Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier

Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier

Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Review 1 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
floss
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really holds bikes securely. excellent product

Posted04 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Used with whispbars and t channel fixings and no noise when travelling at 70 - 80 mph across europe, does decrease mpg by about 30% but holds bikes really securely and locks both bikes to rack and also rack to roofbars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JD42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

Easy to fit and use

Posted01 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I managed to put together and fix my cycle carrier to my Thule roof rack without assistance and it is still on with bikes secure after a 900 mile trip to Switzerland so very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike117
Country:Canada
It was bought:West End

"Great Rack"

Posted20 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I have had two Thule OutRide 561 attached to my Thule Wing Bars for a couple of weeks now. The diagram type instructions were dead easy to follow and the racks went on in about 20 mins. It took a bit longer than It should have only because I modified the install a bit. The OutRide comes with the T-track attachments, I positioned the racks where I wanted them, marked where the bolts would be on the Wing Bars, then drilled holes in, and trimmed a bit off the under side of the rubber strip that goes along the top of the Wing Bars. I then slid the bolts into the tracks, and reattached the rubber strips over top of them. This way I did not have to cut the strips at all, keeping them whole with no gaps for potential increased wind noises. Keeping the full length of rubber, which now goes between the bike racks and the Wing Bars, also provides a bit of protection with regards road vibration transferring onto my precious carbon bike frame. My description my be a bit hard to follow however if you have all the parts at hand you should be able to figure out what my install looks like. I have had more than a few people stop me to comment on how great the set-up looks on my vehicle. "Uber" cool.
As for function, my "carbon ride" drops in to place with minimal effort, and stays securely attached to the rack, and the car, with the addition of the Thule lock cores.
No worries, as I drive to my favorite riding area.
The purchase through Evans Cycle was a breeze. I called from my home in Canada, and spoke to a great lad, Adam. I told him when I was going to be over to the UK, and he did the rest. The racks were at the West End store waiting for me as promised.
Oh ya, the price, BEST anywhere period.
Cheers guys at Evans cycles.
Mike from Canada.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suggy1966
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cool quality

Posted12 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Went for the fork option to protect my frame. The build quality is great and with less moving parts the car roof looks less cluttered. Bike security is excellent with the locking mechanism which has enough play to avoid having to re-adjust the settings every time it's used which is a big plus. Quick to set up and quick in use. Feels more rigid with the bike in place than it's frame clamping counter-parts. Plus fork mounted bikes look way cooler! Would recommend. Good value through Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pepsimax007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal purchase for using with my CFRP road bike.

Posted12 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This will save me damagin my bike frame (CFRP), it also fit my sons bike beautifully (a tiny specialized Hot Rock - and looks ace on it to getting envious glances on a recent trip to Wales).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BucksheeWheeler
from London, England
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Thule fork mount cycle carrier

Posted14 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Thule cycle carriers are extremely well main, there is no arguing about that, but you pay for the quality. It is ridiculous that the fork mounted carrier costs so much but it appears to be the only one on the market and, if you've got a carbon fibre frame then it is the only type to use.
The assembly instructions could be better and it is not that easy to swap the fittings so the carrier can be on the nearside of the car - safer to load - than on the offside. Things are put together very securely in the first place.
In use it certainly works well. It is easy and simple to load though I couldn't help lashing the rear wheel down with an old-fashioned toe-clip strap as well as the strap provided. Even on two very windy days there was virtually no 'sail effect' with one bike on the roof. Indeed, it was an eirie experience driving along because you had to keep on reminding yourself that your pride and joy was riding on the roof.
Despite my horror at the initial cost - you also have to buy the roof bars and fittings - I am satisfied with the performance on the carrier because it worked well,
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichardGS
from Surrey Hills
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted16 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Not too difficult to fit and once attached does a great job of holding the bike steady. I have a ProRide 591 too and definitely prefer the OutRide - never had a problem with the ProRide but everything looks a bit less precarious with the OutRide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
grider
from North Wales - Touring and Road Bike

Not as good as the old fork mount carrier

Posted02 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
The old carrier had a level to tighten the belt around the wheel/tyre - with this new one you must tighten it by hand which means you can't get it as tight and the bike is not as secure.
Also the mechanism for locking on to the fork can easily loosen between usages so you must remember to reset its position every time,
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dilston
from North East England
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Bike Rack you want

Posted18 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This carrier is easy to fit to the roof bars and locks in place. The rear mount enables the rear wheel to locate as you lift and guide the front forks into the positive locking front mount. With no front wheel the bike sits lower and is easy to mount and dismount be one person - even after a 100mile ride. Great fit for my Cube Mountain Bike. Great product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NotDoneYet

Simple and solid

Posted29 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product. Easy to fit (with Thule bars) - a little care in terms of tightening at forks but easy to do. Need stool for 4x4's to avoid damaging bike. Used for carbon forks and works just fine. I'd recommend it for anyone who's concerned about fitting clamp to downtube.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Thule OutRide 561 - Fork mount cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trek144
from USA mountain biker
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great carrier

Posted13 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had ordered this product because I already had one on my car and wanted to get another one for my other bike. This is a great carrier! Not only is it easy to use and really locks the bike in, but also looks good. I also appreciated the great customer service that Evans cycles gave me with this product.
Thank you!
Jon
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.