Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts

Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts

Overall rating:
4.814 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
43 out of 43(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Review 1 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thommo67
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

no more bits in pieces!

Posted28 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Having spent a fortune on bib shorts of varying quality, steadfastly refusing to believe that such an extortionate amount of money could be worth it for a bit of padded lycra, I eventually bit the bullet, aided by discounts and promotions that made the price slightly less eyewatering than the state my nether regions typically deteriorated into after any ride over 3 hours.
I can only say that I wish I'd simply believed the hype at the beginning, and ditched my inverted snobbery. These shorts are nothing short of a revelation and I just can't recommend them enough - no numbness, no friction, with the only pain coming from the physical effort of transporting my lardy frame round the countryside. They're beautifully made and don't seem to have deteriorated at all through washing in the machine.
Size wise, I bought TIR and they fit perfectly. As an ex-rugby player, more Christopher Biggins than Bradley Wiggins, the fit is spot on - 36" waist, 5'11" and 17 stone. I can't speak for the rest of ASSOS' kit, but these are genuinely, for me anyway, worth every penny and stand head and shoulders above everything else I've tried (Santini, Gore and Extenodo, to name but a few).
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MickB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bit the bullett and spent the cash! Well pleased.

Posted09 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Considered what shorts for riding over 100 road miles in for several weeks. Ordered six top end pairs to try on and eventually went with these. Mega comfort and excellent fit I am 5' 9" (175 cm) with broad thighs and the medium fitted spot on.
Size information was key to me from other reviews so I am adding my voice to the others. These shorts are similar to a large in Gore fitting for example.
Done a couple of big rides in them and couldn't be more pleased.
The pad is just perfect for me and seems to be for a lot of other cyclists.
Considering buying some more!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Damo088
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Fit and Quality

Posted11 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: leg gripper average.
Assos quality as you would expect, size true to guide. A Step up in comfort and quality chamois from the Assos Uno bib, however the silicon leg grippers don't grip as well as they should and tend to ride up a bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclewidow11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crawley

Excellent product

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I bought this for my husband as a Christmas present and I can honestly say it the most appreciated present I have ever given him. He absolutely loves them- apparently they are extremely comfortable and make long bike rides so much better. They are expensive but well worth it as they will get a lot of wear.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cyclelm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Will buy these again

Posted28 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Fantastic well built and comfortable shorts. I am now hooked on the Assos products. Shorts come boxed with sample chammy cream tub, wash bag and mild wash detergent. - But expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
TLSU
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent bib shorts

Posted01 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought size L fits perfectly. Height 178cm. The chamois is excellent. Large enough to prevent chafing during tucked in position. Love the leg gripper and the shorts have great compression. A bit pricey like Rapha but I got it with 20% off which was a good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eeun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Expensive but totally awesome comfort and fit

Posted25 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, wash well
Cons: Expensive
Had some Gore Bike Wear Xenon 2.0 Bib Shorts which were pretty comfortable initially but which fell part after a couple of months regular use. These Assos short aren't much higher in price but are 10 times a better fit and way more comfortable. Best padding I've found so far and they wash up like new so far after 20 rides/washes. They are expensive but the quality and value is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kevin13
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The only bib Short to wear

Posted24 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
This is the 4th pair of Assos bib shorts that I have purchased. No other brand comes close to the quality of make and comfort. I have other bibs that I wear on short rides(up to 50km) but the Assos come into their own on longer rides(50 to 200km). They are expensive but you get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
munkeytrowsers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good - but worth the money?

Posted23 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
The quality of these shorts is overall very good, the fit, and pad are excellent. I just don't think they are as good as the price tag warrants and you can get a pair of shorts for half the money that are not that far off the quality of the Assos shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fixer1978
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Believe the hype

Posted19 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
If you like longish rides 3-5 hours then probably you have to spend the money on Assos, i've found nothing as comfortable.
People always say expensive, but if you spend a long time on the bike its a pain in the assos or Assos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kitcatman4
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

As good as it gets with bib shorts

Posted17 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great value in the sale. Brilliant quality, comfortable, good in the heat and well fitting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
forestbikerider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts

Posted01 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
What fantastic shorts for those 100 + mile rides. I have taken some time coming to terms with the cost but now several high mileage rides behind me I am a fan. I now have 5 pairs of Assos shorts & find I can't use or consider using any of my other shorts now. Buy them & you won't regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BasCapeTown
Country:South Africa
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made & delivers on claims.

Posted25 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Previous pair managed all training and a 9-day multistage mountain bike race (Joburg2sea - South Africa) - one pair only, washed daily.
Also coped with 4-day coastal ride involving swimming river & estuary crossings - never any saddle sores - function of bib-shorts & Assos chamois cream.
Both shorts & cream worth the cost.
Wash detergent too expensive - get a biodegradable liquid wash from your local outdoor/adventure shop.
Bad sizing: Regular cut is too short in the leg. Anyone over 5"9 needs the long-cut. I made that mistake this time. Will gift to a short friend and start again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Juanito2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Nice, but no improvement in performance

Posted17 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
After reading many reviews, I finally splashed out on Assos shorts. It's true, they are comfortable and they look good. My concern is that the compression element seems lacking. I have not seen any improvment in my own performance and my legs still burn on lengthy hill climbs. That said, the pad is comfortable and on long rides, that is often enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cyclic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really comfy shorts

Posted16 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Expensive but with an Evans voucher just about justifiable. These really are the most comfortable shorts I have owned. The pad is superb and you forget you have them on. Wish that Evans did the long version as the short ones are a little short for me but not a real problem. I'm 6'1" and 87kg and the large is a good fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
t3racing
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent seat pad

Posted12 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought these on all the recommendations in magazines etc and the fit and feel was excellent when I first put them on. My only concern is the legs keep riding up as the grippers on the legs are not very tight. Maybe I just need to get larger legs!!!!! Not sure they are worth the money but time will tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EdinLon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Well worth the investment

Posted22 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
First time I've worn this style of shorts, but thought I'd take the plunge having suffered on previous outings. Not disappointed. Very comfortable to the point I didn't notice I was wearing them. No next day pains. I'd recommned these to anyone wishing to spare their bits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mick2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Design & Comfort

Posted10 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, feels like a second skin
After reading about the garment in cyclist magazine the Assos FI Mille S5 caught my attention due to my interest in Sportiv riding and the problems I have been having finding a suitable seat. When I put the bib shorts on the pain I was suffering was greatly reduced and I feel when I have cracked the seat issue I will have the perfect combination.
Yes they are expensive but the improved comfort level is worth it theres nothing worse on a long ride than the debilitating feeling as the aching begins and your a long way from finishing.
An additional point is that the team in Nottingham were excellent helping me find the right sizing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fredfred
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What a great product.

Posted21 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Used these great shorts on my first long ride of over 200 miles on a touring bike over 4 days. Was using a brand new B17 Brooks saddle and managed to survive the journey with minimal soreness. Very comfortable all round. Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Assos FI.Mille S5 Bib-Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ado65
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The most comfortable bib shorts I've ever worn

Posted30 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I've always been wary of buying Assos gear. The price always seemed pretty high, and the hype seemed over the top. But earlier this year, after 25 years of serious cycling, my resistance finally crumbled and I took the plunge. And I'm glad I did.
These are simply the most comfortable bike shorts I've ever worn. After tearing holes in my favourite Craft shorts during a bingle at a crit, I was in the market, and initially bought a pair of Sugoi shorts, which were disappointing. Rough edges on the chamois left gashes on my tender bum! I also tried on Giordana and Santini shorts, and they never felt right - way too much compression for comfort, or a funny cut that left the chamois bunched up in the wrong places.
Enter the Assos FI.Mille S5s.
I've got a very average build - 179cm tall, and around 78-79 kgs weight - and ride about 250kms a week.
When you pull these babies on, they fit snug across the lower abdomen without feeling like a corset, and the soft bib straps keep their form and stay in place without bunching.
I've heard some people complain that the bands on the short legs are too loose, but so far I've found them to fit perfectly.
My only regret is that I didn't buy them earlier - they would have been a lot more comfortable for the Three Peaks ride (235kms, 4000m ascent) than my old shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SWN1
Melbourne
 
Please wait while more information about SWN1 is loaded.
Additional information about SWN1 could not be loaded.
Sizing
Posted 06 January 2014
Hi,
I am about the same size as yourself and am considering buying the mille's. What size did you get?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>