Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier

Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier

Overall rating:
3.533 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
12 out of 15(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
78 Questions | 106 Answers
Customer reviews for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Review 1 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gama98
from Malta
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Take your bikes...anywhere, effortlessly.

Posted25 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Indispensable to take your bikes anywhere. I use the Thule 9103 ClipOn to get away and out of the city and appreciate cycling the country lanes.
Followed the instructions to assemble the rear carrier and had it clipped to my 2000 3door Fiat Punto in no time at all. Takes very little effort to have your bikes loaded and secured to the carrier. A blessing anyone would appreciate after some intense activity. The carrier folds and neatly fits in the car boot in just seconds once you get to your destination.
Had to glue some rubber strips to the metal hooks that attach to the rear door since these were not included.
Rubber clips together with an additional strap secure the bikes to the carrier. You forget about the bikes while driving. Did not need to add a lightboard to my Fiat Punto since whole unit (with bikes mounted on carrier) do not obstruct rear lights and registration plates.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
loopylou67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Posted02 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Not too many parts which makes assembly easy. Clear instructions and not complicated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
harry14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds CyclePoint

Be warned of possible extra hidden costs

Posted28 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
What most disappoints me about the Thule 9103 is that for certain makes of car, including our Vauxhall Astra hatchback, Thule recommend the purchase of an additional item (Thule 9115) to hook the carrier to the top of the boot. These extra long metal strips - that is all they are - set me back an additional £30. It was not immediately clear from their website (unless you read the small print) that they would be required. I can't see any reason - other than meanness - that Thule can't just include these in the box. The rubber strips designed to protect the paintwork of your car are also inadequate. Other than the that, the carrier was very slightly fiddly to assemble, but served us well on our holiday to France and should get plenty more use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
afox

works well

Posted30 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
bit confusing to put together but works well, including motorways
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
David811
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Kia Picanto - not quite perfect, but will work

Posted30 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
For use on a Kia Picanto 2014 model
The 3 bike rack is not ideally suited to a Kia Picanto but it will work if you are happy to forego some of the ease of fitting. I am happy to leave the rack on the car almost all the time and so was happy to accept some of the fitting deficiencies for this model. The rack itself is just what i wanted in terms of its weight and ease with which bikes are attached to it. Quite expensive, but it is a quality product that I think reflects good value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nosila
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Good rack doesn't fit over spoiler though

Posted29 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: doesnt work with spoiler
I put this together- took a bit of time but ok.
The rack is nice and feels sturdy, nice touches like reflectors on the ends of the arms. Unfortunately despite checking Thule's fitting guide this didn't fit. I have a small spoiler (standard spec not a mod) on my car and this just put too much pressure on it. All it would have required was a slightly longer arm for the top of the boot but Thule couldn't help.
Nice product but not very flexible have ended up with a Saris rack and pleased with it. Evans were great with the exchange.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stavewjs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits Hyundai i30 (2009), easy to mount

Posted25 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, stable, solidly made
The Thule 9103 fits a Hyundai i30. It definitely does not obscure the licence plate, which is down low on the i30. It can be a bit borderline with obscuring the indicators (and lights - but since you normally cycle in the summer, this is less of a problem), depending on the size and number of the bikes mounted. The more bikes mounted, the more it tends to block them. With 1 bike it's not a problem.
There is still some visibility of the indicators, but I find it is wise to allow more time and space when turning or moving lanes on the motorway.
Apart from this the 9103 is excellent. It is very solid and the bikes don't move at all. It is also very quick to mount and dismount, with the ability to fold it down into the boot in a few seconds a real plus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
TakisH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54

Difficult assembly – missing part

Posted21 May 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
This is a product of seemingly good manufacturing quality but difficult to assembly. The worst part was the fitting of the last bracket, holding together the two main brackets lower down. I found this practically impossible to assembly as per the instructions. Eventually, I did the best I could but this is a seriously weak point in the whole process.
Finally, the rubber protectors were missing from the package. I think I have seen this comment in another review. This is bad as this is probably the most inexpensive items, but very difficult to find somewhere else. They are meant to protect the paintwork in the lower part of the rear lid.
In the attached image, on the top section one can see the bracket I had difficulties with. In the lower section of the image, the missing rubber protectors can be seen.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DvidH

Solid bike rack

Posted03 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Fairly easy to fit to my golf mkV, just a little fiddly to get the hooks to catch on the top of the boot.. Secures 2 mountain bikes easily. Spent 2hrs on the motorway no problems. Really useful that the rack folds up for storage
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
CLHanwell
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brentford

Does not fit 2004 Nissan Micra

Posted12 September 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I daresay the product would have been good if it had fitted our car. Suggest you check the detailed fit guide on the Thule website before buying. Thule dont do any kind of rear carrier for Nissan Micra post 2002. Very grateful that Evans offer a full returns service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
monkeyW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Bomb proof bike rack once set up.

Posted30 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, sturdy
I struggled to put the rack together and to then fit it to my car. The manufacturers instructions were very poor, Now it is adjusted to fit the car (Clio 2009) it is a simple and quick process to get the bike onto the rack and drive away. It is sturdy and reliable. you see minimal movement when driving.
You need to study the drawings in the instructions carefully.
Use an extra lining to protect the paint on the bottom fixings.
Delivery was timely.
It had a fixing strap missing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MAPhilli
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Sturdy bike rack

Posted02 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
As with all Thule products this is a well made bike rack. On the back of my Focus it feels sturdy and doesn't move at all when locked in place.
The unit only comes with one extra strap for keeping the bikes fastened together so i had to buy two extra ones from Screwfix. You can use just the one, but im happier knowing they're fastened on more securely.
Decent bike rack though, much better than my last one from Halfords!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scubasteve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid carrier, quick to attach to car

Posted16 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Overall for the price it is very well made, easy to fit and store, rock solid on the car and should last a long time but it has several little niggles that stop it being perfect - not all bikes will fit, difficult to carry 3 bikes, may need a light board, needs rubber feet!
Assembling the carrier took longer than expected although its not especially complicated. Just don't leave it until 5 minutes before you have to go. Also attaching to your car can take a little practice before you can do it smoothly. However this pays off as once you have it sussed the carrier can be fitted or taken off in about a minute and is absolutely rock solid. Once fitted you cannot take it off without opening the boot so there is an element of security to leave bikes locked up. Also folds up nicely for storage.
I should note that i have an Audi A4 S Line Avant and the recommended setting for the top arms is wrong for my car because of the spoiler but once tweaked it goes on without a problem. The mounting brackets that fit over the top and bottom of the boot don't have any rubber paint protectors (lazy omission) but after several uses the paint work is still ok. However I will still cut a small piece of inner tube or similar to fit just in case. Also on the A4 Avant i should really use a light board unless i take all the wheels off the bikes.
Frame size - here is the biggest problem. Small bikes wont fit at all. My 20" Cube Attention is OK but any frame with a small main triangle or high mounted rear suspension probably wont fit easily. Also the 3 bike tag is a stretch. 3 road bikes maybe but 3 big MTB's will be tight.
Last gripe - you are supposed to disable the rear wiper with this fitted which is a hassle.
Since i bought this it has had alot of use carrying 1-2 MTB's and has been brilliant, very easy and convenient. So glad the days of putting a muddy bike in the boot are over!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
TallRider29
from London to Brighton
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Thule bike carrier

Posted24 May 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a lot of searching on the net finally decided on the king of bike carriers: Thule. It stated it would fit the Focus. But it didn't. Mine is an 08 1.8 Titanium and the rear spoiler is a touch longer than most. Yes, you've guessed it, the arms that secure the carrier to the boot hinge were not long enough. Bitterly disappointed especially as I needed it the next day. Called Evans. Superb. You bring it to me today, he said. And I'll give you a full refund. I did and he did (Canary Wharf store). BUT where to find one in what was left of my Saturday. Try Halfords, said Mr Evans. I did and for the same price found what I was looking for. Virtually same design except this one had 4 arms of different lengths to choose from. Thankfully one of the pair did fit. So Mr Thule, don't say it fits the Focus when it doesn't. And think about putting a variety of arms in so it WILL fit ANY Focus. So to summarise, Evans 1 Thule 0.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Thule 9103 ClipOn 3-bike hatchback rear carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
roadster
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great value

Posted24 April 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Excellent and easy way to carry bikes. Have taken three bikes to southern europe at autobahn speed several times with no issues
Looks good on the car with or without bikes and no flapping straps. Once first fitted (30 mins) each subsequent time takes less than 2 mins to fit or remove single handed.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.