Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer

Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer

Overall rating:
4.593 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(194 reviews) 193
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 194 reviews
5 Stars
126
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
188 out of 194(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Review 1 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
snowweasel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this on the Helly reputation and the reviews on here. It absolutely does the job as advertised, keeping me nicely warm and dry on these autumn days. I wear it under a long sleeve Polaris jersey and a cycling jacket and its keeping me warm so far though I'm sure I will have to layer up more as it gets colder. A note on sizing, it is a cosy fit, so a large was right for me, though I'm a medium in most things.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
minau

overall good purchase

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Recommended. Nice price nice item on sale. Maybe not so warm for vinter rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Chewman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Excellent Base Layer

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: none
I use this long Sleeve Base Layer under a short sleeve cycle top. It adds more warmth to your body and arms in the early mornings, which you can take off and put in your jersey pocket when the temperature warms up. It actually rolls up very small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
sabian92
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps you warm, at the expense of dignity

PostedJune 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: smelly
I bought one of these about 18 months ago. I'm a bigger lad at 16st, sweat probably a little more than most but I shower regularly with anti-bac shower gel etc - let it be known I am *not* a smelly person. I take pride in my personal hygiene.
Firstly - yes, it keeps you warm. It's very snug, I wore it at home slobbing around the house as well as out on the bike and it was comfortable whenever I used it. It also dries quickly after washing (although needs a 60c wash, which is irritating as every other piece of cycle specific clothing I own requires a 30c wash!) as it's very thin.
Unfortunately... it makes you pong. Like, within an hour of wearing it and just sitting around in it. I don't know what causes it but it seems to harbour stink from you and it isn't nice at all. I ended up binning mine as I never wore it. Even on my 3 mile commute I used to arrive rather ripe. Thankfully the smell doesn't end up back on you as badly as it smells on the base layer but I stopped wearing it pretty sharpish for commuting.
Spend a little extra, get something else (if smell is your problem, merino is good) and avoid this.
They don't call them Smelly Hansen for nothing.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PI45
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was very surprised by how warm this is. Product is as described.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Reflex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well worth getting

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Need a base layer? Should you splash out and buy this? Yes! Why? Because it is comfortable, well made and does the job. You won't even remember you have a base layer on
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
FalconOlympic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

It's a base layer.......

PostedApril 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Base layers are really quite useful but difficult to review. Just what can you say about them? I have a number; I bought this one because I felt the need for a white one to go with my club jersey. It's grand, a little lighter side than others I possess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
1luke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Most useful item of sports clothing

PostedApril 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Having used these HH base layers for years, for everyday commuting and running daily and they work really well in all conditions to help keep you dry & cool. Great fit, long lasting. My favourite bit of kit!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
middlewingnut
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm, weightless, great fit. Any Questions?

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my second HH base layer top. Both are worth at least double the Evans Cycles price. Fit is great - size guide is accurate, and the warmth/weight equation is perfect for me.
I've been cycling through the winter with the exception of 4 weeks due to the rain around Christmas.
This is the item I put on first and love the most.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
StuD67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing Value

PostedApril 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Highly recomend. Do not miss out on this item. i will be buying more. Excellent Quality, Excellent Value, Excellent Service...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thehoodedclaw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great base layer/top

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a high quality, comfortable base layer that is equally good as a normal top. The sizing is spot on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MAF66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best bit of clothing I've bought

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I've never been one to wear base layers in the past. I've usually put on a top or jacket over my cycling shirt, rather than under it.
The base layer feels very thin to touch, but it keeps you surprisingly warm. It's perfect for the typical spring weather when it's a bit nippy to wear a T-shirt, but too warm to wear a cycling jacket over.
I wish I'd bought one sooner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reviewer111

excellent piece of kit

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
worth every penny, nice material and warmth for sub 10degC weather. Good wicking property - feels warm and dry on skin, and feels damp on outside when removed, as expected. highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
duceski

Helly Hansen - bast base layer

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These really are good. They. Keep you warm and dry and the winter but help keep you cool in the summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lavaman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, good fit, warm

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Good value, good fit, comfortable and looks good. Does what is says on the tin.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
qwerasdf

does the job very well

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
well made and performs well. Not sure I'd pay full price though, I got mine in a half price sale
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hardcastle58
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Helly Hansen - bast base layer

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These really are good. They. Keep you warm and dry and the winter but help keep you cool in the summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Odran
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great price

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
It's really light to wear pulled the sweat away from my body and kept me dry on a long 3 hour cycle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
mtb2kids
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for wamer weather

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
thin material, good quality, not skin tight for the size they suggest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
CFCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable, good value base layer

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Have now bought a total of three of these for my husband - they are excellent value and very comfortable. Wicking is great, fitting is not too tight, they look good & are very light weight - they've worked really well mid season under short or long sleeved jersey as well as under wind/water proof down to around 5 or 6ºC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>