Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Crud Race Guard

Crud Race Guard

Overall rating:
4.529 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
49 out of 51(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Crud Race Guard
Review 1 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helicopter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Works well

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I have just bought another one of these mudguards, for my second bike, as I was pleased with its performance. It is easy to fit and durable, preventing mud, water, etc. from splashing up my back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
carlos73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
A good guard and works very well. It's quite stiff unlike cheaper, bendier models that just don't work as they move too much with bumps etc.
My only gripe is the bracket had to be totally undone to fit my seat post but the plastic is strong enough to take this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SchoeniRad
Country:United Kingdom

Good value for money, no additional weight

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I'd recommend this mudguard, it's the cheapest available at the store I was but does its job very well. Looks could be better, but I don't care about aesthetics in regards to cycle equipment. I've never had any mud or water spatters on my back ever since I got them. Not static, so it doesn't break easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Racin28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product great price

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Needed a guard to keep me from getting so wet and muddy keeps most of the dirt off me I'm very happy easy to fit and looks really good on my mtb. Great price from Evans cycles as normal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigchurchy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Clean bum!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this for my new Scott scale 760. Sits perfect on seatpost and does it's job very well, namely keeps my back and bum mud free!
Aesthetically nice and subtle and does not detract from the bikes looks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FoDJez22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent bit of kit

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
No more wet backside and a dirty stripe up my back.
Essential bit of kit if you ride your bike in Autumn, winter or Spring (and Summer) Wish I'd bought one years ago.
Very easy to fit and remove
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ether83

Good stable & secure mudguard

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Bought this as a replacement for a Topeak Defender mudguard that was cr*p & lasted about 2 weeks. This one is much better & fits securely on to the seat post & hasn't needed any readjustment over the few weeks that I have been using it. The actual guard part that extends over the wheel is supposed to be removable but didn't have much joy with getting it off when I tried but would rather it was secure on there so this isn't a major criticism. Would definitely recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
poseidonsr
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
very easy to fit and great looks
also very efficient
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moose23
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Easy to fit, does the job! Looks good too! No more mud stripes!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kimbe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good gaurd

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm happy that I am no longer covered in mud and cold. Although my husband says I have changed the whole concept of mountain biking!! I say it now a pleasure and not a chore!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
msto3040
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

genuine classy product

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
It was easy to attach, looks great (I got the white one) and kept my gear spotless on a recent trail session on muddy tracks. Very happy and definitely would recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Staffy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice Item

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Fitted this to my my new Giant Revel ltd0. Easy to fit, works well and doesnt look too bad either. I'd prefer a matt black finish to the gloss black but it'll be dirty soon enough :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mtbgazza
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome value for money,

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, priced just right
Great product easy to fit and very light weight, Bought the white version sprayed it red to match the rest of bike,lots of people asked where i got it from, All in all a valued piece of kit well recommended,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bonus71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and stylish.

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this after reading some good reviews and they were bang on, had it fitted in less than a min, out on muddy trails half an later and returned with a dry posterior, got it in white and it looks awesome. Very satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarkW60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Up to the job

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fits in minutes.
I have previously tried two other types of rear mudguard, both of which did not keep the muck off.
The Crud Race Guard does what it says on the box.
I have just completed a 33 mile trek in some very wet and messy conditions. Its the first time that I haven't had to throw my ruck sack and jacket in the wash following such a ride. I was almost muck free!
The Race Guard combined with the front Crud Catcher keeps me and my bike clean.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joyrider69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a great bit of kit,it stops most of the mud etc ,sticking to your back,easy to fix to your bike,it comes with a couple of bits of plastic to wrap around the seat post for so you get a tight fit,and washes up a treat !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stevefiat2002
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does whats expected

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy fit
Lightweight, easy to fit, looks cool.
Good value. Very good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ifyouknowyourhi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Solid, stays in place and does the job

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not quick release
Good guard, doesn't move from side to side or drop down like some other guards. Is sturdy, looks good (I've gone for white) and would defo recommend.
This was a replacement for the same model but the the guard section unclipped at 2012 Mountain Mayhem and was lost - but anyone who was there will know it was exceptionally bad, no horrendus mud glue conditions like never experienced before. Lesson learnt by me.
Only criticism is that its not possible to unclip easier - it has be be unscrewed right off. Which you can do else if youve not a dropper post you could slide it off.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DoctorPete

Great product but just not quite perfect.

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This keeps your backside dry and clean as well as your backpack. It comes with 3 different rubber strips to fit all posts. However, if like me you have a post over 31mm it recommends no rubber strip. This makes the bracket slide more easily and requires the bolt to be tightened more. I had one of these for 4 years but fell off after a fall. I immediately went and bought another. For the price the functionality is brilliant. The bracket could be slightly improved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crud Race Guard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leeroy1

Does what it is meant to

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Well made, good fitting, and easy to attach. Attaches to seat post so easy to remove
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>