Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail

Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail

Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Review 1 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alex45
Country:Australia
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Saddle!

PostedApril 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I purchased this saddle a couple of months ago. From reading other reviews I got the impression that it was uncomfortable with a long break-in period. I however, found this not to be the case. From the beginning the saddle has been comfortable. This saddle also looks amazing, I have it paired with a Brooks Saddle Bag and matching Slim Grips. This saddle performs great and is a truly worthwhile investment.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AFAIK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality vintage looking saddle

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Finally bit the bullet and invested in the basic Swallow to finish off the look I wanted on my bike. It's clearly a quality leather saddle and has many imitators out there.
It was a little uncomfortable to begin with, and took about 200km of riding to break in and dial in the correct position. But this was bearable since I only really use it for commuting, so relatively short rides only. I did use the proofhide on the underside to help with the breaking in and conditioning, and now it is really comfortable.
Also worth noting that it is noticeably heavier than modern saddles, but that is compensated by the quality, look, and eventual comfort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CU123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This product is fantastic!

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The saddle is really comfortable and looks great. I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zoarium
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and retro looking

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I was surprise that I do not need to break it in and it's already comfortable.
There is enough clearance to fit my Ortlieb saddle bag. It looks really good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
speedyturtle
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

comfortable and looks good

PostedJune 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Bought this a month ago and is still breaking in. But so far, it is quite comfortable, not as bad as i initially thought. But the angle must be adjusted in order to avoid the slippery feeling. Good workmanship and quality. Looks great on my black and white CAAD10.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spudgun
from Suffolk
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Gift Idea

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, classic
I Received this saddle as a gift after saying what a great saddle this was when I was a Lad. Received it on the Saturday and fitted it ,Then did a 100 Miler on Sunday with no treatment to the saddle, it was as good as i remember no saddle soreness., Heaven, iv had it a year and now brought it for my Son's (2) so they can shear in the delights of this Classic
Not as light as most modern saddles but well worth the trade off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Johnz
from Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought the saddle with a degree of trepidation re the prospect of many miles of discomfort whilst the contours of the saddle and those of my posterior attained harmony. I need not have worried; after a couple of rides my behind and the Brooks Swallow have become the best of friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GenesisCyclist
from London, UK
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent saddle

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It took less than two weeks to wear in: really worth it as new it was no harder that the plastic saddle that came with the bike. But what a difference now.
I also bought this through one of the many discounts, so has worked out as good value. Some might think it expensice - I don't as my bike and this saddle still come in at less than an annual season ticket (I commute all year round)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
badbrush
from Newcastle
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sit on me

PostedJune 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, good rail to saddle clearance
Cons: thinnly tanned
I bought this saddle because its the more flexible leather out the racing sadles and because of the smaller brass fixing joints. It doesn't have a model/logo stamped onto the leather and reviews for the cheaper versions sometimes complain about the wings folding out over time which this doesn't have :)
In the pack you will get the saddle, a tension key and care kit pamphlet. [no care kit though]
It took around 110miles to break into the saddle [i'm 66kg] and after a 45mile trip up the east coast yesterday it was comfortable enough. Over time i'm sure it will mold its self to my behind more and add to the comfort, they say it will last a life time and lets hope it does.
Its an expensive saddle and your on this pages because your considering a quality upgrade or replacing one a brooks that was stolen, so here we go. The rail clearance to the saddle allow a wire cable to be threaded through to be used in conjuction with a bike lock which is a big plus as you'll come back to it with a saddle still on. My only gripe with the saddle has been that the tanned finish is quite thin so clothes tend to scratch the finish quite easily. The wife tells me it adds to the aesthetic and she's always right.
The saddle requires more care than a synthetic one, maintaining it with the suggested proofide 3 times a year keeps it looking good and waterproof ish [It costs as much as shoe polish and maintains your warrenty]. The saddle shouldn't be left out in the rain without the trusty plastic bag to cover it because it will lose its shape, and needs cleaning if its been a rainy winter commute and salt has found its way to the underside.
So all in all a great saddle, it takes some time to break in, is well constructed, looks the part as a good addition to a bike.
I've added some photos of the saddle at different angles to help you decide. [Honey colour]
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dumpling7
from South East in Kent
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brooks swallow

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The benefit of this saddle like any other Brooks, is that the leather blends to the body shape. This gives more comfort as the saddle is used. Six years ago I rode the End to End on a Brooks Professional saddle. I remember thinking that this saddle is like sitting in a comfortable chair. On this trip I did 916 miles in 11 days. This is why I chose to fit a stylish Brooks' leather saddle to my Carbon Fibre Trek. I have exactly the same saddle on my Kinesis Touring bike, the Brooks Swallow.
I want to ride in comfort and not on a seat that feels like concrete.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
islander
from isle of wight
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

best saddles in the world !!

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
rode the london to brighton on this saddle after only 100 breaking in miles and it woz great !! i use it on all my bikes and would not consider useing anything else. Go on treat yourself and your bike coz it looks wicked as well !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IronMike
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

The most comfortable saddle I own

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, Good quality
I had a vintage Wrights swallow copy for 30+ years which I was given as a schoolboy. I found that so comfortable that I cut away the sides of another Wrights leather saddle to create the same shape. No saddle I have used since has come close to these items (which I still use), until now. I treated myself to a "proper" Swallow. An excellent purchase, I may now need to buy two more so that I have one for all five bikes. :-)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brooks Swallow Saddle - Chromed Steel Rail
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
mikefish
from london
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

brooks

PostedJune 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
If looks were everything this saddle would win hands down, the leather will take some months to give and become comfortable. very happy with it - high expectations.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.