Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Crud Catcher

Crud Catcher

Overall rating:
4.35 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
39 out of 40(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Crud Catcher
Review 1 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marcus63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

A very good addition

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Since i also use my bike to commute to and from work each day and have to wear normal office clothes this has been great as it is has meant i haven't had to turn up at work with my front splattered.
Highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
J9842
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Makes your bike look awesome and does its job wel.

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no cons!
The mud guard is fitted to the downframe of any bike, regardless of shape. It uses 2 hard rubber bands that are very unlikely to snap. The guard seems strong and durable as well as being slightly flexible to withstand any crashes. It makes a great accessory to a bike making it look really cool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BrownRhino
from Leeds
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what is states.

PostedApril 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Crud catchers aren't the best front guards you can get. If you want to be kept completely dry/clean go for a guard that fits to your forks rather than these that fit to the underside of your frame.
However, these are cheaper and for me, do what I need. You will get splashed when you turn corners as the wheel will emerge from under the guard but with its flared design this is kept to a minimum.
It's light, cheap and very easily fitted. If you just want to keep yourself from getting totally covered, this is just the job.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Doug65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Simple to fit and does the job.

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Fits easily on the downtube of my cyclocross bike. Keeps most of the filth off me on my daily commute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sackface
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fitted in minutes

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great product and easy to fit. Worked great stopping the mud flinging in my face on a recent ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cambola
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good fit but seems to move around too easily

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
This is easy to fit and does the job well, my only complaint is that once fitted to does have a tendancy to move around a bit and i can't get it tighter so it stays in one place. If it doesn't get knocked it works very well and keeps your legs dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
binksy66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Does exactly what it says, easy to fit and effective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JasonMc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

No more getting water or mud in my face!

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent mud guard, very easy to fit and keeps the mud and water from splashing up in my face.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WelchWay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Catches the crud well

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is easy to fit to the down tube, it seems very secure and is yet to fall off while off roading - all in all a good product.
Obviously with it being mounted to the down tube as opposed to the forks, when turning there can be a small amount of "crud" that makes its way past the catcher and up your leg but in my opinion not enough to put me off buying another
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Po5tman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, better than a front fender
Cons: loose frame ties
Easy to fix, but it's fairly unstable on the frame. From other reviews on here I found that cable ties do a brilliant job of overcoming that. Cheers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oldandpastit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Crud Catcher

PostedMay 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good fit on frame, as I have fitted thie to a new bike I was pleased that the frame is protected by the soft rubbe CRUD logo and that it is attached by sofe neoprene bands. Not sure how long they will last once the weather turns wet again btu they are easily replaced. Nice and wide at the top end so I should stay clean and dry. Good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kimbe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin, catches crud!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is a great product, the only issue I have is my cables for my gears are rubbing against the guard. We have added a second spacer to help this issue. Apart from this it catches crud!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winza84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective and Affordable

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Needed something to stop me looking like the swamp thing after my track rides in the winter. The Crud Catcher is great value, does the job perfectly and is really easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarkW60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worth the money

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Fits in seconds without any fuss.
Makes a big difference when riding in wet and messy conditions.
Keeps you water bottle free from all the debris thrown up.
I have fitted this and a rear Crud Guard and it makes for a much cleaner ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunn
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the second Crud Catcher I buy. Really easy to attach and it sits snugly. This thing is big enough to catch most if not all mud. At this price what are you waiting for?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Crud catcher, catches the crud

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very easy product to attach to the bike and doesn't appear to have any adverse effects on the frame. Stops a fair amount of the mud flicking up into my face too, so basically does what it says on the tin, and this white one looks great on my black and white Trek Fuel Ex8 2009! Fast efficient delivery as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
camscot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
excellent product have been using them since they first came on to the market and intend to use them for as long as they are produced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bariK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Certainly catches the crud for those muddy rides but it does require a neoguard or benderfender to prevent mud/water flying forward between the stanchions and into your face.
I fitted this to my sisters mountain bike which had dedicated mounting lugs. The soft crud lettered foam takes up any play between the guard and the down tube.
Very happy with the purchase and cheapest online at evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DiDi1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Keeps me dry

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Very happy with this crud catcher. I have a Lithium 3 bike, fits very well, could get zip ties to secure further but I doubt anyone would steal it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crud Catcher
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Marykef
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Effective but heavy

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy
Very easy to fit and keeps you relatively clean but is large and heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>