Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier

Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier

Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Review 1 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mothy57
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

bike carrier

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is what you want if you have quite e few bikes to carry.Easy to fit and put together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leewat
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Just started using the bike rack. As mentioned in other reviews it won't fit 3 full sized bikes easily but I bought it for 2 bikes. It Is easy enough to attach & remove from the tow bar and also discovered today that it fits inside the boot of my hatchback. It looked a bit flimsy with the bikes on but they travelled fine and are easy to put on & take off. So far very happy with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alexkaragian
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
It's a great towbar rack, very stabile and reliable.
You will not need to look back at the bikes while driving anymore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geoffoir
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what you want it to

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The Thule 9503 towball carrier is an excellent bit of kit. The build quality is good, and loading the bikes onto the carrier can be a little tricky, but no real problem. The only negative aspect is when the carrier is loaded, the rear boot door (on Ford C Max) will not open fully even with the tilt mechanism used. But as this was not the reason I bought the carrier, it doesn't bother me at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dexace
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very sturdy product

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to assemble with two people.Seems well made and safe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fordy0494
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very simple to put together-didn't really need the instructions, but set aside at least 30-45mins to do so. The carrier is strong, well made and secure. Can be a little tricky to put on at times though...Tilt feature works well but is pointless when used on my van as the doors still open into it. Very pleased with the product and service as a whole-and recommended to my dad-say no more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
matey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The bike rack was super easy to assemble, slightly heavy but sturdy .The bikes fit very well and we are very confident when out and about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GWIT
from Brisbane
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: slower to load
This bike carrier takes a bit of putting together and doesn't have the the clamp system to secure the bikes that the more expensive towball carriers have. This good for carbon bikes which shouldn't be clamped but is slower to load. If you are only transporting alumininum/steel bikes then I suggest the quicker clamping model. For non-UK buyers you will need a converter for the light plug as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cesar
from Niterói - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality
This product is fantastic.
You do not run the risk of crushing or scratching your car, because it does not touch the car.
It is seated on the towball and you can carry up to three bikes safely.
The bike carrier tilts back, giving trunk access without off-loading the bikes.
There is also a rear lightboard included, that uses a 7-pin standard powerplug.
Este produto é fantástico.
Você não corre o risco de amassar ou arranhar seu carro, porque ele não encosta no carro.
Ele fica encaixado na bola do engate e você pode transportar até três bicicletas com segurança.
O suporte inclina para trás, dando acesso ao porta-malas sem a necessidade de retirar as bicicletas.
Possui também um painel de luzes traseiro, que usa a tomada padrão de 7 pinos.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MTBer01
from Cape Town
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very nice bike rack

PostedMay 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Firstly, coming from a carry-on bike rack, this bike rack is by far better. Gives you far less worries especially if you consider your bikes as your babies like I do. With my previous carry-on rack, not from Thule, I had to ensure that the bikes were really properly tied. Max. speed in howling cross winds were just about 100km/h with the bike(s) flapping in the wind.
Already had a problem fitting my Felt F3 on the rack, because of the tube shape and downward slope of the top tube. Newer changing shape frames are becoming more and more a problem with carry-on racks. Until my Merida Carbon 96 I could still get away with a carry-on, but now the shock is in the way, the top tube is squared then rounds in certain places and being carbon, I was just not happy using a carry-on any longer.
Delivery was slightly later than expected from Evans, but I did not really mind. The Thule box was inside another box. The outer box was fine, but the Thule box was really hacked. It looked like the rack was not stored in a good place by Evans and the box got badly damaged. This got me seriously worried, because I am in another country and did not even want to consider sending it back. After unpacking everything, it was a sigh of relief to note that nothing was really damaged.
Please note that putting this thing together and testing will cost you at least 2.5 hours. It is not difficult to put together though, just time consuming. If you use the wrong bolts on certain things, you will have to remove it, because it will be too short etc.
The rack weighs 12kg. It felt heaver, so I weighed it and it definitely is 12kg, but definitely feels heavier, because it is awkward to carry. I reckon most woman will struggle lugging it around.
It is easy to install, but you will have to get the nick of putting your legs in between the stands and screwing in by hand while it is loose until it can rests on the towbar on its own without falling over. It is really strange that Thule supplies a spanner where the front section does not fit, so you cannot use it. You have to use the closed section of the spanner.
I recommend you make sure that the rack fits in your boot if this is a requirement, because I have a large boot and it just about fits. I needed to put it in my boot when I go off riding for hours, because I don’t have a lock for it yet.
Putting the straps on and the bikes on is easy enough. It is a little tricky putting the first strap on and hold the bike, but once you have the first strap holding the bike, no problem. Fitting more bikes of different shapes and sizes becomes little bit of a puzzle, but much easier than carry-ons.
I’m bit disappointed, because the rubber over the middle bars perished after my second trip with the rack and is now basically broken. This means that protection between my bike and the rack is gone and it can now start scratching.
I also don’t recommend placing the straps over wheels with stickers/decals under them. Rather turn the wheel so the strap does not go over the stickers, because the movement will scratch them off.
Don’t forget another number plate. If the cops are anything like ours, they will nail you.
If you can afford the newer Thule racks with the single handle lock to close the rack, arm that holds the bike while you tie it and integrated locks, go for it! They are just so much more convenient. If not and you upgrading from a carry-on rack to this, this is definitely a 100% improvement already.
Great price from Evans too. I was able to buy, ship, pay duties and taxes to my country and still save more than 30% than cheapest in country price. Unfortunately, Thule products are insanely expensive my country.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PedroCh
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice Rack towball

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This is a really good towball rack, easy for installation. Really good to transport your bike from one place to another one. The only thing is that take a bit fixing the bikes onto the rack. However it is a really good rack.
Evans took only 8 days to deliver to my place (Brazil) it was the most amazing delivery from online stores.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cynical
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
  • Staff

PostedDecember 14, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Realy works well, the inbuilt light board is fantastic, (Shame it dose not come with a free number plate! can't win them all) but it does the job well!
A socket is a must, but the lead is long enough for internal sockets if your car supply. Holds the bikes well and you can remain confident while transporting.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Thule 9503 RideOn 3-bike towball carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GARDIM
from HERAKLEIO - CRETA
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Two (2) pieces (small white adjacent and big forward orange) of left lid of lights which was not placed in their place and was not in package.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.