Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Derailleurs & Mechs or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur

Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur

Overall rating:
4.826 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 23(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Review 1 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kel4697
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Great product

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This product was absoloutely fab for putting on my bike it work spot on and makes the bike feel brand new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ions
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Functional , effective, improves bike performance.

PostedJune 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Wanted to increase range of gears on my cyclocross bike but on moving from a 12-28 cassette to an 11-32 found that also needed to change the derailleur. The new SLX is both tough and light weight, fits easily with the rest of the original Shimano105 equipment. Produces fast confident changes resulting in more enjoyment and flexibility in the cycling the bike and I can handle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dante5

excellent value for money

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Amazing service, ordered the mech and.it turned up within a couple of days no problems or fuss. The mech replaced an old shimano altus mech and although a higher spec the difference to the shifting is excellent. Well worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stefgrob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic shifting with effortless setup!

PostedJune 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It was time to replace my old 2006 LX rear mech and after getting one of these (albeit the medium cage) for my freeride bike, it really was a no-brainer. For anyone concerned with brand compatibility, have no fear as I am running a SRAM cassette with a Truvative triple chainset and there have been no problems (using Shimano shifters though which is important!). The adjustability for this mech is straightforward with any cable adjustments made at the shifter end rather than the mech itself and as it's a shadow mech, it really does hide away from any rocks and roots! I have noticed a huge reduction in noise as the tension in the mech is just right and the shifting is super crisp with no concerns of a miss shift under power. Dont delay, get one today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flattyreman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value, robust and easy to set up

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value, robust and easy to set up-fitted one of these to another bike I have and it has given reliable service which is why I bought one again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lowrider
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Value

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have been very happy with my SLX rear mech. Setting up was very straight forward and on the trail performance has been good even when caked in mud. if you are looking for a straight forward rear mech which wont break the bank then this is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stumpyevans
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excelent rear mech

PostedMay 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Large capacity enanbles broad range of gears, whilst always maintaining good chain tension.
Easy to set up and adjust and shifts very smoothly when combined with shimano cassettes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MuddyMan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent replacement

PostedApril 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I replaced an ageing XT mech with one of these and have to agree with the other reviewers.. Decent strength springs keep the chain tension just right on my full suspension bike and shifting is smooth and positive.
No trouble setting it up and so far it's taking the abuse !
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TYPERTW
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great looking and performing piece of kit

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, great value, performs very well
Cons: none yet
I bought this to replace my XT rear mech as it has a far stiffer spring and it works perfectly. It is very well priced unit and rivals some of the more expensive mech's easily. A must buy for anyone who is into Freeriding or Downhilling who can't justify spending £100+ on a rear mech.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davehar166
from wigan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

superb

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
3000 miles and several crashes later it still going smooth and presice!! i couldnt believe how fast and accurate the gear changes are on this thing, you can almost keep pedaling while changing gear. its easy to lube up and clean and looks great, also easy to adjust! plus the jockey wheels can be very easily replaced once worn out but after 3k miles mine still look new! also very lightweight :D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheesecupboard
from Chester

Seems pretty good for the money!

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Okay, not done too many miles on it but a few runs round the local mountain biking centre. It feels very robust and well made, quite light too, not that that was a consideration. It's very easy to fit and looks darn cool! Gear changes are very smooth. Feels like we may be riding quite a few miles together!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chainbuster
from Scotland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Dogs

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Disappointingly this is a bit of a 'value' item. It will never compare well to a SRAM9 or LX, with its push fit parts, but it is very robust, takes a hammering, and shifts smoothly for much less than the fancy derailleurs out there. I have just bought my second after wrapping the last round a rock. It way outlasted the previous SRAM7 I had, and caused none of the headaches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ejustice
from Surrey Hills
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SLX brings joy to climbing

PostedJune 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this rear mech as a replacement/upgrade to the stock shimano supplied on my Hardrock. having struggled for ages with my previous mech I can say this is a delight to use. Transitions are solid and smooth and its lower profile has meant i'm not dragging half the forest down the trail behind me. An absolute breeze to fit and dialling in was almost effortless. I see no reason to go for anything more advanced as this combines the cost saving of LX and the performance and durability of XT - Best of both. I ride fairly aggressively on single track and downhill and I will be going SLX for all my gear from now on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CoburgRider
from Melbourne, Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good looking and great value

PostedApril 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent value. I have these SLX Shadow derailleurs on the back of three of my bikes. They have a good strong spring, giving clean, crisp shifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trigrwoods
from Devon
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top product

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Was replacing an slx long cage rear mech with this medium cage model to suit my double bash set up so already new what to expect from this product. Great quality, great value and shifts really smoothly. Its tough as well. Buy it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sneezing7
from Limassol, Cyprus
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very quiet & super smooth shifting

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have been using this derailleur for a couple hundred km's now, and am very impressed with its performance based on what i paid.
When you take it out of the box, you are able to tell that the quality is top notch! Installation was simple, and I am very happy that this is a "set and forget" product.
I am now running a complete SLX driveline (not on purpose - it just happened). The components really do live up to their reputation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lee83
from North London
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

slx rear derailleur

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
easy to fit, smooth operation and great looks, just like other slx components I have bought.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spadger
from Near Geneva
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Slick shifting all the way

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Fitted as part of a 9 speed upgrade for my trusty old '97 Kona lava dome frame.
Shifting excellent, easy fitting, easy adjustment, sensible money, beautifully engineered and looks pretty cool too. What more do you want!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
l33uk
from Reading
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

SLX - qualtiy at good price

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought the GS version for my downhill bike (Bullit). It is the third time I have bought items from the SLX range and I am yet to be disappointed. The derailleur provides good value and when coupled with new SLX cassette and shifters, performs significantly better than the deore set up I was running previously.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano SLX M662 Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FatMatt
from Nottingham
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good solid design, although a little stiff.

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Its a bit difficult to give this a full review at the moment as I'm not 100% sure its set up ok. The design looks great and it tucks neatly under the cassette, feels really solid, its not uber light but this a trade off against strength. I fitted this and got it set up ok and went on a 50k XC marathon up in Yorkshire Dales. It had averything thrown at it, big rocks, mud, horizontal rain and it pretty much held up ok. I noticed when I got back that there was some ghost shifting going on and some gears would take a while before changing up. To be fair this could be to do with cable stretching as it was fitted at same time and or mud getting into cable housing which is a distinct possibilty. I have heard some peopl have had a problem with stiff pivots but this could be solved easily by removing, working and adding some lube. I feel confident it will be ok and these are normal scenarios that are likely to be encountered with any rear mech. All in all quality is good, gear changes a little stiff but at the end of the day this is designed to be a rugged rear mech not a road bike mech so it does pretty much whats promised at a good price(this sort of quality and design used to be found on higher end and higher priced mechs not that long ago!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>