Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack

Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
32 out of 35(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Review 1 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
deedee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

good rack

Posted20 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
We have had many car bike racks over the years and we struggle to get 4 adult bikes on one rack. This rack is easy to install once the tow bar professionals fitted the main bit onto the car! The rack is well made and easy to use, we still have problems getting all 4 bikes on and have to remove saddles and top and tail bike but once you get this part right it is a great bit of kit. The rack( if all ties are put on) offers the strongest secure rack we have had for the weight on the car. We have used this rack several times, short and long journeys and we think it is the best we have had so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Johnny34
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Solid, practical and secure

Posted12 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A great example of solid British engineering - it fits together well, is very sturdy and easy to use. Max weight is 80kg more than any other 4 bike rack I could find, most others seem to be at their weight limit when four bikes are loaded, this rack has spare capacity. MaxxRaxx have thought of most things including a built in lock for all the bikes - a very good product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thornwell
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality and easy to use

Posted23 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Only used this a few times so far but found it absolutely first class good quality build and takes no time at all to attach to car a lot easier than my old one that's for sure and it compfortably takes all 4 of our bikes. Also find the attached security cable a good addition. The only thing I would say I find a bit of minus is the quality of the padlocks provided but hey that's easily rectified.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rob1959
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent 4 bike carrier

Posted19 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Needed a 4 bike carrier as my previous tow bar mounted one could only take 3 at a pinch. Used it this summer and it coped with 2 adult bikes (1 man's/1 woman's), 1 mid sized child's bike and a toddler's bike without too much problem (did use a couple of extra ties between the bikes though just to add a bit of stability - probably easier with 4 adult bikes as they would all sit neatly against each other).
Now I'm used to it it takes around 2 minutes to get the rack on the tow bar and around 5-10 minutes to get the bikes sorted. Thoroughly recommended.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Norm38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good would recommend

Posted31 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I like this rack, its easy to set up and really well made.
I found it a bit of challenge putting a child bike on, but an X-bar accessory is available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hutch29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good sturdy rack

Posted13 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
the MAXXRAX cycle rack is just what I needed, it carries all 4 family bikes securely. It's built in security cable is a great feature, as is the securing strap that locks all the bikes down. Being able to lower the rack out of the way of the rear doors is also a great feature. I have had other racks, but none have lived up to this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShaneMcG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and very stable

Posted21 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I was looking for a cycle carrier that would allow me to tow my camping trailer as well as carrying my bikes.
The Maxxraxx premier 4 ticked all the boxes, solid construction, sits to one side of the tow ball so no need to move the electrics, I can also access the boot without having to remove all the bikes.
So far while using the carrier I have seen practically no sway at all, you will not be dissapointed with this carrier, its easy to setup and remove for storage in your boot while out on a ride.
Great product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gbsummp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use bike rack

Posted14 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
a friend reconmended this to me, and well what a brillant rack, easy to use and assemble, i can carry 4 bikes on my car not many racks fit a small car, and does not go on the roof, which saves me scratching the car, access to the boot when rack on the car, would and will reconmend this to any one wanting a bike rack
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
themrmotivator
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brillaint Product

Posted04 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, secure, sturdy
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I fully recommend the maxx raxx. It comes with everything in the box including the longer bolts for fitting to your towbar flange. Its sturdy, easy to fit and use. Comes with 2 padlocks and built in security cable so that the unit and bikes are secure.
I demoed it for a friend who bought one the next day! The maxxraxx web site is very informative with lots of 'how to' videos.
It's pricey but you get what you pay for in this case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skipjack
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A very good product - highly recommended

Posted21 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, simple
This bike rack is excellent - it is very easy to install first time (although you wil need some 24mm long handle spanners to get the towball off) taking 20mins and simple to take on and off when you want to use taking 5 mins. The rack is very secure and carried four bikes easily for our trip from Kent to Holland - I had no worries at all when driving along.
Maybe the slight downside is you need a towbar - but this is what ensures the rack is safe and secure - and of course you can still use the towball to pull a trailer / caravan.
Highly recommended and will last a lifetime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gav4015
from England, UK
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

superb

Posted05 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
just what i needed.
was looking for a 4 cycle holder that was easy to store in my vw t4 when not being used .
this is great as the strap for holding cycles on and lock are fixed to the bar so less to store
this is a really strong holder and have had 4 bikes on it with no problems
when storing there are only 2 pieces so takes up no room
more than happy with it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HiViz
from Cumbria, Uk
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very functional rack cheaper than on maker's site.

Posted24 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy to fit socket on standard tow ball. One or two men's road/touring bikes can be mounted in seconds. Ladies' bikes can go on upside down; full suspension bikes could be more difficult. More than 2 bikes would need bit more time and care with padding and ties to avoid rubbing/paint-damage etc.
Better than previously owned Pendle rack for ease of securing bikes and portability of the supports; once removed they take up little space in a small boot. Tilting feature also allows hatchback to be opened without offloading the bikes.
Different model needed for swan-neck tow bars. Compulsory professional fitting of that model (and refitting when you change your car) makes that an expensive option. With standard tow-bars, however, this is the best rack of its type that I have come across and should pay for itself over many years of use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barry338
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great design, glad I picked Maxx Raxx

Posted23 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easy to install, includes locks for rack and bikes
I like the design of this product. I looked at, and almost bought a
similar style bike carrier from Halfords, but I'm glad I didn't.
The only faults I can name are that the optional number plate carrier
doesn't seem as robust as the carrier, and the zip on the optional carry
bag doesn't seem to be able to take much wear. Overall I'm very happy
with this product and the service from Evans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bagster
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good piece of kit

Posted31 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easily fitted
Fits the bikes securely on the back of the car. It's really handy not having to take all the bikes off the rack to open the boot but it's tricky to drop down the rack without someone giving you a hand.
After one use it is very easy to fit which makes it all the more usable.
Compared to the competition it's good to have a rack that doesn't either cause drag on the top of the car whilst driving or prevent you opening the boot whilst stopped.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wing
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

Posted21 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit looks good
Not able to fit youngests bike on as it doesnt have a big enough cross bar
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
newforestbiker
from new forest
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

Posted17 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great bike rack. Fitted it to the car in a few minutes. I like the way that you can adjust the distance between the bikes. Not tried it with 4 bikes yet but I'm sure it will be OK.
Very sturdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LeeZee
from Edinburgh
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Rack

Posted29 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This is a great rack, very well put together and thought out. The only down side is I've found it a bit tricky at times to get four bikes on. You have to think very logically about how you place the bike and the bars etc but I'm hoping this becomes easier with time. Also be careful with the exhaust of your car on the bike tyres, I guess this will depend on the type of car. I like it it because on my ford Kuga I can still get the top half of the boot open.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kane
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good and easy to use

Posted08 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The Rack is very easy to fit (you need a 24mm spanner and socket not included) and very easy to use. I have just returned from a trip to Belgium and the bikes remained secure and did not move around.
Only problem is that the rubber pads (red ones in the picture) come away as the bonding glue is not very strong. I have lost one of the pads alreadt and two more are moving around. I will be asking for some to be delivered after writing this review.
Would have been 5 starts otherwise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
998sSteve

Great Product

Posted08 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good Product, easy to fit once you have got the towball off the car (you will need BIG spanner and lots of muscle). Works really well, quick and easy and the bikes are secure. For what it is it's quite expensive but I guess you are paying fo the idea rather than the material and manufacturing. All together a good buy though. Fitted to ML Mercedes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maxx Raxx Premier 4-Bike Tow Bar Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunbeam
from Norfolk
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike carrier

Posted11 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The Maxx Raxx has supassed my expectations.
Four bikes - no problem.
A really well thought out bit of kit, that delivers.
Very good value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>