Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cassettes & Freewheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano HG80 SLX 9 Speed Cassette

Shimano HG80 SLX 9 Speed Cassette

Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG80 SLX 9 Speed Cassette
Review 1 for Shimano HG80 SLX 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poppysbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great cassette

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Does the job well - bike was struggling preservice by Evans - now all gears working well and crisp gear changes for my commute and leisure rides (daily).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG80 SLX 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rootes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

best bang for buck cassette

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
for your tourer, hybrid or mtb SLX is the best combination of price and weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG80 SLX 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
army82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

top cassette

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
really good cassette as i got it with the price match and really good shifting on and off the trails
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG80 SLX 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Erkhut
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

HG80 11-32 , gave me a better range

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I moved from 12-24T to the 11-32 HG80 , this gave me so much more range in the upper and lower gears that it made hill climbing far more comfortable and I was able to use less energy when in top.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG80 SLX 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Giddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Silky smooth shifting at the right price

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Comparing this to my XT cassette ive had on over a year this 2012 SLX cassette is so silky smooth even under an uphill load or even slow speed shifting. Hardly any noticable weight handicap for a harder wearing cassette and a great range with a 34-11 tooth range.
Shall buy again without thought
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG80 SLX 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FabioSdVic
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality - relatively low price

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Shimano SLX series represent excellent quality allied to relatively low price (and also wheight comparable to XT series). Higly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG80 SLX 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davehar166
from wigan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great cassette

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
this is a superb bit of kit, it looks awesome and doesnt weight too much 245g for the 11-28T, its fast changing gears and last a long time, mines done 3000 miles now and is still going strong, i would estimate the life is around 6000 miles (hard riding)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Wazza5574
London
 
Please wait while more information about Wazza5574 is loaded.
Additional information about Wazza5574 could not be loaded.
Cassette
Posted October 15, 2012
Bought this as an upgrade on my 2011 Rockhopper and it does the job perfect. Much lighter then the stock one I had on and I think its worth the upgrade price.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)