Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens

Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens

Overall rating:
4.841 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
44 out of 44(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Review 1 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Paullyd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cool shades

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, photochromatic, can add clip ons, can get extra lenses at reasonable prices.
Cons: evans stock control made the item look second hand
Received my glasses today, was a bit worried about buying blind, but I have had RP glasses before and they have been excellent.
The glasses come in a great but bulky case. The glasses themselves are really adjustable at the nose piece and the ear pieces.
One thing to note is that they will not fit someone with a very large head. I wear a large cycling helmet ad they are a little tight on the temples for me.
They look great on, and its nice not to follow the Oakley herd. In comparison they definitely offer a greater return on investment in terms of build quality and technology. I also like the fact that I can get clip ons if I want so I don't need to wear contacts, rather than paying close to £400 for prescription sunglasses.
My only disappointment was the display box they were supplied in by Evans. It looked like a well paged book, the cardboard was scuffed, clearly see that it has been on display and handled many times. I still given the glasses 5 stars though as this is not an issue with the glasses more about the stock control at Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Undertaker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, stylish and effective

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These glasses are very comfortable - no slipping down the nose, look great and the photochromic lenses react quickly to changing light conditions. I can definitely recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kris007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great glasses

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I had been looking for glasses that I could use in winter and well as summer. After looking at the product reviews, I decided that my preference would be for a set of glasses that can adapt to different light conditions without changing the lenses. So I purchased the Rudy Projwct glasses and they are great. I haven't yet used them in summer but they have worked well on dull and bright days in these winter months.
Good purchase and no hassle of changing lenses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jolm
Country:United Kingdom
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Victoria

Superb glases

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These sunglasses are absolutely superbe. The fit is very good with the nose piece easily shaped to suit. They are light and have a nice wrap round the face. They change to suit the daylight conditions and provide good protection to the eyes.
Somehow by using clever optics the lenses go dark in bright sunlight but the vision through them is still really clear.
They are expensive but they do an excellent job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Newmoon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

They're excellent!

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
In a nutshell I'm really pleased with these glasses!
I especially like the way they can be so easily adjusted and 'bent' to your particular face and nose shape.
They are VERY light.
The clarity of the glass is excellent. The lenses react quickly to light changes, though I did read a review somewhere that said this can slow down and not be so reactive after a year or so. If this happens replacement lenses seem easy to get hold of.
Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jaydee50
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Fit and Excellent Reaction to Light Changes

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I wanted cycling glasses with a similar level of light change to the glasses I normally wear, but with the benefit of a wrap around style that would stop my eyes from streaming tears in cold weather. They come with a very bling looking hard case, which includes pockets to store additional lenses, and a soft case for out on the road. Fit is excellent with a nose bridge which adjusts well, and when on they feel secure. Out on the road, the lens tinting coped well with the changing light conditions - I didn't notice how dark they'd got till I stopped and took them off - just as good as my prescription glasses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
partswiss
Country:Switzerland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cool!

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Well, like pretty much everyone who has bought and reviewed these glasses, I have found them to be excellent! On the bike they are great at keeping the winter mud and snow out of the eyes; have just used them for skiing - really helped under low contrast conditions. Stay clear or go dark when you need it and the nose adjustment is a big improvement over other expensive sunnies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheHobbit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Perfect for the job

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, understated yet great design
Yes they were more than I have paid for glasses before but todate after 8 rides they are fantastic. Design without being too flashy, virtually weightless and so comfortable that after stopping for a mid ride meal I got riding again and suddenly thought I'd left them behind at the cafe only to find I was wearing them. In bright sun and overcast light they are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cicciopilota
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good glasses

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i bought the glasses online and got them in 4 days in Dubai! thats fast...and they are great in terms of quality...the price i think is a bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davida3544
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top specs

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Only used them for a couple of weeks but by far the best cycling glasses I've ever had. React well to varying light and light as they come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
benji17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great weel made product

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Looks great and performs really well - havent had the opportunity to experience full sun in them yet but I am sure they will be excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LesH
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product.

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great product that just does what it says it will do. Good fit, lightweight and the photochromic lens are great. Well done Rudy Project.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul53
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great glasses, good quality and very comfortable

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These photochromaic glasses are great quality and very comfortable to wear - I have had them a week and forget I have them on they are so comfortable. Very good for vision on late afternoon rides into dusk and on our overcast rainy winter days - I think they might be a little light for the bright Australian summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GML999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality Specs that do the job

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, practical, functional
Cons: Expensive
I've used the cheaper 3-1 sunglasses and there ok BUT compared to these . . . . . Very light to wear and the darkening of the lenses when its bright sunlight from relative clear is very quick. They don't go totally clear but its not far off. Clear enough where you can wear them at night time and visibility is still excellent. I rode on a canal towpath at the weekend and as it was becoming dark and I went through masses of midges that I could feel deflect of my face and glasses. So the glasses were a must on that part of the ride.
Evans had a special offer voucher which although still expensive for a pair of sunglasses soften the pain of parting with the funds.
You are buying a quality pair of sunglasses that not only look smart but are very practical and functional and yes, worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HDimages
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive but worth it

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I wear contact lenses, have hay-fever and my eyes can be sensitive to sunlight randomly. Took my time weighing up all the different 'shades' out there and decided to take the punt on these.
They are awesome, I would be lost without them.
They have fended off bugs and mud impact, adjust exceptionally well to varying light/sun level and even after several hours of wearing feel great.
If I had one moan its that the glasses don't come with a cleaning cloth, this is an extra. Don't let you put this off though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gjams
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GREAT GLASSES!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This glasses are amazing - They are extremely comfortable and the chromatic lenses are extraordinaire. The lenses change colour so you dont even notice the changes in light... I often forget I am wearing them - they are that good!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BusterGonad
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is living!

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Rudy Project were always something I considered a bit out of my reach and probably a bit excessive for the money for the riding I do. But then when I began commuting and the days became shorter I really got fed up with coping junk in my face from diesel trucks and radom insects and the like.
Evan's had the ImpactX glasses at such a great price, I was able to justify it with my self and I'm so glad I did!!
Excellent optics, responsive chromatic changes, so light I forget I'm wearing them = happy riding.
Thanks guys!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rockille
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for the UK.

PostedJune 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Overall I am very pleased with these.
Upsides
- The lowest level of pigmentation is actually very clear so these are perfect for cloudy UK days.
- Light and very stable, they stay in position even when you are throwing your bike around downhill.
- They are pretty smart so I have actually used them as normal sunglasses when I went on holiday.
Downsides
- A bit slow to lighten up when at their darkest, I only noticed this when going from blazing sunshine into a wooded area. Not a massive issue, maybe I am expecting too much!
- I found the nose piece to be uncomfortable after a time, maybe I have to tweak this (it is bendable).
- Definitely expensive, but managed to get a bit of a discount using the Evans code at the time! I wonder how much of the price goes into the rather over the top flashy case and bumpf that comes with them?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DesertFox

Lightweight, well made

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
A bit on the pricey side but definitely good quality. Visual clarity is outstanding and the adjustable fit is superb -- no slippage or uncomfortable pressing against the face. It's like you're not even wearing them!
Photochromatic lens provides good range and blocks sufficient light under bright sunshine but not as dark as dedicated lens, so if you prefer something really dark you may wish to give careful thought.
Overall, a great product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rudy Project Rydon Glasses - ImpactX Photo Clear Lens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lyno
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great looks, great function

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, photochomatictastic
Worth every penny. I forget I have thse on. They bend to fit. They cope with virtually every extrem eof light. I've worn them at night in the UK in January and in Italy in July at noon, and the shade change is seamless. They look uber-cool too. I love them. I would recommend them to anyone - who can afford the price tag! Expensive but great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>