Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair

Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair

ORTLIEB products are characterized by tightly sealed closure systems: for example roll closures, waterproof zippers, velcro, or sliding seal closures. Many of the design features are patented and serve as the benchmark in the bike and outdoor market. Rear pannier with optimised shape. Two 40-litre panniers should be able to carry everything you need for a reasonable length trip without unbalancing your bike. Splash proof fabric helps protect your kit one wet days and Ortlieb's tightly sealed lid further prevents the ingress of water. Large reflectors enhance your nighttime visibility.
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Review 1 for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phatboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great design and simple to use

Posted06 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I conducted thorough research before settling on these panniers which as I expected turned out to be fantastic. Completely waterproof and easy on and off. Perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dch30
Country:United Kingdom

Solid product

Posted02 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Impressed with waterproofing and surpisingly spacious. Just a bit awkward to carry when not attached to bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hugh65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

High quality panniers

Posted23 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
These panniers remained dry in a recent soggy trip to France. They are well made, strong and not heavy. There is a neat clip-on system, with 3 sets of spacers to suit different gauges of rack metalwork. The extra expense was well justified. Strongly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NickyBSr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

A really high quality product

Posted15 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Sometimes a product just exudes quality, and this is one of these times. These are expensive, but well worth it, and when you compare them to cheaper options, you can see where your money goes
The material is waterproof and strong, build quality excellent, the clips incredibly quick and easy to remove, and the pockets well designed and easy to access. If I were to quibble I'd ask for a small easy to access pocket in the lid, for a pitlock skewer, spare tub, allen key or keys, but it's a tiny thing, as there is such a pocket deeper down. All in all it's very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TimPW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality and waterproof

Posted30 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
You can feel the quality of these panniers Snug fit and not as heavy as I thought they might have been.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Malta
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ortlieb Bike packer Panniers.

Posted25 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great Panniers for space , ease of use and waterproofness. I know you pay a bit more but at the end of the day it's worth the difference. When you buy something like this , it's because you appreciate technical quality and you want something to do the job properly. You want to Tour, get ortleib panniers. Simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marcia
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crouch End

Ortlieb Panniers - Great Investment

Posted21 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, waterproof, spacious
These panniers are very practical and spacious. They are fully waterproof which makes them perfect for the purpose I bought them for: commuting. It's great to get to work in the rain and be able to jump into dry clothes and shoes. As the panniers are so large, there is even room for winter layers. I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jamesy60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Quality Panniers

Posted30 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bought these for touring Europe later this year. Had them on the bike and they look good and are of good quality. Should give me many years of service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alepiva
from Milano
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good bags

Posted20 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very good and water proof tested the only thing i missed is an outside additional pocket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MilesonWheels
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

A1 Quality - but maybe not your best choice

Posted24 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Rock solid design, materials and construction. Ortlieb top notch as usual. Converts into a shoulder bag, which is useful, but not for heavy loads. If you want everyday ease of access for small loads choose the roll top paniers from Ortlieb, which I also have.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ortlieb Bike Packer Classic Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tbridge
from Essex
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Truly waterproof

Posted09 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought these for a cycling trip through France and Spain. These are well designed, robust panniers. They remained truly waterproof during heavy rain in the Pyrenees. A little heavier than some panniers (as one expects from waterproof ones).
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.