Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier

Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 27(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Review 1 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chelsea
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick and simple to fit

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: carry bars a bit to wide
Excellent product quick and simple to fit, was concerned it would move about as no straps required to tie to car, but when the Tow bar is snapped it is rigid and very stable. Also very good price for the quality comparing to other products. Only one point the bars you hang your bike on are quite wide apart so with smaller frames you have to put the bike on at an angle.
Overall brill product!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Didosss
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great sturdy product. Really easy to fit and lifts off easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
weaves
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple quick sturdy bike rack

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having had a Thule bike rack for years and loving it's rigidity and simplicity upon changing my car found it wouldn't fit. Now recently having needed to have a towbar fitted found this opened up a new area of bike racks for me.
I selected the 970 Express as I only need to transport 2 bikes at the most. Checking reviews and videos it looked just the thing. Checking prices I found Evans to be really competitive and their delivery courier provides an hour window for delivery.
Rack is really quick and easy to fit and use and you can also lock it on. The bikes are held very securely due to the rubber mounts being able to rotate. All in all a great rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mekk5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Class and easy to use

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this as I needed a rack to pop on and off quickly and this is it. It fits perfect and is solid but I really only for one bike had too on but was afraid to drive as one would of been damaged. I live up a bumpy country lane a mile long and my Mekk bike is solid and has never been damaged as the car bounces around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geekygran
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Exactly as described

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The carrier is very light and easy to use and store. It would have been useful to be able to buy the device for bikes with no crossbars and lock at the same time. I cannot use it until I get those and possibly a light and numberplate board.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mooey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Woking

Brilliant!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy fit
Can't fault - Quick lightwieight and very easy to use/fit. I have a Range Rover and this fits fine on this vehicle's tow bar.
For extra peace of mind, when fitting a second bike might be worth using additional bungey or strap to secure it as found the one included only fitted around bike 1 however bike 2 didnt really need anything as it was quite secure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hexbug
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Buy

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I'd been looking for a bike carrier for a while and researched all the roof mounted options. I then came across this and after reading the reviews decided to give it a go. If you have a tow bar this is a no brainer.
It is great value and so easy to fit. It just clamps onto the tow bar and secures with the push of a lever. Very secure and bike is easily attached. So easy, simple and cheap.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BBIE
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good solid no nonsense bike rack.I leave it in the boot the whole time. On and off in seconds. It is good for picking up some one who is delayed in work as well as for taking bikes away at the weekend.
If you use a small pad lock as the locking pin and then lock the bikes to the rack it stops an opportunist thief running off with the rack and or bikes...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jimbo4
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Towball Carrier

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit
I only need to carry one bike on my 4x4 and wanted a unit that attached to the tow ball. This is perfect - I did have to make an adjustment for a slightly tigher fit but this only takes minutes to do with an allen key and spanner. My road bike needs to be placed on the back position to avoid scratching the paintwork and two bikes will be quite a tight fit. I bought a lighting board (on the Net) separately as the bike does obscure the number plate. Overall, I am delighted with the unit but you will need a small padlock to make sure it stays on the ball in case someone takes a fancy to it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Squiggle21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Unbelievably simple

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, simplitstic
Fitted in seconds and went on test run and all was ok apart from it seemed to have twisted and not exactly tight fitting. I adjusted the setting on the arms to the 3rd notch and now I can swing on it with 2bikes attached and it does not budge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lilybet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product, easy to use.

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Another fantastic product from Thule. It's easy to use and mount on the towball and stores easily away in the boot of the car when not carrying bikes. I cannot fault this product and only wish that I had invented it!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PatsyP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

EXCELLENT & EASY TO USE

PostedMay 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, easy to use
I cannot praise this rack highly enough. It is so easy to fit onto and remove from the towbar, plus the great benefit of folding to a compact size so you can remove and place in the car boot while you are cycling. Also easy to secure the bikes to. And all these benefits come at a very reasonable price.....except in initial expense of having a towbar fitted of course. But it is worth it, it is much more secure than hatchback mounted ones which can damage the car.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hirondelle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

amazing piece of kit

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
despite all reservations, this works perfectly. Although rated for 30kg, my 75kg colleague was quite happliy swinging around on it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ghengis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First class product

PostedApril 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
No fuss, user friendly, easy to operate, solid,sturdy bike carrier.
Secure and easy to remove when not in use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jace
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Very sturdy and easy to fit. Takes a bit of juggling to fit both bikes on at once but otherwise very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
corran
from Perth, Scotland
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Thule 970 Xpress towball carrier

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy to fit - takes minutes. Excellent product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pavel
from Western Isles
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, adaptable
Cons: longer strap needed
Great carrier and very easy to use and store. Even copes with ladies bike frame.
Really needs a longer securing strap if you are carrying two bikes and padding to prevent scratches. Bungie cords and pipe insulation do the job.
Free delivery was important as I live in the remote Highlands and Islands of Scotland.
Therefore, well worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flub

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Excellent piece of kit. Really easy to take on & off towbar. Used on a pickup & can access the rear boot easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chud
from Wales
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great design and Speedy use

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, speedy install + removal
Was impressed by the speed of fitting and quite robust design. The unit is so easily fitted and removed it saves a whole lot of time when transporting my bike. I have a Scott Aspect, and the bike only just fits as the width of the hangers is quite wide. Its something you need to check before you purchase, but once the bike is on the rack, its very sturdy and doesnt jump around at all. The strap on the unit isnt all that long, so i got a few bungee straps, just to lockout the whells etc, but very happy indeed with this one. Once off the car, it is easily folded up, and stowed away in the boot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Thule 970 Xpress 2-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bonny

simple, quick and easy

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
very simple to use. quick to set up and take off. takes up only a little room
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>