Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump

Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump

Overall rating:
4.395 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
33 out of 38(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Review 1 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rich372
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact, sleek and suitable

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: strap too long
Nice compact design ensure minimal ride disturbance. Sleek look and very suitable power/pressure capability
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
goblinhat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Looks good

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have not had a chance to use this pump so far other than to play around with it. It is a simple device which appears to be very well made and can be easily attached to the bike if required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
angelosm
Country:Greece
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
small difficulties in manipulating
good value for money
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mmhot1962
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice pump, good frame holder, rubbish strap

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: strap is too long
Nice to look at and have on the bike
Feels well built
Good frame holder as its very snug so holds it tight
Rubbish strap as its too long and ends up being of no use, needs to be about 2/3 of its actual length
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Al57
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great effort from a lightweight component

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this to handle both my road and MTB. I've been impressed so far with its ability to cope with tyres and hit the pressure that I need for my road bike. I chose to buy an item without a gauge and this hasn't hindered this product in any way.
It is quite light for what you are getting, and whilst the handle seems a little flimsy when opened, its handled the pressure so far. It will be one part on the item that I will be paying particular attention to, but early indications are good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nigel42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small, light, well made.

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Good pump. Smaller, lighter version of similar road pump. Would be better if it had a tube to attach to the valve, like the bigger version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jake0Jacob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Good pump but my handle fell off.

PostedJuly 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Poor quality
It was a great pump, worked really well but the rubber bit on the handle came off. I ended up swapping it for the "Topeak RaceRocket Mini Pump" though as it was built better and had compatibility with big and small pump connections although smaller air capacity.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
helytop
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small, high quality pump

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: small
This 24cm pump gives sufficient pressure for our tandem wheels. It is beautifully engineered and is reliable. Another quality product from Bontrager.
Downside - no pressure gauge, you need a calibrated thumb.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mizu
Country:Finland

fast and compact.

PostedJune 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Does what it suppose to do. Easy to use and mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marky21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing.

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Had the first opportunity to test the pump this weekend as my mate was lucky enough to get a 4 inch spike through the Continental travel contact rear tyre which didnt stand a chance. The pump is quite amazing for its size, quickly getting the tyre up to 60 psi, we were back on the road in no time, other pumps I have would have took me 3 times the effort and time to do this so well done Bontrager.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
simon59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Doesn't fit all bikes or cages

PostedJune 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: doesn't fit properly
I have only just fitted the pump to my Giant Defy 1. This is where the problem starts. The Giant has an oversized square section down tube and the shape of the pump mount pump mount relies the tube being a fairly standard curve. So I had to fit to the to the seat tube. Luckily it does fit and does not get blocked by the front derailleur mount.
The other discover was that this Bontrager pump doesn't fit properly behind Bontrager Race Cage Lite bottle cage. I fits but taking the pump out means slightly distorting the bottle cage. I doubt it will work with the bottle in the cage. I would have thought that Bontrager would have made their various products work together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Xander21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap, but works

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
This pump doesnt seem a good deal at £19.99, the handle is a very flimsy plastic. I worry it might break. I imagine the profit margin is very high! To be honest though, the pump does its job, more so than other mini pumps ive had. And it looks slimline and cool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Slogger
from Bristol
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's okay

PostedJune 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: hard to inflate to high pressure, a bit flimsy
I've used it a few times, and I find it hard to get the tyre up to 100 PSI, and without a guage you're not sure when you're there. Also, some plastic trim on the handle has fallen off. However, the pump looks good (even without the trim!), the bracket is firm, the valve clamp is good and it works. I think I'd try another model/make next time I buy, so I wouldn't recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Indecisive
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Mediocre, not outstanding

PostedMay 8, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, flimsy
This product is a mixed bag. I'll start with the good news.
It's a very lightweight pump that comes with a nice mounting bracket that fits on your frame while still leaving space for a water bottle bracket in the same location which is a nice touch.
It does the job and has got me home after an unexpected puncture more times than I can remember. It's got a slightly longer barrel than some of those tiny mini pumps so you feel like you're getting a decent volume of air into the tyre with each pump, and the fold out handle at one end makes it easy to grasp to get up some pumping speed.
The easy switch between the two valve types is also useful.
But the downsides are worth noting:
It's not the most robust piece of technology. After some hard pumping the fold-out handle on mine broke off - it's not well designed for something that's meant to be handled and yanked frequently.
You can also build up a healthy sweat trying to re-inflate a totally flat tyre.
Given the flimsiness I think it's overpriced.
I wouldn't buy it again, but it's still just about maintaining its place in my kit bag.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HappySnidge
from Suffolk
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Not had to used in anger yet

PostedApril 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Without wishing to tempt fate, have not had a puncture yet whilst out on the road with this new pump.
Think the holder is secure and the overall pump design looks good. I think in general Bontrager make good kit and other reviews created a good impression of the product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amjeel
from Wiltshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Pump

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I haven't actually used this yet but it looks red hot on the bike.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flopsy
from ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

very good buy

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
very pleased with this pump,its lightweight,compact,and very powerfull
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BA68
from Sussex
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little pump

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I have been riding around for too long without a pump and new one day I would regret it; I wanted something small and light but with enough power to get a tire up to 100psi.This seems to fit the bill, it's well made from a combination of good quality plastic and alloy and vcomes with a bracket to mount under a bottle cage or just directly to some bottle cage lugs. It doesn't have a pressure gauge so I wouldn't use this for regular use I use my track pump, but as a pump to keep on the bike for emergency use it's ideal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
magictoast
from Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Affordable quality

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight, convenient to carry with supplied mount, pumps up to over 90 psi easily (and I'm female), and good looking too. The fold-out handle and the dual action really helps pump the tire up quickly and easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bontrager Air Support Road Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watto10
from York
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Perfect

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Small, light and perfectly fits on to my bike. What more can you ask for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>