Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t

Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t
Review 1 for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pete13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value freewheel

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is an excellent alternative to Shimano's 14-28 seven speed freewheel. It works just as well and gives a slightly higher top gear which I find useful on my wife's e-bike. It uses the same installation/removal tool as Shimano freewheels. A good buy for older bikes or lower end modern bikes using a separate freewheel rather than a cassette. Well finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brunslow
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good quality freewheel and works well. Chosen because, for me, it has a better configuration of sprockets than Shimano 7-speed freewheels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
vijinho
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works fine on my old racer

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this as a replacement for the worn-out freewheel on my old Italian road bike which had 120mm stays and a freewheel. Works fine although I had to shorten the chain a little to make sure the derailleur wasn't too stretched.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rustyoil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works perfectly fine

PostedJune 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I can't fault this freewheel. Especially as it's such a basic item for a low price. I'm just glad they still make them for my bottom-of-the-line commuter bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peter13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful gear range

PostedMay 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought to replace the almost ubobtainable 11-30t freewheel on a Dawes folding bike. The 13t gear gives just a bit more speed than the ubiquitous 14-28t freewheels and it seemed worth a try as the alternative would be £55 for a new rear wheel + casette. Only time will tell if it is durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheese
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this to replace my second Shimano one in as many years, the freewheel on the last one had become quite noisy (in spiteof being kept well lubed), the first one had a cog free itself and just spin within weeks of fitting. This one seems to have a good freewheel mechanism in it and appears to be plated (the Shimano one eventually gathered a bit of rust despite the regular lubrication that has kept the chain rust-free), so hopefully it'll do more than just look good!
Fits well, indexes well and so far has stood up to being kept outdoors in the foul weather we have had of late. This is fitted to my commuter hybrid and gets ridden/stored in all weathers.
A bit soon to give give a long term assessment but so far, so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
billebike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good gear range, excellent value for money

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this to restore an old bike which I now use day to day for local journeys. It had just the gear range I was looking for and, with the free delivery, was excellent value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
camb
from oxon
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

freewheelly good..

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
bought this to replace an old 14-28 shimano unit on my hybrid bike.
does the job well so far, smooth shifting, easy to fit. the free wheel itself sounds a little different to the shimano one but aprt from that you cant tell the difference. recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raztom
from North Wales
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap freewheel in you want a 13T sprocket

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very reasonable price. Bought because could not find Shimano 7 speed with 13T, wanted lower than 14T.
So far has worked fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tommunbeig
from Paisley
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Help my Knees

PostedMarch 31, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
68 and with two arthritic knees, I counted them, I couldn't spin my pedals fast enough for the standard 34 tooth bottom gear on hills.
28 teeth of the new Sunrace Index 7 Speed Freewheel 13 - 28t lets me do most of the hills round my way in Renfrewshire. Anything steeper and walking is quicker. At the other end, that odd tooth less - me2- lets me stay in the centre ring for a much longer proportion of my journey, and this is also part of being kinder on my knees.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.