Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier

Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier

Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Review 1 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suggy1966
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cool quality

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Went for the fork option to protect my frame. The build quality is great and with less moving parts the car roof looks less cluttered. Bike security is excellent with the locking mechanism which has enough play to avoid having to re-adjust the settings every time it's used which is a big plus. Quick to set up and quick in use. Feels more rigid with the bike in place than it's frame clamping counter-parts. Plus fork mounted bikes look way cooler! Would recommend. Good value through Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pepsimax007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal purchase for using with my CFRP road bike.

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This will save me damagin my bike frame (CFRP), it also fit my sons bike beautifully (a tiny specialized Hot Rock - and looks ace on it to getting envious glances on a recent trip to Wales).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BucksheeWheeler
from London, England
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Thule fork mount cycle carrier

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Thule cycle carriers are extremely well main, there is no arguing about that, but you pay for the quality. It is ridiculous that the fork mounted carrier costs so much but it appears to be the only one on the market and, if you've got a carbon fibre frame then it is the only type to use.
The assembly instructions could be better and it is not that easy to swap the fittings so the carrier can be on the nearside of the car - safer to load - than on the offside. Things are put together very securely in the first place.
In use it certainly works well. It is easy and simple to load though I couldn't help lashing the rear wheel down with an old-fashioned toe-clip strap as well as the strap provided. Even on two very windy days there was virtually no 'sail effect' with one bike on the roof. Indeed, it was an eirie experience driving along because you had to keep on reminding yourself that your pride and joy was riding on the roof.
Despite my horror at the initial cost - you also have to buy the roof bars and fittings - I am satisfied with the performance on the carrier because it worked well,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichardGS
from Surrey Hills
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Not too difficult to fit and once attached does a great job of holding the bike steady. I have a ProRide 591 too and definitely prefer the OutRide - never had a problem with the ProRide but everything looks a bit less precarious with the OutRide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
grider
from North Wales - Touring and Road Bike

Not as good as the old fork mount carrier

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
The old carrier had a level to tighten the belt around the wheel/tyre - with this new one you must tighten it by hand which means you can't get it as tight and the bike is not as secure.
Also the mechanism for locking on to the fork can easily loosen between usages so you must remember to reset its position every time,
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dilston
from North East England
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Bike Rack you want

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This carrier is easy to fit to the roof bars and locks in place. The rear mount enables the rear wheel to locate as you lift and guide the front forks into the positive locking front mount. With no front wheel the bike sits lower and is easy to mount and dismount be one person - even after a 100mile ride. Great fit for my Cube Mountain Bike. Great product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NotDoneYet

Simple and solid

PostedApril 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product. Easy to fit (with Thule bars) - a little care in terms of tightening at forks but easy to do. Need stool for 4x4's to avoid damaging bike. Used for carbon forks and works just fine. I'd recommend it for anyone who's concerned about fitting clamp to downtube.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trek144
from USA mountain biker
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great carrier

PostedAugust 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had ordered this product because I already had one on my car and wanted to get another one for my other bike. This is a great carrier! Not only is it easy to use and really locks the bike in, but also looks good. I also appreciated the great customer service that Evans cycles gave me with this product.
Thank you!
Jon
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.