Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur

Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur

Overall rating:
4.933 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Review 1 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Konadeelux04
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Amazing Quailty

Posted11 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I am impressed with the quality this mech, easy to fit and plenty of instructions to adjust correctly, changes gear spot on a noticeable difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alex31
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Besh Mech you can buy

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, strong
This is the best rear mech for heavy trail and freeride usage as the spring tension provide very little chain slapped and I do not put a chain guide...Already bought one as spare...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
D2a2v2e
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent, quiet worth the money

Posted15 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: expensive but worth it
Been running road mechs but they just begin to rattle so splashed out this and its awesome crisp shifting and my mate has gone 2 with trips to the alps and its still going strong. Worth the extra money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AdrianD
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One word: BRILLIANT

Posted27 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent material quality, MADE IN JAPAN, using on cove shocker and the abuse it gets is sad hahaa but it just keeps on changing gears perfectly hasent skipped yet. Paired with a saint shifter and fibrax cable, sram CANNOT compare.
The skid plate also provides extra protection from rocks and anything else flicked up towards it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CaptainNumpty
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Precise sharp shifts, looks Awsome

Posted11 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great Quality, works very well , very strong and looks great
very easy to setup and adjust to perfection
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tool
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent derailure

Posted13 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is the first Saint derailure ive fitted having always opted for an XT shadow.
The derailuer has been used for two weeks in the Alps and performed brilliantly without fault.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philipp
Country:Uzbekistan
Style:Mountain Biking
It was bought:Online

The best derailleur for freeride and downhill !

Posted04 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The best working derailleur on the market, super strong, super fast shifting, long lives, reliable, awesome derailleur !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chadski
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Precise gear change

Posted01 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
After changing my rear derailleur for the Saint my gear change is second to none,giving me a lot my confidence on the climbs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
climbingkev
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Outstanding!

Posted23 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, super durable!
Super stiff and sturdy, and looks great! The strong spring means the chain is super taught resulting in a beautifully quiet ride with zero chain-slap. I lost my chain guide roller (not part of this product) during the first ride, but the strong action of the Saint rear mech meant I didn't even notice until cleaning my bike after the ride! Faultless!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ahbrown
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality product. Tough & Looks Great

Posted25 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Undestructible, almost as smooth as the Shimano XTR, really rocky solid in technical courses, responsive shifting, light and drop dead gorgeous! Highly Recomended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foxx
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano Saint Rear Derailleur

Posted21 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: not the lightest
Great tension on the spring return rate, dead easy to install and set up. Had it installed on my Spesh Stumpy Elite in about 15-20 mins. Gear changes are quick and precise can really recommend this bit of kit. Previous derailleur was XTR Shadow and this is a burly, rough and solid replacement that will really take the knocks and get you up and down your cassette super quick.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trialer
from Brighton- Sussex Downs
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great purchase

Posted09 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
A great robust,slic,reliable derr,tucks in well brilliant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
snoopios
from Plymouth
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good price, good service, good product

Posted07 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I already have one of these on my hardtail so i knew what to expect. I haven't ordered a "small" product from evans cycles so i didn't know what delivery would be like but i was impressed. It came earlier than expected and in immaculate condition. Put it straight on my Demo 8 and it was so easy to setup. Literally took me two minutes to put it on and set the gears right. Definitely going to buy stuff from here again!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dustyracer
from Whyteleafe
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
  • Staff

Bolt action shifting

Posted24 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Shimano's Saint rear mech offers up 15% more spring tension than conventional mechs. This results in a bolt action and instantaneous gear shift so you always no where you are. I was always quite hesitant in changing gears through rougher sections of terrain. With the Shimano Saint rear mech the engagement is very responsive which gives you the confidence to get in the right gear and pedal. This has to be my favourite rear mech I have ever used. I wouldn't use anything else.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Saint Shadow Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
miggydh
from Leeds
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

super smooth shifting

Posted03 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got this to replace a sram x7 on my downhill bike , easy to fit but did take a while to set up but now done it is smooth and he gears are very close so the slightest click of the shifter ( saint ) gets you your next gear .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
snoopios
Plymouth
 
Please wait while more information about snoopios is loaded.
Additional information about snoopios could not be loaded.
Posted 10 January 2011
I also got this to replace my sram x7 on my hardtail. It was very straight forward to put on the bike, just screw it on. I did have some difficulty getting the alignment right with the cassette but once it was sorted, i never had to mess with it again. I'm getting another one for my demo 8 build as well :)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)