Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier

Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier

Overall rating:
4.533 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Review 1 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MickyDo1
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great simple design

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It is very easy to use, well constructed and a a very practical bike carrier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Des66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Solid!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I opted for Thule due to their reputation for robust products, but I was a little dubious about how solid this would be bearing in mind that it fixes solely to the tow hook, not onto the roof/boot etc as well. However, it is rock solid.
4 bikes are a bit of a squeeze though and takes quite some jostling to fit them on, and 2 of our bikes are 20" kids bikes for 5&6 yrs olds.
Overall, v impressed, just have to be patient when loading up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clive3201
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap way to carry 4 bikes if your car has towbar

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Best make and the cheapest. Fits very securely to my Volvo xc90 swan neck removable tow-bar, very sturdy with no danger of it slipping.
Only bad point is the ability to drop the bikes (on purpose) is not easy to operate, also the washers are sized just correctly to catch and make it even worse to operate. That said I don't think I will need to normally use this facility.
Overall very happy and would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ims158
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Instructions were easy to follow, did not take too long to sort and unlike some other reviews we fitted on 4 mountain bikes in a fairly straight forward manner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
apostolio
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does it's job and does it well

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
It's the cheapest 4 bike tow-bar rack and yet the most stylish and well made one.
I got it almost for half the price that is being sold here in Greece.
Takes no time to install and stays there even with 4 bikes on. The only drawback is that it has a very small play and that the nut which you need to tighten will dent after many times. Other than that it is excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NLB00
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very simple to fit & very sturdy

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, fits 4 bikes
I was initially a little wary of this carrier. It had great reviews but I couldn't see how it could hold 4 bikes without breaking. We bought it in advance of a family holiday. It fitted onto our estate car very easily, and all 4 bikes fitted on without any problem (one adult racer, one adult hybrid, one childs bike and a bmx). We zoomed off to Cornwall no problem, no woobles & no worries. Very good value for money, would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, quick to install and very stable

PostedJune 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, quick to install, sturdy
Cons: tilt mechanism fiddly
Didn't have much choice of fitting options for my Discovery 3 other than tow-ball mounted systems. Wanted something lightweight and easy to store, not taking up a lot of room, but also big enough for 4 adult bikes.
The Thule fitted the bill brilliantly. Very quick and easy to install on the tow-ball, and very stable and secure in transit. A quick release option would have been good, but it really only took 60 seconds to mount on the tow-ball so wasn't a major issue.
This is a well made, good value 4-bike rack. Quite lightweight considering it has to carry up to 4 bikes. Looks like a quality item as you expect from Thule.
Only real gripes were: 1) when in tilt mode and with no bikes, the reflectors on the ends of the bars touched the ground and will easily get scuffed over time. 2) the tilt mechanism is difficult to reach when bikes mounted and a bit fiddly at full stretch - really a two person job to do it safely without risk of dropping the bikes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jonboy23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Item(For Large Bikes!!)

PostedJune 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This bike carrier was purchased to carry 4 mountain bikes of varying sizes. After reading numerous contradicting reviews decided to go for it. The carrier itself is not the problem. It fits our vehicle in 5 minutes, easy! Its the description of it thats the problem!! My kona fits on no problem, 22" frame size. Partners Kona 14" and 2 kids bikes all need bar adaptors!! After buying these we should be able to use this as intented but the description sould have a minimum frame size without the bar adaptors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peteratwork

Superb

PostedMay 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Well made, solid and esay both to assemble and use. Well worth the money (especially with a handy Evans discount)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ninja

Great Car rack

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great car rack. Hardly and assembly, and rally easy to install onto tow ball. Bikes are easily mounted on, and with the supplied strap, don't sway and cause potential damage to each other and the car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BurbageK
from Peak District
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent 4-bike carrier

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Fantastic carrier, really easy to assemble and use, holds bikes very steadily - at speed on motorways and also on slower, less smooth country roads. Only downside was the packaging was VERY damaged either at the warehouse or in transit and the crucial locking bolt was missing (replacement part was promptly sent out via Evans Customer Service).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
peterparky
from east sussex
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid purchase.

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I bought this bike carrier on the strength of other reviewers comments and it's competion in the market.
Good points
Usual top quality from Thule - never in doubt.
Does fit very easily on the tow ball and is secure,.
The bikes once on are also very , butas above do bounce.
Bad points
4 bikes fitted is a job, a real job to get on. This does lead to scratched frames! and the carrier itself.
Their is alot of bounce over rougher ground.
To drop the carrier with 4 bikes on would be suicidal! crushed underneath. So there is not access to the boot once the carrier is on.would i buy or recommend?- possibly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
heffalump1

Good value functional bike rack

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I cannot see how this bike rack should work with its single towbar fixing, but it does work very well. It takes less than 10 minutes to fix it and the bikes on, plus it folds up when you are not using it. The only wrinkle with my set up is that I have to plug in the lighting board before mounting the towbar, otherwise the electric socket is obstructed. I have used it with three bikes on the back of my Golf Plus. It is cheaper than the other type of towbar rack and just does the job with no fuss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
deedee
from gateshead
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

excellent buy

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
very easy to fit on and take off, very sturdy, easy to put away and store in the car while on bike ride. We have put on two adult bikes and a child size bike but think we may struggle to get four adults bikes on?have yet to try it. The carrier does have a little bounce to it when bikes are on but nothing major and if bikes have been tied on well no problems at all. This is a great product and we are enjoying going places as a family on bikes!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Thule 9708 HangOn 4-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dazz285
from Harrow, NW London
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good for the price I paid ;-)

PostedJune 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: bit wobbly with 4 bikes hanging on., packaging could have been better.
Very good bike carrier for 4 bikes but could do with a couple of straps to clip on to the car as it does wobble a bit. Packaging could have been better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.