Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Brooks Leather Grips

Brooks Leather Grips

Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks Leather Grips
Review 1 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jkoh
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very classy and comfortable grips

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This set of grips matches classic and vintage bikes with upright riding position. They are relatively thick but very comfortable to hold.
It is quite difficult to remove the leather rings to shortened the width to suit shorter handlebars like a Brompton M bars. And the leather rings do shift a little when under stress while climbing a slope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ats95
Country:Taiwan
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit my Brompton

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Ordered this grips together with B17 Saddle, then my Brompton looks absolute great. Now I am consider to buy a saddle bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
crowlandmamil1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made, comfortable.

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Had to shorten the grips but this was made easy by the quality of the product. They look good and like a Brooks saddle will only improve with wear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BrownBike
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A nice touch

PostedJune 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: stealable
Bought a pair of these to replace stock rubber grips that came with my flat-bar commuter. I find rubber grips irritating to my hands. So far the leather ones have been great. They feel good. Not very soft, but they do feel warmer than rubber and the slight increase in thickness is also a nice touch. Not particularly light, but they add a classy touch to my bike. My only concern would be that the aluminium ends may scratch or get scratched if you lean the bike against something.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cyclingforever
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nothing less than 'Perfection'

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These grips are just sublime! I purchased a lovely 'Charge Steamer' here at Evans a few months ago. I love it in every detail apart from the supplied grips and saddle that came with it, both were uncomfortable and didn't look right on the bike in my opinion. So I invested firstly in a beautifully styled Brooks B17 Special Edition saddle in Honey which is now like riding on a bag of fluffy marshmallows in comparison. To complete the package these stunningly comfortable Brooks leather grips were a must have purchase. What a combination! They are so comfortable to hold on to, they're lovely and warm, your hands don't sweat like they do with poly type grips and they will last a lifetime. Seriously; long after you've forgotten what you paid for them, you'll still be enjoying the beauty, quality, comfort and practicality they give! You can't put a price on comfort at this level and the song in your heart as you cycle along the lanes with a big smile on your face.
Buy a pair, fit them on to your 'Noble Steed' and grow old together happy... Enjoy.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Koosman

Comfy but...........

PostedApril 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy, Expensive
These are very comfy, although a bit finicky to adjust. My main problem has been the small bolts tightening the grips to the handlebar. One has stripped, the other has snapped off. They are impossible to get out. I work on a lot of bikes so I cannot say I have been rough with these grips. The replacement parts are impossible to find and Brooks have been absolutely useless in providing advice. To pay this much money to have such rubbish aftersales service makes me say: steer clear of these at all costs, they have a design fault and Brooks are not keen to correct it!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ashlar
from Portland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Just the Job

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Easily fitted and a considerable improvement on the ‘ twin material, palm supporting, synthetic rubber grips’ that came with the bike. Brooks slightly larger diameter and non-slip leather surface provides comfort that’s warm when the weathers cold and more importantly cool when the weathers hot. The surface finish can be visually improved further by an application and buff of a little suitably coloured shoe polish. Expensive ‘ergonomically’ shaped rubber grips have limited durability but Brooks, whilst also costly, are likely to provide a life times service.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
schwammie
from Belgium
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent grip and goodlooking

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
like this product, a little bit heavy but so what when it gives that final touch to your bike
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OliA
from Sydney
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Ridden with them on now for a few weeks and they feel fantastic in your hands. The leather feels great and the wide grip feels much more comfortable in larger hands (compared to the thin stock grips on my bike).
The instructions to shorten them are pretty comprehensive, just take the time to make sure you've filed down the spoke tips otherwise you could damage the thread on the nipples that keep them in place.
They look the business too :P
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
samanosuke
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Beautiful Leather Grips

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: lengthening can be tricky
I bought these grips for my Brompton bike and they look amazing. They provide a nice, comfortable hold - much better than the standard grips. However I've not used other grips before so cannot compare with other brands.
Unfortunately I found the shortening-of-the-length process to be quite tricky, though this might have been due to my rubbish tools. When I cut the 'spokes', the threading was ruined so the nut would not screw on properly. It took a lot of time to file each of the ends down to correct this.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from London, city and westend
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

High Quality

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Good construction, beautifully presented, easy to fit if a little fiddly. In use the product is comfortable and sure, and it looks good too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vincedk
from Melbourne
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
A very comfortable grip and great to look at. Adjustable in length so it can fit alongside twist grips
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alan2525
from London, UK
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Another fine product from Brooks!

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I purchased these as I recently replaced the saddle on my bike with a Brooks B17 Imperial. The old worn out and sticky rubber grips were a real let down in comparison!
These are nice and large diameter (I have large hands) and feel comfortable in use. They are a little fluffy to begin with but soon bed in.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Telbert
from Bolton
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Quality and comfy!

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I always suffer with sore palms after a long ride but these puppies have solved the problem! They're comfortable and exude a quality feel, although they aren't light if weight is something that bothers you. Well worth the dosh!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mayblossom
from BRISTOL
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

brooks leather handle bar grips

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have an upright cargo bike with 'sit-up' handle bars. all the rubbery type ones i've tried either slip round the bars or end up getting sticky and coating my hands, or, un- ravel and fall off. Brooks, although a bit fiddly to put on have a good grip with bare hands or gloves, are comfortable and fit the bike well. They also look good on the type of bike I have. the length can be adjusted according to what type of gear changers and other bits you may have on your handle bars. They have instructions as to how to fit them, which made sense- an added bonus! The down side is that they are expensive-but then i've spent money on several sets of rubbish ones,so in the long run (ride) they're are probably cost effective.wont suit vegans as they are made of leather rings.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brooks Leather Grips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Richie
from Cleveland
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brooks grips

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, they'll never wear out
Cons: Heavy
Heavy duty grips ,with a very pleasing feel ,large diameter and strong end caps giving good feel and protection to the bars . currently fitted to my mountain bike ,very easy to fit .They do soften up with use and feel warm to the touch even in winter , very happy with them ,high quality product from Brooks
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.