Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brooks B17 Special Saddle

Brooks B17 Special Saddle

Overall rating:
4.919 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 37(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Review 1 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AJC56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

A saddle for life.

Posted11 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is the second Brookes saddle i have purchased and i am completely sold on them. They are a well proven quality product, which will give many years of service. I fited this one to my Dawes Century SE after finding the original saddle uncomfortable after 30 miles or so. It takes around 100 or so miles to break in and you need to apply Brookes profide to it before using and, every so often, but this is no hardship. I have B17 standard fitted to my mountain bike and have completed 70 mile rides with no discomfort at all. They look pretty cool too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FlyingLizard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Classic design, superb comfort.

Posted20 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've been riding on the saddle for just under three weeks now and am finding the shape of the top is beginning to change almost imperceptibly, these changes have however made a comfortable saddle even better. I held off buying for quite a while as I had a fairly good Specialized BG saddle on the bike, but since fitting the Brooks, numb toes etc are a thing of the past. I would guess it is about half way through breaking in at present but is already supremely comfortable. If like I was, you are dithering, take the plunge, you wont regret it. I have been treating the saddle with Proofride once a week and it is drinking it up so I can only assume it is doing it's job. Be aware that the saddle comes with an adjusting spanner and a very good quality waterproof cover just in case you were thinking of getting these at the same time. Best thing of all, it's made with love in the heart of England...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
St1cksz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great looking saddle

Posted12 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The saddle looks fantastic - not done may miles on it yet so still needs time to bed in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
marowak
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

completely changes your ride

Posted17 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I had my Brompton with its standard saddle for 6 months and had heard a lot of good things about getting a Brooks saddle.
So I saved up and got one.
It has totally changed my riding experiance, it is much comfier than a standard saddle. Looks great and will hopefully last a long time.
Only downside is you need to by the Brooks proofide to protect it which is an extra £10 - being as you have to use it - it should be included really.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Diggy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

No better saddle on the market

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Hand made excellence. Once soft you can ride these with no padding in your shorts. Very comfatable and look good. Retro now but the best have one on my road bike and one on my hybrid. Get one and see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Birdonnabike
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

As Good As It Looks

Posted14 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I don't need to tell you this saddle is beautiful to look at - but it's as good as it looks, too.
Had mine well over a year now, and it definitely took some breaking in - as opposed to my other bike's sprung Brooks B67 saddle which was like sitting on a sofa from the get-go... I do find at the start of each season (I only ride in the spring, summer and autumn) it takes a week or two to feel comfortable again - but then it's fine. And bear in mind, I'm no longer the racing snake I once was - but have definitely found that there are very, very few saddles I find comfortable or can ever bear for more than 5 miles... This is good for hours!
I got mine in a sale, so despite being female got the man's version and black (I'd have preferred honey or brown) but it has turned out fine, for me. I put it on my Cannondale CX 4 so it might look a bit incongruous to some, but it made the bike MY bike. A big advantage is that you can easily add a Caradice or similar bag, if you are touring for the day - so it is practical as well as comfortable. I got mine in a sale, as I could never have afforded it at full price. But have to say it is the best packaged present I ever bought myself! Brooks do a good job on that front, as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aero63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

A birthday present for my husband

Posted06 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
I bought this for my husband as he has said for a long time that he fancied having a Brooks saddle. The "special" does look good with the copper rivets and rails. Although many have commented on how long it takes to wear in one of these saddles, he does not seem to be having any problems he reckons his old saddle was very hard and he's used to it!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dureandal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Why did I ever try anything else?

Posted25 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Having had several Brooks B17's sadly they end up rotting at the rivets after a lot of years good service, I thought I would try one of these "scientifically designed saddles". What a relief to get back to Brooks, and this time I've gone for the Special with the copper rivets, which I hope will deter the rotting problem.
Superbly comfortable and worth every penny for the 3000 or so miles I spend in the saddle each year!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJHBIKE
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top quality at a very good price

Posted25 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Fitted to my Genesis Croix De Fer, excellent saddle for all day riding.
Quality is excellent, easy to fit.
Evans did a price match, so could not miss buying it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tangoscar

Brooke's B17 Special

Posted15 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Love it, everything I'd read has been true, 1st ride it was great, things can only get better!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kostya
Country:Uzbekistan
Age:25-34
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is awesome!

Posted15 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Only 100 miles on this saddle but already love it. Very comfortable!
Looks great also. Use it on my hybrid Cube Nature Pro bike
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Semih
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent saddle

Posted18 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Looks perfect on my Trek 7.0 an it is really confortable even after the first ride. I can't even imagine how it is going to be after the breaking in process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
arlow
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect saddle

Posted22 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I have been trying many major brands until I manage to hands on this saddle.
Comfortable and classic.
Been on this saddle for 500 over miles and no compliant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lee123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

"for oft the saddle doth proclaim the rider"

Posted14 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Brooks makes a wide-range of bike saddles to suit various needs, but the biggest selling and most popular one is the B17. The B17 essentially refers to the saddle's shape and it comes in various colours, in one or two different guises (including the 'Flyer' which is basically a B17 with springs), and for both sexes (B17 S saddles are designed for women/ girls and are slightly shorter than those for men).
With its tried and tested design, the B17 saddle is ideally suited to most types of cycling or to most types of bikes, including touring bikes, road bikes, hybrids bikes and even to some mountain bikes.
Most keen cyclists I believe will be very pleased with a purchase of a B17 saddle. The most difficult part about buying one is deciding which one to go for, and in which colour. This choice though, boils down largely to personal taste and maybe to how much cash one wants to throw at one: the Standard B17 (and indeed the Flyer) must represent the best value. If one wants to make more of a fashion statement , however, the B17 Special with copper rivets and rails looks neat at about £90. If one has about £180 to spend, the Titanium version with Titanium rails and copper rivets also looks good ... but this one is surely not such good value, as one could buy 2 Special B17's for this price?
Taking into account the differently pitched prices of the 3 or 4 different versions of the B17, I'd have to give the Standard and Special B17's 5-STARS for overall rating; the Titanium version only 3 or 4 STARS. Certainly, if one was sitting on a B17 and was blind-folded, it would be be impossible to tell which B17 saddle one was actually sitting on.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Singletrack3
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far, great. Comfortable saddle for commuting.

Posted03 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I got this saddle to replace the incredibly painful saddle which came with my new bike. I was worried about the 'breaking in period' but found this saddle immediately more comfortable than the saddle it replaced. I have used it for two weeks to commute to work, a 30 km round trip, so only about 240 km in total. So far it has proved very comfortable and it looks great.
I gave it a good treatment on both sides with Brooks Proofhide before I first used it. I am impressed with the saddle and the extras that come in the box (saddle cover, spanner, "The Bugle" Brooks' newspaper). All in all it seems like a great product at great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CyclingTortoise
Country:Singapore
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, looks great!

Posted19 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Bought this to replace an aging plastic saddle on my aluminium hardtail. Having read horror stories about Brooks saddles along the lines of "break in or be broken", I wasn't sure what to expect.
It turns out my fears were unfounded. Perfectly comfortable once the tilt is dialed in. It's my first saddle that points a little upwards at the nose. The trick was to set the nose just high enough to keep the sit bones at the sweet spots at the rear of the saddle.
I ordered a saddle cover to go with it, but Brooks provides one in the box. Applied Proofide before taking it out for the first ride and twice more in the first month that I've owned it. Over here in the tropics, the deluge of perspiration and the high humidity seems to have aided and abetted the break-in process.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hooking
from Oxfordshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worth every penny.

Posted26 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
After reading many reviews about Brooks saddles and careful consideration; I decided to buy the B17 Special saddle in Honey. The saddle adds a distinctive look to my traditional Roberts racing bike.
The saddle has taken a bit of getting used to as you tend to slip around on it being leather but I'm already feeling the delight of a saddle that forms to you!
If you decide to buy one of these saddles, purchase the 'Brooks Proofide' as well. This dressing will soften the saddle and protect it. Not a chore to use but an essential routine to get the most out of the saddle.
If you are reading this review you are probably seriously considering buying one! Look no further you won't regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swu1222
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Best Seat Ever

Posted11 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Was sceptical of this seat initially as it looks too hard to be comfortable.
It feels hard the first couple of rides but it softens as you use it.
It feels hard but it does not leave you feeling sore like any other saddle that I have used.
Money well spent
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gclark8
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Adds character to an ageing bike

Posted21 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Perfect saddle for the slightly aging bike and older rider.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brooks B17 Special Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimbo4
from East Sussex
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Great Purchase

Posted05 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Whilst the Copper coloured rivets and support frame don't match the colour of my bike - I bought this for comfort.
After the first ride, it reminded me of my Brooks Saddle I had in the 1950's - Perfect in every way!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>