Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain

Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain

Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Review 1 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Generalisimo
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 speed chain

PostedJune 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good light weigh performer. easy to fit and straight forward
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ywamyk2010
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Best chain from Shimano Duran -Ace 7900

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, best value
Cons: Expensive
It was good change for chain to Evans Cycles Shop in Birmingham Temple Street.
Best Cycle engines. .... In the World.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
biggbiggbigg
Country:Hong Kong

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
actually it is 7901 chain which is a newer model than 7900
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AJLewis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic chain

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is an upgrade from the 105 chain that came with my bike. It is slightly lighter but what really makes a difference is the finish. The nickel plating helps keep the chain looking and running smoothly because the smooth surface doesn't seem to pick up half as much dust/gunk as my old chain. Evans' discounted price was the icing on the cake! Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BrendanBCanb
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Shimano Dura-Ace Chain

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Shimano & Dura ace so great product, but with Evans Cycles a super great price and fast delivery. Thanks again!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stulli
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Silent Runner, Durable, Good value chain

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, quiet running, should be durable
I got two of these at the same time after both my chains were stretched. I was running a Sram 1091 on my 29er bike. This chain is noticeably quieter than my Sram chain.
On my road bike it seems to shift better than my old Shimano lower grade chain.
I got these for about £35 each in a special that Evans was having. For a top quality item I think it is money well spent.
I love my Sram kit but think that as far as chains are concerned - Shimano have the edge on Sram right now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kyran88
from Perth, scotland
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great service

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great price, price match facility was excellent, good service prompt response to emails, Quick delivery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
hello my name is ricardo and I'm from Brazil this was a great buy good quality and good price. I was very pleased!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
STAMOFSKI1
from Brisbane Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

dura ace chain

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These chains seem OK. Im 105kg with big track legs. I've used 4 sets of these chains in a row with no problem. I hate the fact Shimano stopped supplying them with a removeable connector. ( now its a pin only). I've re-used my first chain connector 4 times ( ie 20000kms) !!!!
These chains are good for 3000-4000kms, then throw them. But we all know that about 10 speed chains don't we !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Or risk a broken chain, and a damaged carbon frame at some stage , cause your a cheap skate. Change these chains regularilly !@!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
JohnTri
from Suburbs Melbourne Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

some concerns

PostedJune 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, subject to breakage
A light, smooth, crisp changing chain.
However beware or breakage issues.
The points below are relevant to my main/only negative comment...but it is a biggie...chain breakage.
I have a Dura Ace drive train with SLK 172.5 BB30 cranks and chain rings. I weigh 95kg bike 9kg (lights etc). I ride a reasonable number of sometimes challenging hills (eg 6km @ 11%, 30km @ 5%).
Chain had 2000km on a 50/34 11/25. Hard acceleration off a set of lights outer plate snapped, demolishing rear derailleur.
I have stated expensive only because of limited safe mileage (for me). However changes are good, it is light and it runs quietly.
If you are light and don't accelerate hard then by all means consider...because in use it is good SUBJECT to the caveat of fatigue/breakage.
So if you buy remember to maintain religiously and INSPECT for cracks in outer plates.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HH79
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An Excellent Upgrade

PostedApril 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought this as a replacement for my Shimano 6700 chain as I was replacing my rear cassette.
The chain is an excellent addition and I swear it runs smoother and faster than my old Ultegra chain, but probably just me. The only downside is the hassle of still using connecting pins - why can't Shimano use quick links?!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nunowoolmez
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good...so far.

PostedApril 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought this after my KMC chain failed me on a 100 mile sportive, leaving me with a twisted chain to complete the remaining 40 miles on. Not the best. This was after only 6 months use aswell! Went for this as Shimano gear has not failed me yet. That said, i attached the chain myself & it came off on first use. This was user error though as i did not attach quick release pin properly, so said LBS mechanic. My bad. Since then it has performed fine. Just hope it continues that way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buza
from West Midlands
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

if you want to save a few grams

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Not really a lot you can say about a chain is there? I have had chains break on me, that’s never fun is it? But never a Shimano one. I bought this to replace the same chain I have on my bike already. It is a very light chain though. So if you want to keep you bike at the lightest it can be, or save a few grams this is the one for you. Bit pricey though. So keep your eye out for special offers. Fair comment i read about the link pin though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
procommuter
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: no decent reusable breaker link
I have a sram drive train but went for a dura-ace chain because of some issues with sram chains in the past. It's performed well, easy to fit and I'd buy again. One problem is they don't have a reusable link to break the chain (shimano make one but I think even by their own admission it doesn't work), retro fit links like KMC don't seem to get great reviews so it's worth stocking up on chain pins for when you want to give the drivetrain a thorough clean.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.