Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals

MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals

Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Review 1 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elena2

Great pedals

Posted18 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I'm not ready for clip in pedals and these are just perfect for short rides to work and long rides during the weekend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lynchmob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for uphill climbs

Posted27 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I am fairly new to cycling after about 45 years, and I've got various problems with my body so I needed all the help I can get. The pedals I have on my old borrowed bike weren't very good so I replaced them with these. The hill that I tried to climb with great efforts I can now do a lot easier so this is a great find, a great buy and highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
McSweep
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
It was bought:Online

Nice quality and spread load on your foot

Posted16 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Have found standard pedals hard on the foot - probably depends on your age to a degree - these pedals are very comfortable - they spread the pressure evenly and allow you to pedal harder without pain in the foot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
J0NNYG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Why aren't all pedals made this way

Posted19 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The perfect commuter pedal:comfortable, sticky and weirdly stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
larfa3
Country:Sweden
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great choice for big feet and city traffic

Posted02 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
very good for on and off riding in the city and makes for a safer ride
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
twocups
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Significant improvement in power transmission

Posted17 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this set to address a number of problems I had with the cheap single-sided pedals that came fitted to my new bike:
* I have no interest at all in clips or cleats, and I was making myself ill trying to get the original pedals flipped on to the 'right' side every time I set off!
* I found the narrow contact area of the originals (and 'normal' pedals generally) a bit ridiculous to be honest for my size 11/12 plates of meat. I'm also convinced that the bending effect narrow(er) pedals induce in my feet have triggered gout attacks on more than one occasion!
* The original pedals were so cheap the reflectors started to fall off after a couple of rides.
These MKS pedals have fixed everything. They're solidly built, and they give a really positive feel when you power down - much more force can be transmitted for the same effort. My feet don't twist now, and I haven't experienced any sliding on the pedal even in the wet, regardless of the shoes I'm wearing.
Oh, and the reflectors are still in place ;-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kevcaster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals for the clip-in phobic

Posted03 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, very secure
Well made set of pedals that provide a firm grip for road cyclists who eschew clip-in regimes. Bought for my daughters as they begin to take up road cycling and who are totally scared of fixing their feet to the pedals.
Usual MKS quality, great pricing, excellent service as usual from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alekan
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent pedals

Posted10 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Very versatile and easy to use pedals. Unique design , that adds a lot comfort if you have to stop and start very often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nikoskar

very steady - very smooth

Posted27 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I would definitely recommend it, although its not very light weights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigAnimal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great beginner pedal

Posted18 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Did not want to go straight to cleats, as I will be using this for stop start commuting - plus I am new to cycling !
My feet have not slipped once using these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philid01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Grippy

Posted08 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
excellent town pedal for stopping and starting., when you move your foot around or off the pedal it can be surprisingly grippy. suits all types of shoe and evenly spreads the load.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flatpacker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Go freestyle: you won't regret it

Posted16 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Brilliant pedals: the large, grippy surface area makes these so easy and dependable to use, in all weathers. Releasing yourself from clips, cleats and all the rest of that racing-style palaver might be the best thing you ever did. I have these pedals on my touring bike, and it's such a relief to have the flexibility simply to lift my feet when I want to. It's like being young again! Unless you're a racer, there is no advantage to being attached to your pedals; and even if you are a racer, the evidence is far from compelling that any extra power or efficiency is gained on the up-stoke anyway. There's so much nonsense put about by the racing fraternity. Resist it! Release yourself! Pedal free!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HerbieHillClimb
from Newquay
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great buy, Tricky to go wrong!

Posted04 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, great grip
Great bit of kit, I put them onto my road bike and went out for a ride, in the wet, with completly flat soles on my shoes and you don't slip at all, when you press down really hard the shoe flexes into the figure of eight hole and gives you even more grip, think I will get a set for my other bike too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Daveograve
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

MKS Lambda pedals

Posted05 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought these to replace the standard pedals on my commuter bike, which I found to be a little small. The MKS Lambda pedals are about the same width as normal pedals, but are around 3cm longer. This makes a platform for the whole foot and is very comfortable. Quality is good, with free spinning bearings and reflectors on both sides.
They are really good for stop start commuter riding, but could also be useful off road. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flyleaf
from Bristol
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Ideal stop/start pedal

Posted02 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is an ideal pedal for cycling with frequent stops and starts. Since purchase, the scars acquired using other pedals have had a chance to heal! Good hold on shoes, but releases immediately when you have to put your foot down quickly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
akzo
from Staffordshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good value

Posted19 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having used these pedels three or four times now i have to say that they are very comfortable and the large platform area they provide give you plenty of support to the foot.
A good looking lightweight comfortable option
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Radioman
from Northumberland
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Well made pedals with excellent grip

Posted29 March 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, suits most shoes or trainers
I purchased these pedals as an upgrade from the VP pedals that were on the bike originally. These MKS models have a solid, quality feel to them - much more substantial than the soft metal on the VPs which is easily damaged.
The advantage of fitting this type of pedal is that you can hop onto your bike wearing any kind of trainer or decent shoe and be assured of a good grip.
The pedals have built in reflectors for added reassurance.
Once you get used to their unusual appearance, you'll find these excellent general purpose pedals.
Bearings could be smoother, but that could be because they are new.
Recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for MKS Lambda Commuter Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RaymondTerrific
from Sheffield
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Nice all round platform pedal

Posted22 January 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These pedals are great for those who want a platform pedal with excellent grip but who don't want to have their shins shredded by spikes and sharp edges. I had read good reviews of these pedals, so I decided to give them a try on my new bike which came with aluminium pedals with a rubber grip on them, which were frankly rubbish at keeping my feet in place. At first sight they don't look like they will be all that grippy, but they really are. The roads where I live are full of pot holes and since buying these I've only slipped off the pedals once when I was going particularly fast down a hill and hit an unavoidable pot hole. As well as being grippy these are very comfortable. I ride in either work boots or trainers and I can't feel the pedal through my shoes. The only downside I've found to these is that if I stop by a kerb and pull up the right pedal to set off, the left pedal sometimes hits the kerb because it's longer than a normal pedal. It only happens occasionally though. Overall, if you want a good grip on your pedals, no injuries and you're not bothered about clips or any of that nonsense, then I would recommend these very highly.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.