for when leaving the car in public for a while, for example at the motorway services etc.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bluebell4
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made, easy to fit and use.

PostedMay 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, ease of use, easy to fit, well made
Bought this carrier as a birthday gift for my daughters boyfriend. They are both very keen cyclists and found it easy to fit to their car (Ford Focus Hatchback) and have used the carrier every weekend since and on a recent trip to Scotland.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exotics

Secured & Steady

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The instruction can be better as it took me a while to figure out how to fit the carrier properly to my Grand Scenic 06. Once fitted it was very secured, and we managed to secure 3 bikes (2 adult & 1 kid 24 inch wheel) without too much hassle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jordan191
from N.I.
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Fairly easy to build, quick to attach to the car (Vauxhall Zafira B) and as soild as a rock when attached and laden with 3 bikes. Top quality product from Thule, well worth the price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jamus
from Norfolk
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bit of kit

PostedJune 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, secure
Cons: skimpy instructions
Purchased after much research on net after a failed attempt with a "Universal" fit from a high street store. Its fitted to a Renault Megane Scenic '03 and a rear carrier was the only option due to a huge glass sun roof. The rack arrived with skimpy diagramatic instructions which took about an hour to decipher during assembly. The quality of the rack itself is very good, although the rubber grips for supporting the bikes looked a bit chewed up during manufacturing, but straightened easily. The rack is totally attached by metal fixings to the rear door, no canvas straps optimistically attached by thin wire hooks on this one. It is really soliid and squak free in use, and removal and attachment after initial assembly take about 5 minutes. Had to disable rear wiper by removing a fuse for safety. Not the cheapest carrier around, but you get quality, solidity and confidence that your pride and joy isn't going to be the cause of a big pile up by falling off the back of your car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikeyMike
from London SW
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant addition to Roof carrier

PostedJune 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I already have three Thule Roof carriers and needed to have an alternative in order to gain access to many car parks without taking the bikes off first.
Thule are the best I have used and this one is no different.
It is easy to assemble and just as easy to fit to my estate car.
The rack and bikes do not move at all, I will however have to remember not to use the rear wiper. I am extremely happy with this product and have every confidence in the safety of the bikes and to the public. Well done Thule, and also Evans for supplying it at a very good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Thule 9104 ClipOn 3-bike estate rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sparko
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Gender:Male

Best bike rack I've used

PostedApril 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, very secure
Cons: Expensive
I fitted this rack to the rear of a '10 Renault Espace. The clip-on style is much more secure than the previous strap types. Took about 20mins to put together (do it the day before you need it!) then 10mins to attach to the car for the first time. Subsequently only took a couple of minutes to attach. Much easier to attach with a spare pair of hands as you have to hold to boot half-open while hooking the rack over the top.
Very sturdy. Didn't cover the numberplate (on the Espace), half-covered the lights. Probably should have got a lightboard.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.