Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator

Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator

Overall rating:
4.413 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
41 out of 46Would you recommend this product to a friend?89%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Review 1 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted23 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Great pump - and I have tried a few! This is very portable. The additional hand pump is a great feature and surprisingly quick despite being small. Evans, as always delivered the item very quickly.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Light weight pump

Posted22 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a perfect pump to put in a jersey pocket or in a saddle bag. Very lightweight so you won't even know it's there. Not had to use mine yet (fingers crossed) but i think it looks fairly straight forward to use with or without the air canisters. I will review again if i get a blowout!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Versatile pump

Posted12 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: co2 cartridges heavy
Light, versatile and well engineered pump with integrated CO2 inflator. CO2 cartridges feel actually heavier than the pump. Needed to use yesterday in very cold conditions, out in the countryside, never having used one before. Worked a treat at temperatures near freezing point - brr. Lost a bit of CO2 pressure as not tightening the pump around valve (my mistake) and came to appreciate that this doubles up as a conventional piston pump allowing me to top-up the pressure with easy, efficient pumping action. This is also great should you run out of CO2 cartridges (e.g. on club rides).
An alternative is the Topeak Mini-Morph pump that I have on my hybrid commuter. This is an excellent mini-stand-up pump which quite comfortably inflates to a pressure of 120psi, without torturing your arms and shoulders. It is a bit heavier, but given that you don't need CO2 cartridges the difference is probably minimal.
Correctly fitted in the pump holder that fits under the bottle cage, neither pump rattles at all, another bonus. The Bontrager pump holder has an integrated mounting for two CO2 cartridges.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Frustrating

Posted20 December 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Great idea combining hand pump with inflators. Carried it around on tours for a few years and only needed to use it once - no problem. Needed it yesterday and regulator failed to release air from canister rendering the key part of this device useless! Given that I had to rely on hand pump function at least that still worked and got me out of a tight spot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very well made

Posted13 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Useful to have a co2 and a hand pump. Fits in a bag or mounts on the frame. We now have one each.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made at good price

Posted17 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: no cons!
Ideal for clipping under the bottle cage, although too narrow for my bike's profile. Very light and compact enough to stick in the pocket. Surprising pump capacity for such a compact pump. Good value and control over gas injector is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Looks OK, not used yet

Posted23 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, compact
Compact, fits in saddle bag or pocket.
Not used yet, however I like the idea of control valve and having both pump and CO2.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Pump is good but don't trust the mount

Posted13 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The pump works pretty well and gets decent pressure pretty quickly - although you may need to practice getting it on the valve efficiently.
But beware the mounting bracket. I followed the instructions but lost a canister from the mount about five minutes into a ride.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Poor performance

Posted15 July 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
The hand pump function is weak. I was unable to hand pump to adequate pressure a 700 x 25 Tyre.
.The valve head does not engage totally securely and it doesn't work with Schrader valves at all.... A fact hidden in the very fine print of the product spec
The co2 function is very inefficient. I lost all the gas of one cartridge without any reaching the tube
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Norwich

Good product that I have yet to use

Posted15 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
This was purchased on the recommendation of the member of staff at the Norwich store. It is light and fits easily either on the frame or in a pocket. The only "negative" is that the instructions are very small to read but then it doesn't take rocket science to work out what to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

easy to use

Posted02 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: pump tight squeeze into small saddle bag
never had co2 pump before but followed easy to use instructions inflated tyre to 120 psi no problem in seconds. only tip make sure valve is pushed in a little to avoid tyre pinch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Well designed pump/inflator with a compact bracket

Posted01 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: only 1 sleeve
This pump is discreet & light weight yet serves it function well the built in CO2 inflator means you won't be building Popeye arms just to get back moving again. The storage bracket holds both the pump & canisters securely & discreetly behind the bottle holder on your bike. I personally prefer the tap style valve for the CO2 inflator over the spring type that I have with my other bike as I feel it gives greater control over the flow.
In short if I decide to replace the pump on my other bike I would defiantly buy this item again. The only negative would be as you get 2 canister of CO2 then it would have been nice to have been provided with a sleeve on each.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not great

Posted19 April 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
As a manual pump not so great. Presta valve does not fit well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Small and powerful

Posted14 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Small and easy to use. Works well with CO2 canister and as hand pump. Ideal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pump with CO2 facility too

Posted20 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, solid mount
Cons: only presta compatible
Nice looking pewter effect/colour pump, its only 18 cm long so should fit in a saddle back or jersey pocket. Also comes with frame mount for both pump and the 2 supplied CO2 canisters. Both Pump and canisters attach securely to mount and frame. Performance of pump was reasonable for its size and will be a life saver in an emergency. CO2 has a controllable release valve at the head of the pump so you can apply the intake steadily and under control rather than one quick burst of gas. Also it is only suitable for Presta valves. Nice compact unit and good addition to any kit bag, and will be peace of mind for those days out in the saddle.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

All bases covered

Posted05 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, multi task
Great tool. covers all the bases Co2 with pump as well. Looks smart does a great job.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Posted21 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Really good bit of kit nice to have the back up with the hand pump which works well, get good pressure into tires as well which is really good. C02 canisters are easy to get and are well priced.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quite brilliant!

Posted16 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, clever
For those who only look at the first line of a review, buy this, it's fantastic! For those who like a little more in depth, read on.....
Firstly, the pump comes with a mount that goes underneath a bottle cage, into which two CO2 canisters screw. This in itself is a great solution to a perennial problem - how to carry CO2 canisters without them chinking together in a saddle pack. One of the canisters comes with a removable rubber sleeve that stops you freezing your fingers off.
On the other side of the mount, the pump is mounted with an elastic fixing that holds it really securely. I bought mine for a road bike, but I'm 100% certain that this would stay put if you went thundering down a mountain on an MTB, it's that secure.
The whole concept strikes me as brilliant - inflate your new tube quickly with the CO2 to about 90psi, then use the little pump to finish the job off to whatever pressure you run. I wouldn't want to pump an MTB tube from scratch with this, but in a pinch I'm sure it'll do it quite easily as the pump is effective if small. But then that's why you want to buy it so you pays your money......
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Pump and co2 option n one!

Posted14 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Be careful with the thread as it's easily broken if you twist it too hard but apart from that, good product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bontrager Air Rush Road Mini Pump/CO2 Inflator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Care when mounting to frame

Posted08 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fitting to frame
Just what my wife needed when her domestique is not available.
It will not fit on saddle down tube, it jams the front mech. Spacers were required for down tube, otherwise it will rub the frame.
Very light and compact.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>