Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brooks Toe Strap

Brooks Toe Strap

Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks Toe Strap
Review 1 for Brooks Toe Strap
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Android49
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These straps look great on my Pashley - like all Brooks stuff they are finished to the highest quality but v.hard to justify high cost. The packaging has nearly as much leather as the straps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks Toe Strap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paulus100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brooks Quality - what more can you say!

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought these to replace 25yr old straps on my old Dawes Galaxy Tourer.
Look very smart after a good dose of Brooks Proofide (which I would recommend using to preserve the leather).
Pity that they appear to be imported from Spain. Surely they could be Made in England!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks Toe Strap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
majorbob
Country:Spain
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a solid high-quality product

Posted04 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: anodised finishes only
I bought these pedals to replace those fitted to my Plug Grinder. They have proved an excellent choice.
The quality is obvious from the moment they are unwrapped, solid as though made from a single piece of high quality alloy. The anodising- a deep and gorgeous red on mine- feels as though it goes right through the metal rather than being simply a thin skin. Generally I avoid anodised products on the grounds that after a few months wear they look tatty, but I very much doubt that will happen with these.
The bearings were slightly tight at first and a little "gritty". I had expected this from the experiece of other reviewers but, from the outset they turned smoothly.After a few miles the grittiness has disappeared and now they are just smooth and solid. Altogether the improvenment from the standard pedals on the Grinder has been huge.
If you are not used to track pedals these may not be confortable in thin soled shoes. I don't have a problem but riders wearing baseball shoes doing high mileages might. These are after all track-pedals based on (and dare I say it as good as)the classic Campagnolo Pistas. I wouldn't use them to cross continents.
A big plus point is the fact that they can be fitted using an allen key or a pedal spanner.
From my point of view a negaitve is that they dont seem to come in a plain rather than anodised finish but that said the anodising is great quality and the colour rich and deep rather than flashy. They are not particularly light but if you are into featherweight components they wouldn't be anywhere near your shopping list.
These pedals are the best of high end Japanese manufacturing. Solid, beautiful to look at and completely functional. They are certainly not expensive for what they are. If you are building up a classicly styled fixed-wheel bike these are as good as it gets.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Chapeau
West Sussex
 
Please wait while more information about Chapeau is loaded.
Additional information about Chapeau could not be loaded.
Strapping
Posted 10 July 2012
Good review about the pedals majorbob. However, you've placed it in the review section for Brooks straps. Did you use these with your pedals and if so, how did they perform?
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Brooks Toe Strap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brunodacruz
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

great addition to your vintage bike

Posted26 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
One more excellent quality good from the Brooks england impressive range.
I bought these straps to improve the ride and the looks of my old road bike restoration. I use them in combination with MKS Sylvan Road pedals (Campagnolo replica) and Campagnolo Super Record alloy toe-clips. I'm absolutely satisfied!!!
Very recommended!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks Toe Strap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kincaide
from Midlands
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted02 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Can't get on with clip-in shoes? This is the product to buy. Worth paying extra for leather straps and the Brooks name. They look good and do what you want them to do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks Toe Strap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flash

Straps with a vintage feel

Posted11 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Nice looking straps, but a bit stiff at the moment, hopefully like me they will age gracefully.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks Toe Strap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malky
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Male

Brooks Toes Straps

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fantastic quality & looks the part. A must if you've got a traditional looking bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.