Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Handlebar Grips & Tape or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brooks Leather Bar Tape

Brooks Leather Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.409 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 22(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Review 1 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JullienB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super cool retro

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Have 'pimped' my bike with some retro gear. Campag Athena 11 in steel, a Brooks Swift saddle, so had to do the tape.
Comfy and retro in the extreme, but quite difficult to apply.
I am sure there are cheaper alternatives, but once you see the cork bar ends.......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stratcat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great, but....

PostedJune 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: minor issues could be better.
I've got some brooks leather tape on my tourer. It's been on a few years and has been superb. It's worn well and is comfortable. So when I replaced the tape on another bike I decided to put some brooks tape on. It's expensive initially but it will last years with no maintenance (unlike cork tape which I've replaced on another bike 3 or 4 times at the same cost) and it looks better as it wears in.
It almost feels warm to the touch.
On the negative side both the strips of tape have a join in them (the tape on my tourer is one piece on both sides!). I hadn't noticed and did one side and by luck managed to get the join at the bottom of the bar. I only noticed the join when I got to the top of the bar on the other side. I should have rewrapped it there and then, but I left it and now have a join right at the top of the bars. It seems strong but looks a bit naff. Hopefully it will last.
Of course the corks fell apart as soon as I looked at them, I copydexed them back together. I then lost one on a ride- I actually had a spare, so copydexed that one into the bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrSmith
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Delicious

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, takes care to fit
I had this bar tape previously for 2.5 years and only had to replace because of a problem with gear cables. It had faded and was a bit worn, but otherwise was in excellent condition. I have now replaced it with some fresh tape, and it looks fantastic. The wooden bar ends can be fitted easily; just wrap a bit of tape around to make them thicker, and make sure you have overlap of the tape to tuck into the bars as well.
Brooks tape is consistently better than the numerous cork/silicon tapes I've tried which last a year if your lucky, and when riding regularly. Other reviewers have suggested using the Brooks proof hide on this tape - this is a very good idea for long term use - and to reduce fading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IBB1
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect for my retro build. Comfortable. Fast service
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chesky
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Looking!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: nothing
I would highly recommend this for any vintage bikes. Its genuine leather and it comes with variety of colours for you to mix and match your bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeardySnapper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brooke's leather bar tape.

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Easy to fit, looks and feels incredible. Worth every penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
johnnyd1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic quality

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
l found the bar tape easy to fit, it looks fantastic & is very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rapidroadie
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very easy to apply and looking good

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Quality tape and looking like one too. Got mine in black and just what I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
oldishPete
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Nice tape, shame about the bar end plugs

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, unreliable plugs
Very generous lengths of tape. Nice to have tape that is strong enough to pull quite tight while fitting.
In use tape seems good so far.
Having read of others' experiences with the bar end plugs, was careful to push them in by hand, and everything seemed OK....
...After 5 miles use, just as I was overtaking someone (doesn't happen often nowadays) there was an impressive "twang" and clatter on the road. Wondered what I must have hit on an seemingly clear road, but eventually I realised that it must have been the sound of the wood part of a bar end plug springing off the cork interior, The leather must have been forcing it off the cork, and now there is just a piece of cork sticking out of the bar end.
Having spent ~£40 or so on tape, I suppose another few pounds for some screw tightening bar end plugs doesn't add that much more to the total cost. I'd advise others to buy some good quality bar end plugs at the same time as purchasing this tape, and use those instead of the ones supplied.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seong
Country:Malaysia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good, no nonsense product

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
For me, leather is simply the best material for bar tape. It lasts forever, looks great and feels even better! It may be expensive, but over time, it pays for itself in not having to be replaced. I have the Brooks leather bar tape on 2 of my bikes now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
uber
from Oxford
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pricey but worth it

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Despite being pricey, this really is the best bar tape I've used. Soft and pliable, it is starting to age really nicely too!! Fantastic quality, with nice cork stops for the ends. Looks the business!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mercianrider7
from North York Moors
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A real indulgence

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Spending £40 on handlebar tape is a real extravagance but then the bike cost thousands and the expense is offset by driving a 10 year old car. The handlebar tape is comfortable and beautiful and will easily outlast several cheaper versions. I wouldn't buy a Brooks saddle because I like to avoid pain but the handlebar tape is an instant winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fluke
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Retro looks, and Practical too.

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Nice looking kit, but quite unforgiving - you need the padding to be in the mitts you wear instead, as the leather doesn't give any bounce / cushioning.
A little more difficult to apply than "normal" bar tape as it is not so stretchy. But a nice pproduct for those a little eccentric.... :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
yank
from London

Brooks Leather Bar Tape

PostedAugust 3, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Great tape and looks the part but the cork bar ends are fragile and have already broken. Definately paying for the name and not quality here.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
badbrush
from Newcastle
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So-so

PostedJune 28, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Expensive
For the price i was expecting something more durable
Good
-Easy to fit
-Long tape.
-Feels quite good against the hand although some people may want to fit gel under the tape.
-Looks good.
-Hands don't get so sweaty and the grip is still good in the rain.
Bad
-Bar plug ends are cork and easy to break or snap off [corkscrew to remove]
-soft leather so not impact resistant. I torn mine after a week by catching my watch on the leather.
-Hyped price because its brooks and leather, Tennis leather tape is the same stuff and 1/3 the price.
To Note
-higher maintenance than synthetic tape leather care every 6months ish to keep it waterproof and it can't really be left out in the rain when riding to town so learn where the multistore carparks are
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anothername
from Cambridge
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Luxury at a price.

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Firstly, you can see that this tape is expensive. The question is, is it worth
it? Choice of bar tape is something very personal so I can't answer that for
you, but here's what I think of it:
Good points:
* The tape seems strong and does not over-stretch too easily like some
other types of tape.
* The feel of leather tape on the handlebars is really nice. It's like riding
a bicycle made by Rolls Royce.
* The lengths are quite long. I didn't measure them, but it's longer than the
tape I already had. I have relatively wide dropped handlebars so there was
plenty of bar to cover. There was no shortage of tape, and I actually had
to cut it to leave space for lights and suchlike.
* It was really easy to wrap. Ok, tape in general isn't usually very hard to
wrap, but I had no trouble at all getting a neat job done with this stuff.
* It is easy to cut with sharp scissors.
* It has a sticky strip on the back. (This wasn't well advertised.)
* It does come with two shorter lengths to cover gaps around your levers.
Again, this isn't well advertised and you can't see them in the
photographs. I also found that the short strips were plenty long enough. I
actually cut mine in half, and they were still more than adequate. Brookes
are not mean with the amount of leather that they give you.
Bad points:
* It's expensive. Even in a sale, this would probably be more expensive than
most other tapes (unless Evans have a really impressive sale).
* As some other reviewers noted, the plugs supplied with these are hopeless.
They are made like a whiskey cork, but the wooden cap is very weak and
cracks at nothing. I couldn't get them in by hand so I used a very light
leather mallet. Unfortunately, this was too much and the cap cracked
immediately. I saw a comment on the Brookes website stating that they're
planning on moving to metal plugs, but I don't know when they plan to do
this.
* The "adhesive cloth strips" look more like electrical tape than cloth
strips, though it seems more stretch-resistant and is probably tougher. In
any case, they are neat and tidy.
Note that the leather is soft to the touch, not hard and shiny as it appears in
some photographs.
Also, I can't vouch for its performance in the rain as we haven't had any
significant rain in Cambridge for a long time.
Finally, be aware that this tape provides very little padding. I prefer that,
but some riders like to have a bit of cushioning in the tape.
Overall, I am very pleased with this tape and I wouldn't hesitate to use it
again, despite the price!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
workhard
from Horsham
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

lovely stuff

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
gorgeous, tactile, easy-to-fit stuff, only down side are the supplied bar ends which seem to fall out or fall apart in no time at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ichabod
from Edinburgh
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brooks Leather Bar Tape

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, reuseable
There're no instructions; difficult the first time; end fabric tape wears out quickly but you can use a little of glue or other tape. Good thing you can try many time over until you'll think "now it's looks and feels wonderful".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fredrik
from Worcerster
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Brooks Leather Bar Tape - Alpha Plus

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, warm in cold weather
Easy to fit, and as comfortable as it gets to use. Warm to the hands in the cold, and yet breathes so no tendency to sweat when a proper effort is being put in. Suddenly the price seems still to offer great value.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brooks Leather Bar Tape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Die4X4DriverDie
from West London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 26, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This tape is an attractive accompaniment to a Brooks saddle, and it's fairly comfortable and just grippy enough to hold. However, it is only just a finishing touch upgrade, really only meant for when your current gel/other tape becomes completely worn out. It is expensive for bar tape, but time will tell how durable it is (I expect it to last a good while). Be aware that the wooden end plugs aren't particularly durable - you want to push them in, rather than tap them, as they can break along the wood grain.
In short, if you want maximum comfort and value for money, get a decent gel tape (for a third of the price). If you want to buy into the tweed-wearing, ale-swilling, Mumford and Sons-listening, folksy, awfully-English "lifestyle", then this is for you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>