Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier

Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier

Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
29 out of 30(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer reviews for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Review 1 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dw79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Makes putting a bike on the roof so easy.

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Having already used Thule freeride roof mounting cycle carriers for a number of years with no hassle I have to say that initially I was a little reluctant to fork out the extra money on the ProRide. I can honestly say that it is worth the extra cash, the locking system is so easy to use and with the quick release button it makes putting on and taking off bikes really easy (you do not need that third hand that is sometimes required when your tired after a long ride). The bike seems to wobble slightly more than with the freeride but not that it causes any problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
munchi30
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best purchase ever

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This has to be the best cycle rack available, locks the bike solidly and looks good too, EVANS also price matched 2 for £58 each, bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mikeace
Taunton, UK
 
Please wait while more information about mikeace is loaded.
Additional information about mikeace could not be loaded.
Thule Purchase?
Posted February 12, 2013
Hi there.
Can I ask where you got the original 2 for £58 offer please? Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rookie666
from Essex
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Easy to use good quality bike carrier

PostedOctober 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, single handed operation, lockable
I never wanted to carry bike on the roof of my car as I have always loved my rear carrier. A new car with a rear spoiler changed all that so after much research and a personal recommendation I splashed out for two of these. Two years in and the Pro Ride is briliant.
I have taken my bike all over and never had an issue. It is easy to adjust the carrier for different sized bikes, by sliding the plastic wheel clamps backwards and forwards. I go from road to MTB to kids bikes in a flash and I love the single handed operation to clamp the bike down. It always feels sturdy and the great thing is that you can lock the bike on to the rack.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DaveTo
Redhill
 
Please wait while more information about DaveTo is loaded.
Additional information about DaveTo could not be loaded.
Excellent
Posted March 21, 2011
Do not have a single bad word to say about this. Its easily setup in sconds does the job 100% and even you can lock the rack to the bars and also the bike to the roof via a key if required. I have never tried any other racks out as this is my first but it would be v hard to improve on what Thule have done here.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
OzKen
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Bad design if you're short!

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
Really hard to load the bike onto the rack if you're short as you have to have the frame clamp arm semi-upright to do so. Also clamp doesn't work at all well if you have cables on down tubes as it gets stuck on the cables getting the bike on and you need to put a cloth between cables and frame to avoid rubbing paint off. Really unhappy with this rack for use with road bikes.
Also when not loaded frame arm bounces against rack on bumpy roads and makes a lot of noise.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bdaust
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Look great easy to use

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very easy too use
Looks great on the car
Safe and aerodynamic
Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slowmo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Probably the best roof-mounted bike carrier!

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Holds bike securely & very easy to load & unload. Well worth paying a little extra for this one over cheaper examples.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GTAvalanche1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality kit - easy to fit

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to fit, easy to load
Cons: Expensive
This is an excellent product which I found very easy to fit on existing roof bars. Holds the bike very firmly and it's straightforward to load the bike on your own. High build quality makes me confident that this piece of kit should last for years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikeTouring
Country:Canada
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy and safe way to carry bikes on automobiles

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have been using two of these cycle carriers on a roof rack on a Volvo S60 for seven years without a problem. They are the fastest way I know to load the complete bike, without alteration. High winds and rain have never been a problem. The bikes are stable and noiseless. Nor has theft, since both the roof rack and the carrier are lockable. My purchase was a third rack. I was glad to see that the hard plastic sliding shoes for the wheels, which are somewhat fragile on the 2005 model, have been reinforced in the latestest model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Karearea22
Country:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Saves the inside of the car from getting dirty!

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: reversing product gets you thinking.
Great bike rack, looks good in silver and black, easy to install, but gets your brain thinking when you have to reverse a second one when installing. Holds the mtb and road bike really well and can cruise at around 70mph. Would recommend to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ozmtb
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, secure, easy to fit and use.

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Out of the box the carrier is pretty much ready to go, the carrier was on the car within 5 minutes. Putting the bike on the carrier is also very easy, keeping the straps out of the way while you lift the bike on takes a bit of practice, but now the bike is on the car, securely locked in under a minute.
I also fitted a second carrier to the passenger side, swapping the arm was easy but fitting this rack took me a bit longer. If your are using the square fixings that slide inside the top of the racks, the two carriers do not sit quite the same, this confused me for a while, so I took them off and played with fixing positions only to find that I had it right the first time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RobAds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

excellent product, you get what you pay for!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought 4 ProRide 591s for the family's bikes, ranging from my full suspension Giant Anthem to my daughters 14" Pink Princess bike. We have been delighted with the quality and ease of use, especially how simple it is to use the clamp to secure the bike in place, it’s not far off a 1 handed job. The purchase was an investment but one I haven’t regretted as they will last for years and there is no worry about seeing your pride and joy bouncing down the road in the rear view mirror. :-) RECCOMEND!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StuartShalford

Thule ProRide 591

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
An excellent product. Simply, you pay for what you you get and this Thule product is top quality.
Easy to use in comparison to others we've used and very secure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Leighton Buzzard
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best way to carry your Bike

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This product is the best way to carry your bike. Simple to fit to your car and fixing the bike to it takes about 30 seconds.
Its very secure and you dont even notice it whan your driving
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mvagusta
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value for the money

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this carrier on a recommendation from a friend. It does what is says on the tin and is well made.
I live in Australia and it was cheaper for me to purchase from Evans and pay the hi postage than it was to buy it here. Go figure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndyC
from Heathrow
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best roof mounted solution - look no further!

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I previously used a removable boot mounted solution to carry our bikes but after damaging my car I looked into alternatives. After trying this out on a friends car I was sold almost instantly. I can get two bikes secured on the roof in almost 90 seconds and ready to drive!
The clamping arm can be swapped round to work both ways, on the left or right side of the car. One handed operation is so a useful thing because you dont have to worry about the bike slipping off whilst securing it down. The newer models also have rubber bits to protect your bike rims when clamped down.
This is an expensive setup but it really is a fanastic solution, I use my bike so much more because of this rack and its simplicity. My petrol bills have not increased too much by having this on the roof all the time either, they seem quite aerodynamic.
There is nothing better than being able to throw a muddy bike on the roof in a few seconds and be able to get out of the rain quickly!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy46

No more dirty boot

PostedJune 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy to fit, quick and easy to use.
What more can be said
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perky

sound buy

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
An exellent purchase which has already proved it worth in transporting both our mountain and road bikes. Provided with simple instructions, the proride was a drem to put on and off the roof bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dave32
from Lichfield

Quality

PostedJune 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to use and quality kit. MTB and roadbikes secure. I have been using one for several years now with no problems. Just got a second one for the girlfriends bike. Not cheap but probably the best.(the cycle carrier that is!) I have a thule roofrack and very easy to fit onto it. Excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlokeFromOz
from Hobart, Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great time saver and very well built

PostedJune 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
After recent frustrations with boot mounted "strap on" racks, I decided to tkae the plunge and invest in the best. I'll have to say that once over the initial trepidation of having a mountain bike sitting vertically on my car's roof, I've come to love the ProRide.
At the end of the ride, simply raise the arm, lift up the bike by seat tube and forks, turn the dial, do up the wheel straps and hey presto, bike secure in about 30 seconds. Compare this to 5 minutes (at least!) of mucking around with my previous car-and-frame-scratching boot mounted rack and I'm in heaven!! No more straps to do up and undo, I can access the boot whenever I want, I don't have to remove it from the car and best of all, the whole thing locks to the car and the bike!!. In short, I doubt I'll use anything else from now on.
Just for the information of others, I was able to mount the ProRide 591 carrier on my ProRack Whispbar roof racks without any trouble using the supplied T-bolts. No need for the alternate fitting kit that was included with the carrier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Thule ProRide 591 - locking upright cycle carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Harjman
from East Berkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Secure and easy

PostedMay 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to set up.
Cons: Expensive
The manual was easy to follow and the carrier was set up quickly.
Whilst setting it up on my roof rack I made some small marks with a marker pen so that setting it up the next time for the same bike will be faster (I have two bikes).
I took the car round the block and over a few humps, all secure and safe.
Just wished the price was a little cheaper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>