Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter

SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter
Review 1 for SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slim19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

this is a good entry level product

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This shifter was purchased to replace an old broken shifter that is no longer available, the shifter was dispatched quickly, and was easy to fit without needing to reference to the internet. It has a solid feeling mechanism and clear display panel - I thought it was very reasonably priced and it has given my old mountain bike a new lease of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chris71
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid gear shifter, good price.

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Needed this to replace broken shifter. It works as expected and is reasonably priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DerekC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple and effective

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this to replace an old X4 shifter broken in a crash. Very easy to swap over and even came with a gear cable already installed. Only downside was having to remove the grip to replace the shifter as the handlebar clamp only has a bolt on one side and I didn't want to risk breaking the plastic band by strectching it too much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
peeps1980
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: as this is entry level it isn't as robust as some
I bought this after my last one of the same broke. My bike has a full SRAM X4 setup so decided to keep the same parts.
My bike is getting some serious use everyday at the moment so I may need to upgrade to more robust shifters at a later date but this X4 shifter is definitely value for money.
Easy to fit but be careful when clipping over thar handle bars, it's easier if you clip the metal clip over first then the shifter and put them back together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snow
from James cardiff
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SRAM x4

PostedApril 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Really easy to fit hard wearing snoth iterchange of gears
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
gnu222

Does the job

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought as a replacement as my previous SRAM shifter, which disintegrated internally after 4 yrs use. The new X4 came complete with a cable and was easy to fit. It also has a clear gear indicator. The shift action is push fwd on a switch for up and bigger switch for down; my previous and front changer had a different action ie push fwd & backwards so took a bit of getting use to. Currently, at one place it clicks up without changing (but I could probably adjust this out if I spend time fiddling).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
welshant
from wales
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great purchase

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, easy to use
order did take a little while to arrive but very satisfied with the order easy to install replaced my old SX-4 didnt need to ajust any thing just install connect cable with outer cable and away u go very easy to change up or down the gears
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
harky
from Lanarkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good quality and value for money,also esy to install and come complete with cable already fitted
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for SRAM X.4 Trigger Shifter
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product