Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake

Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake

Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Review 1 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bayleaf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Spot on

Posted10 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy to fit and work perfectly. I have a hybrid bike and these work a treat. Could not believe how easy to fix and the delivery was excellent. Highly recommended and very reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lregoli
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Simple and functional

Posted11 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
For those still using traditional shoe brakes, the Shimano Acera V-brake is as simple and functional as it gets. Easy to fit and to adjust, with perfect braking effect and at a more than reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JustynG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for bring life back to an old bike

Posted21 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this and other items to restore one of my sons old mountain bikes. Great value, easy to fit and delivered quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Courier
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good price V-brake

Posted18 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
As ugly, style-free and soulless as all Shimano parts, but works well as is expected of the brand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MixteRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Better than Textro

Posted23 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
We bought 2 Evans Pinnacles, apart from routine the only parts I had to replace on both bikes was the Textro Brakes. Two broken springs and on one the cable pulled out of the anchor as the hole had opened up. Hopefully the Shimano replacements are better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fullysynthetic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Easy to fit, adjust and use

Posted10 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit for the home mechanic.
Easy to adjust.
Good performance.
Excellent value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dirwood
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Incredible value, so easy to fit

Posted13 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to fit
Bought these to replace a set of V-brakes on a 12 year old mountain bike which had failed due to reasons that were totally beyond my comprehension as a complete mechanical half-wit. When I saw the price (not much more than a pair of brake-shoes!), I thought, "what the heck have I got to lose?".
As you may have gathered, the thought of doing anything mechanical fills me with terror but so does the thought of parting with exorbitant amounts of cash to pay someone else to sort things out if I can do it myself, so with trembling hands and a sense of trepidation, I set to work on replacing my old, knackered brakes with these. As far as I am concerned, jobs like this have two grades of difficulty: "can do" and "can't do". The fact that I had a working set of brakes on my bike after just half an hour puts this job firmly in the "can do" category and believe me, if I can, anyone can.
Quite apart from the ease of fitting the brakes, they work absolutely fine (well, they stop the bike - what more can I ask?) and they seem like fantastic value.
On a darker note, I've just got back from my second trip out on the bike since the brake-repair with a horrible looking nail sticking out of my flat front tyre. Time to stretch my practical abilities to the limit once again, I suppose, although I doubt if fixing a puncture will prove as easy as fitting these brakes!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
catiaduarte30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Reliable

Posted05 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Shimano is a reliable brand - cheap v brakes however it also brings the brake pads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nilbot
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted20 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Solid set of brakes that do the job. No complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DJHope

This product does what it says on the tin

Posted09 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have had no problems stopping the bike so I am a happy customer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spinky
from uk
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality bit of kit.

Posted28 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Brakes are of good quality, instructions are easy and good brake pads supplied too! A brilliant, cheap way of upgrading my old bike!
Nothing bad about this product at all.
Order arrived quickly! and no postage and packing costs...ace!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cliff
from canberra, australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great brakes for the price

Posted23 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
put these on my son's MTB- which he had been refusing to ride due to rubbish brakes (kids bikes all seem to have the very worst brakes!!) rubbing on tire and impossible to adjust correctly.
Sooo easy to fit and they work fantastically ! Should have done this years ago instead of taking bike to bike shops for frequent adjustments. Now he's back riding his bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
traffic
from Harrow
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good upgrade for a cheap bike

Posted17 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, fits easily
The standard fitment front brake on my daughter's Falcon failed dramatically. This Shimano part is a simple replacement, fits in 10 minutes, and even Shimano's cheapest is better than the standard fitment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mhal78
from Hampshire
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bargin Brake

Posted01 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Brought as replacement on commuter hybrid. Arrived very quickly - Thanks Evans.
Easy to fit - Great stopping power! & Bargin price.
Will now by same as a replacement for front break.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
yogatim
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted16 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Heavy brakes, but they do the job if you're on a budget.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dazzy
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Really Good Brakes

Posted31 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
For the cost of these brakes they are fantastic. Easy to fit and adjust they beat the stuffing out of the pressed steel ones I had prevously
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
henhouse4

Posted28 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The brakes arrived very quickly and were perfect for the job. An excellent service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano Acera M422 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VishalR
from harrow
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted24 February 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
these brakes aare the best ones i have ever ought . i used tem in the snow and they were so responsive . i used it with a avid break lever and a primo cable. works so nice
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.