Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short

Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short

Overall rating:
4.88 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
74 out of 75(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Review 1 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DanFromOz
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Although not in the same league for comfort as my Assos fl mille bib-shorts, these Uno's fit really well and you can still do over 100km's without any discomfort or chamois cream ! Great everyday all round shorts . Nothing comes close to Assos and I have worn (out ) an awful lot of shorts over the years.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ndvc
Country:Spain
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality bib-short

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
All that you can expect from Assos: great quality, good looking, confortable. All black, the best look. Excelent materials and construction. Good ventilation for summer rides. Not cheap, but worth the money.
One advise: assos usually runs on the smaller sizing but this model has more relaxed cut. Use to wear L in other brands but M in this model. If you're between sizes go one smaller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Darkwan
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bibs

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have worn these bibs for 2 rides, both over 100km and 3 hours. Extremely comfortable and well constructed. The comfort is beyond any other shorts I own. The design and shape of the pad means I have the right areas protected at all times during rides. I had to do a bit of research to the get the size right correct. Hopefully, the days of saddle sore lumps are over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dickydark
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Although now superseded, get 'em while you can!

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, value for money
Cons: Expensive
Wore these for first time on a 90 miler and they are supremely comfortable. I have older versions but the pad here seems to suit me better. If I could afford the new products, I'm sure they'd be even better. But for now, even though these are not cheap, in terms of enjoyment on the bike, these still offer great value for money. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
epico
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good product

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
what is already expected of Assos, very good product, good quality, highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Korka
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best bibs

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These would have to be the most comfortable pair of bibs I've ever owned, great quality, fit and on those long 3-4 hour rides you'll never feel a thing. These are just a must, I've got Castelli , Santini and some other cheaper brand bibs which are also fantastic for sub 100 km ride, but Assos just seem far better. Have done 4 rides since purchase. Pricey yes but worth every dollar, just size one up from your cheaper brand bibs, as any Italian brand clothing can be smaller than normal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stephano
Country:USA
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Love these bibs. They maybe on the pricey side but if you are doing a lot of longer rides (70+ miles) on a weekly bases you want to have bibs they are of excellent quality and great comfort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marsdy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Expensive but worth it.

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Very happy with these bib shorts once I got the right size, (I purchased medium and had to return them for large.) Quality is supurb. First rate stitching and seams. On me, there is a slight tendency for the braces to "bunch" at the shoulder on a long ride so they dig in a wee bit. Possibly poor posture! However, this is a very minor issue and comfort is generally excellent. The padding just doesn't seem to get smelly either.
Washing is slightly fiddly. The bib shorts need to be placed in the supplied net bag and I think Assos recommend not to spin the item. However, the spin cycle can't be turned off on my washer so I've been using a 400rpm spin and with no apparent harm done.
I'm 6' tall and 67.5Kg. Large is a perfect, tight but very comfy fit so if you have a bit of a tummy you might want to try before you buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FooBoy67
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
This is my second pair of Assos and whilst they're "relatively" expensive they wear really well, are very good quality and keep me comfortable on my longest rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jjlyall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seat of your pants

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These are cracking shorts. The fit is excellent, incredibly comfortable, superb seat pad and most importantly look great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lebossu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality worth paying for

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Debated for some time whether to pay over £100 for a pair of bibs but decided to treat myself and I'm glad I did. I'm 5'10" and 72kg so went for the medium and they fit perfectly, offering great support and that pad is like a sofa!
No 150km rides in them yet but I have every confidence that they will give me many hours of comfortable riding
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jobbingbo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Early days, but so far very good.

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Only had a couple of mid range rides, 80-100kms, so far but the outlook is good. Very comfortable, good quality, good fit. As I said early days yet but I am hopeful that the cost will be worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jamesbirmingham
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive, only time will tell

PostedJune 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Having saved for some time to purchase these shorts, Evans offered the best online price.
Having worn them now on numerous occasions, they are a fantastic fit, comfortable and supportive.
I am 5'11" 15 stone and purchase a large which are a great race fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MatthewsDad
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive but worth it

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I bought these online using an Evans discount code which brought them in at just over a hundred quid. My first ride in them was 160km and I honestly didn't notice them, even though it was raining on and off during the day which made the fabric and pad pretty damp at times. Very comfortable, well made. Sizing as always for bibshorts is very much a personal thing. I went for large although on the assos sizing chart I am spot on for a medium. I am 5' 8 inches tall but have a relatively long torso and the mediums simply felt too tight, even when in a cycling position. I'd try them on before you buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dyce01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Superb

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought my shorts last week in preparation for an 80 mile ride planned this weekend, I had read the reviews and thought I would try a pair out.
I have to say they are fantastically comfy,
my 80 miles in the Yorkshire dales was a painful experience but never from my backside i got drenched but the shorts never got out of shape rubbed and i never even felt my saddle,I wish I had bought a pair 18 months ago instead of constantly trying to find a comfy cheap pair of shorts.
If you are new to cycling save your money and buy a pair straight a way you won't be disappointed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
skyblue337
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best bib shorts I've tried for the money

PostedJune 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I've had Castelli Free Aero Race and Santini Toras which retail for a similar amount but the UNOs are my favourites for longer rides. Not sure that any great claims are made for the pad but it just does its job without causing any irritation. The lycra feels thin and I'm not convinced these are an every day training and racing short as Assos would have it but ideal for the special/longer days. I have an older pair (2010) which have some minor detail differences on the leg grippers and the pad on the new shorts feels a bit firmer. Large is a good fit for me without being too tight, 184.5cm with a 32in waist. My old pair are an XL bought when I was a bit heavier and I find them a bit loose now - whether this is due to the lycra losing some stretch or just my weight loss I'm not sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superfly62
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product performs to expectations.

PostedJune 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, fashionable
These bib shorts are excellent quality, the seams are smooth and flat. As for the chamois well it's like sitting on a cushion ( so comfortable).
Overall very comfortable without any need to adjust while riding which is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
paulos24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wish i would have bought sooner

PostedJune 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Wow what a product, well worth paying the extra money for. Totally transformed my riding, Im 5ft 11" and the large fit perfect. Staying comfatable for longer in the saddle making my riding a better experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blaartst
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb product albeit pricey

PostedMay 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The shorts fir perfectly and the pad is the best I have ever used. Very expensive but worth the price in my view
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Assos FI Uno S5 Bib-Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MCandy
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These bib shorts are great.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, hypersonic
Excellent bib shorts.
Chamois is excellent - after many hours in the saddle I wasn't left feeling numb or sore and felt like I could comforatbly keep performing!
Excellent material and stitiching. Always seems to have moments where I think "oh no I'm not wearing anthing" then I look down and realise I'm wearing the bib shorts. Eleastic around the legs are just perfect. Can't feel them, yet they never ride up around where they shouldn't be.
And most of all, these bib shorts look great, which automatically adds 20% speed and power.
Also come with a rgeat little washing bag, which if anything helps to spur some conversation with the partner in the laundry.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>