Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette

Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette

Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Review 1 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul8307
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top quality

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Most people will know how good this is, nice and light a good upgrade
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fraseral
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

works well with Sram Red!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
slightly heavier than my worn Red Cassette but much better value and half the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jjlyall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great if you want to sepnd the money

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Once fitted Dura ace is smooth and reassuring. Everything you would expect. However is it that much better than Ultegra to justify the extra £, I dont think so. If you want your bike to be as good as it can and you have the money, why not.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buza
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top kit

PostedJune 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Having recently fitted a compact 50/34 chainset to my bike from a 53/39 I found the 11-25 cassette I had a little too low, so wanted to drop the gearing down but keep the same ratio as 39/25. So went for the 12-23 rather than 11-21. Seems to work well, but still unsure about the compact ratio of 34 teeth. Why not 36?
As with all Dura ace stuff its top notch, smooth shifting and very light.
After “learning the hard way”, To avoid wear on the sprockets (and this range do wear quicker), I clean and change the chain regularly and I am getting a lot more miles out of a cassette than I used to. Obscenely expensive though, so price match which to Evans credit they always will.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FoilRider
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Usual Dura Ace standard

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, durability
I already have a Dura Ace cassette but wanted a close-ratio one for on the flat. I chose Evans Cycles for competitive price and excellent service.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
titaniumfox
from england
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
the smoothest shifting cassette i have used so far but the price is silly when an ultegra is 90% as good and one third the price. i allso find they wear out quickly on the titanium sprockets and dont last anywhere near the life of a sram red/1090 cassette but the dura ace is loads quieter and smoother.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheProf
from Adelaide, Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Can't get any better?

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, smooth changes
Cons: Expensive
This is the top of the line product in every sense. The current Dura Ace 7900 follows on from a long list of current top Dura Ace cassettes that I have used. We all read many and varied views about 'how often should I change my cassette', so I won't buy into that argument here, but suffice to say you WILL get many long and happy miles/km's out of this purchase. Did you see the BMC engineer interview about Cadel's time-trial bike that clinched the TdF victory? He specifically mentions that they used the Dura Ace Di2 system so would reasonable expect that this would be the cassette that was on 'that bike'. Why not use the best??
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HH79
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect upgrade

PostedApril 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Yes, it may cost a bomb, but from my previous experience of Dura-ace cassettes, they last for a long long time.
Just swapped to this from Ultegra and personally I think the improvement in shifiting and overall performance is worth the investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denali
from Nottingham
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
great range of gears. ideal forr tt bike when course is hilly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ScottyDog
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Cassette

PostedJune 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Bought this to replace my 11-23 to give a bit more range for a trip to the Pyrenees. So far so good. Works as well as expected for Dura Ace which is pretty good !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alenden
from New Zealand
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

sensible selection

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, excellent gear change
Cons: Expensive
These are one of the lightest cassette sets avaliable and if you want to keep your bike light and want good gear changing this is the replacement cassette to use.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.