Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer

Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer

Overall rating:
4.609 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(207 reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 207 reviews
5 Stars
137
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
201 out of 207Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Review 1 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted03 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this on the Helly reputation and the reviews on here. It absolutely does the job as advertised, keeping me nicely warm and dry on these autumn days. I wear it under a long sleeve Polaris jersey and a cycling jacket and its keeping me warm so far though I'm sure I will have to layer up more as it gets colder. A note on sizing, it is a cosy fit, so a large was right for me, though I'm a medium in most things.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

High quality garment

Posted23 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Bought this Helly Hansen in preparation for the winter. I am a daily commuter cyclist, so need clothing that is reliable, durable and guaranteed to keep me warm during my 40 minute trip to work each day. From previous experience this base layer will not let me down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Comfortable base layer

Posted22 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
Lightweight, warm base layer for colder spring/autumn daya.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Base layer

Posted18 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Bought a medium in white.
Nice fit and keeps you warm
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted29 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
It is perfect for a base layer. It keeps the moisture off the skin exactly as intended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I wasn't sure if I needed a base layer and even less sure of which one to buy.
Having asked about why I should consider this item I was asked a few pertinent questions that are me realise that for my cycling comforting I would really benefit from a base layer.
I have found this base layer a very practical addition to my cycling gear. What I like most is that even when my body temperature rises the perspiation is easily absorbed thus not leaving me all hot and bothered.
Great product , great quality, great price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for the cycle to work

Posted01 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This is great and keeps me dry wicking away all the sweat and drys in no time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect base layer

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I use this for running. These are cooler than other base layers, but much more comfortable as they wick sweat away well. When combined with other clothing - brilliant. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good Base Layet

Posted26 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good autumn/winter base layer, works well keeping you warm and wicking away moisture. Would buy another if necessary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:Luxumbourg
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality base layer

Posted22 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fits snug, as it should, and used for cycling and skiing so far. Kept me warm and dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great kit

Posted23 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Does just what you'd expect, it's a nice thin layer so not bulky but definitely keeps you warm on those cold rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

As expected

Posted07 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good fit and nice material, as expected. Would buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large

Comfortable & Lightweight

Posted10 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good base layer, works well. Nice and comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it's supposed to well

Posted08 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Worn several times on short road outings wicks sweat well and washes well. Sizing chart perfect I'm generally a large, but often sleeves are too long. On this fits great , sleeves would fit someone with slightly longer arms too, but ok for me as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

overall good purchase

Posted27 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Recommended. Nice price nice item on sale. Maybe not so warm for vinter rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Excellent Base Layer

Posted16 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: none
I use this long Sleeve Base Layer under a short sleeve cycle top. It adds more warmth to your body and arms in the early mornings, which you can take off and put in your jersey pocket when the temperature warms up. It actually rolls up very small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps you warm, at the expense of dignity

Posted21 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: smelly
I bought one of these about 18 months ago. I'm a bigger lad at 16st, sweat probably a little more than most but I shower regularly with anti-bac shower gel etc - let it be known I am *not* a smelly person. I take pride in my personal hygiene.
Firstly - yes, it keeps you warm. It's very snug, I wore it at home slobbing around the house as well as out on the bike and it was comfortable whenever I used it. It also dries quickly after washing (although needs a 60c wash, which is irritating as every other piece of cycle specific clothing I own requires a 30c wash!) as it's very thin.
Unfortunately... it makes you pong. Like, within an hour of wearing it and just sitting around in it. I don't know what causes it but it seems to harbour stink from you and it isn't nice at all. I ended up binning mine as I never wore it. Even on my 3 mile commute I used to arrive rather ripe. Thankfully the smell doesn't end up back on you as badly as it smells on the base layer but I stopped wearing it pretty sharpish for commuting.
Spend a little extra, get something else (if smell is your problem, merino is good) and avoid this.
They don't call them Smelly Hansen for nothing.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted13 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was very surprised by how warm this is. Product is as described.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well worth getting

Posted05 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Need a base layer? Should you splash out and buy this? Yes! Why? Because it is comfortable, well made and does the job. You won't even remember you have a base layer on
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Helly Hansen Dry Stripe Crew Long Sleeve Base Layer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

It's a base layer.......

Posted17 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Base layers are really quite useful but difficult to review. Just what can you say about them? I have a number; I bought this one because I felt the need for a white one to go with my club jersey. It's grand, a little lighter side than others I possess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>