Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Shifters or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers

Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers

Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers
Review 1 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CinelliGuy
Country:Canada
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive, but worth it.

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
After riding/racing only Campagnolo in the 70's through the 80's I came back to serious riding and my first 'good' bike had Shimano Dura Ace. From that moment on I switched to Shimano. I tried Campag again but disliked the funny little button for shifts rather than Shimano's twin levers which to me are more ergonomically accurate and easier to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taffthespoke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Dura Ace 7900 STI levers

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent pair of levers look very good on my Cervelo. Promp delivery arrived at the time stated in the email.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlbyL
Country:Australia
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great levers

PostedMay 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I upgraded from 105 to the Dura-Ace Levers and other components although the 105 work well their is a Major difference which you would expect from these Levers.The changing is Silky smooth and positive.I definitely would recommend these to anyone who are thinking about upgrading and are willing to pay the high price,I did search everywhere for the best deal and it just happened to be Evans Cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Longandlanky
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Typical Dura Ace quality

PostedApril 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These replace my 7800 shifters and work perfectly well with 7800 derailleurs, but with the added bonus of gear cable routing along the handlebar, a little more precision, and less weight.
Delivery to Oz was exceptionally quick. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pdtvenge
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Smooth and precise shifting and highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
whitey1302
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The standard setter in mechanical shifting.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Shimano has led the way since we moved on from 'down tube shifting'.
The DA 7900 levers continue to keep Shimano at the forefront of design, functionality and reliability in this key area of bicycle components.
The ergonomics and precise shifting function get my vote for the best mechanical shifter on the market.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Farmerboy

The works

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
If you are a Shimano kind of person, this is the ultimate...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
titaniumfox
from england
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The best thing about these is that they dont get cold in the winter as they have carbon levers rather than aluminium, they are light ,have a nice reassuring click and are really good for smaller hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 STI levers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikemanpete
from Surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
  • Staff

PostedNovember 24, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very simply the best mechanical levers Shimano have ever made. The comfort has been improved greatly over previous versions and with the added benfit of eliminating the need to trim the front mech makes them very easy to use. The bigger levers do make them easier for smaller hands as they will adjust for reach
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.