Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pumps or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump

Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump

Overall rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Review 1 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spreaders
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent when used correctly.

Posted04 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Fantastic little pump, although make sure that you push it onto the valve as far as it will go to form a good seal. Easily and quickly gets tyres back up to pressure and fits in a medium sized saddle bag too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TB24
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, couple of drawbacks

Posted03 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Overall the pump works great.
However, it arrived with the rubber grip falling off because of poor glue. The off-set attachment to fit under your bottle cage doesn't work with my Specialized bottle cage. If the clip didn't have a curve it would probably fit, I'll try filing it down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
CatMatt
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wouldn't form a proper seal

Posted08 January 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Using this product for the first time in anger today when the puncture fairy visited was a big disappointment.
Unfortunately it wouldn't form a proper seal with my valve and seemed to let out almost as much air as it put in.
After half an hour I managed to get enough air in the tyre to limp back to the car. When I got home and pumped the tyre with my track pump, it showed I had manned to get it to 10psi.
I imagine that this was probably just a faultily product, hopefully a one off, but sadly it let me down the one time it was needed.
Have now ordered a CO2 pump to save my arms should I get another puncture away from home.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Spreaders
 
Please wait while more information about Spreaders is loaded.
Additional information about Spreaders could not be loaded.
Posted 04 August 2013
Schrader valve? I had the same problem, but after consulting someone else I found that I just wasn't pushing the pump onto the valve far enough. You've got to push the pump on as far as it will go, at least an inch, I thought I was breaking it at first but it's required to get a good seal. Works like a charm.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoysRolls
from Midlands
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Quality Kit

Posted27 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fits both valve types automatically, lightweigtht but tough. Pumps on both strokes - very pleased with quality - highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
biutze
from Windsor
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light and small

Posted02 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very handy, does the job perfectly. Tiny and light, easily fit in a 6L bag. To be honest, I had to use it only once, so not much an expert but on that one occasion it worked perfectly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
InsolentMinx
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Small pump packs a big punch

Posted18 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: off-set bracket
For a little pump, this is an impressive bit of kit.
I have presta valves on mine, so quite liked how i didn't need to do any fiddling before using it to inflate my flat tyre.
It's nice to hold, and i believe it inflates on both the up and down stroke to make light work of inflating even a complete flat. A rubber strip on the grip cushions it nicely in your palm too.
The only slight downside for me is that the provided mounting bracket is offset, so that you can mount it under a waterbottle cage.
As this may be a bonus for those with 2 bottle cages, I wanted to mount this to the downtube to make use of those mounting points. But due to the offset bracket, i didn't want to risk hitting the pump with my foot when pedalling. So instead I mounted it under my waterbottle on the diagonal beam.
No real biggie, but just a little annoying.
The clip for the pump is quite sturdy too, but there's also a velcro strap for added security! Bonus.
Plus it looks great tucked beside my bottle cage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
topcatz
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Pump

Posted28 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Brilliant pump. Wasted money on lesser pumps which leak air when getting to higher pressures but this is solid. Was going to order the road version but the Evans guy recommended this as it`s shorter and easier to stow (I don`t carry it on the frame) it does take a bit of strength but it has no problem getting my tyres upto 100psi +. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chmpnz
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Hasn't let me down

Posted20 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It may be the MTB version but works just as well with road bike tyres. This has kept me off the side of the road for a fair few times over the past couple of years. Solidly built. Works great despite being compact. Having lost my first Air Support MTB pump, I had no qualms in replacing it with another. Comes with a bottle cage mount, should you want to mount it on your frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Larras
from Somerset
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Small pump.

Posted28 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had the road version of this and was so impressed that I bought the MTB version. Its light but solidly built and works well. No problems getting to the required pressured. Very impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scale35
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Nice little pump

Posted14 May 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
This little pump is all I need, very easy tu pump when fitted to the valve properly, small and light. Perfect for mtb, don't know if it would manage with road bike tyres but with MTB tyres there is no sweat:)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ALFALFA
from Liverpool
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Needed a small frame mounted bike pump

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
Dual action and surprisingly good handle do help, but it still takes a lot of elbow grease to get it up to full pressure.
Only major downside is the angle between wheel / pump/ hand / arm can make it a little awkward to use.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JudgeJules
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Mini Mini Pump

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Not a bad little pump, and I mean little. The automatic valve switching is really useful but the pump is very small meaming it takes a while to pump up larger MTB tyres.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Air Support MTB Mini Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leroy
from Bristol
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Solid mini pump

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Have only used this anhandful of times but neat and tidy and does the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.