Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle

Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle

Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Review 1 for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ken12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

First 70 miles encouraging, but early days yet....

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, comfortable i hope
Since retirement I have ridden 10500+ miles on the saddle supplied with the bike purchased as a retirement present to myself. My older bike has a matching saddle which has done another 2000 miles. Both have given pretty good service, but leave a progressively aching backside on longer rides, (50+ miles).
Will a 'Brooks' solve this problem, to leave tired legs and general fatigue as the only barriers to longer distances? My friends who are devoted 'Brooks' owners say it will - by the Autumn I shall know the truth one way or another!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ToshBrice
Country:Israel
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just as good as I remember them!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have had these saddles from time to time as long as I have been cycling (since the 1960s) but was tempted away by some flimsy modern thing on my last bike. When the bike was stolen I decided to revert to good old Brooks - so much more comfortable and soul-satisfying!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vijinho
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Supremely Comfortable

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the 4th Brooks Saddle I've owned or purchased. I had a B17 with the springs, a standard B17 and now this narrow version of the B17. All of the saddles are good quality and comfortable and this one is no different, fits great on my Charge Filter cyclo/road hybrid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
akluth
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Unbelievably comfortable compared to other saddles

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my second Brooks saddle, the other being on my Brompton. I have never had any problem settling into life with a B17. This is the narrow version. Although it's early days, I think it may prove even more comfortable than the standard size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gorunmez

Perfect!

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Just perfect ! If you ride bycle a long time, you must buy Brooks saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Godleyspinner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfort from the start

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Having struggled with a variety of saddles I finally went for a Brooks. All I can say is I am so glad I did, the B17 narrow is perfect for an Audax type road bike & was confortable from the off, no 'breaking in' period has been needed it's like sitting on a comfy sofa :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
richo64
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

great for audax and light touring

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This is the third Brookes B17 saddle i have bought and it is still top of my list for a great saddle and comfortable ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yorkshire

Saddletastic!

PostedJune 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Brooks B17 narrow are to me one of the most comfortable saddles you can get hold of and they also look great on almost any type of bike.
I opted for the narrow version as I find it slightly more comfortable on the inner thigh than the B17.
The breaking period is quite a testing time but when it has softened up to you, you won't want to sit on anything else.
Expect the breaking in period to last 2 - 6 month, depending on how much you ride. With the aid of Brooks Proofide mine has taken 2 - 3 months to break in and I ride 15 - 20 miles everyday.
I really wouldn't buy any other saddle and although they are slightly more expensive than other brands they are worth every penny.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
garrenm
from Shonan, Japan
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Initial Impressions: One month

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
After preping the saddle as per instructions it has been a process of uncomfortable discovery. At first I was sliding fore and aft, and in real discomfort on aseveral rides. The past couple of days it seems to have calmed down a little, and perhaps I will soon begin to understand the Brooks legend better with time. However, there are some outstanding minor design issues. There is less flexibility for fore and aft adjustment on the seatpost than with any other saddle I've had, and unlike any other saddle, of many tried, I have found it difficult to get the Brooks to be angled correctly. Have often felt pushed forwards or angled back, and haven't worked out why yet, as again I've never felt that with other saddles (Selle Italia, WTM, Specialized etc.).
However, the quality is amazing, I WANT it to work, and shall find ways around it I'm sure, and the packaging just makes you feel warm, and cozy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
miles1
from Sydney Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A nice saddle indeed

PostedApril 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
My Brooks B-17 Narrow was bought for my 2009 Giant Bowery,its a seat that is comfortable yet still firm straight out of the box,I feared it was going to be too narrow but its just right i like the tapered sides which make it easy to get up and pedal up those hills.Its my second Brooks saddle on different bikes Highly recommended.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EssexBiker
from Essex
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Super Saddle

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Comfy from Day One...after treating and 500 Miles starting to bed in and even more comfy...Why did I Wait sooo Long before getting a Brooks.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.