Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light

Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light

Overall rating:
4.087 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
20 out of 23(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Review 1 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
christian105
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very bright and compact,maybe some clip issues.

Posted07 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is my 3rd mars 4 light.they are very bright and easy to use.first one seals went after 2yrs of winter use.second one i lost recently on a fast decent on a rough road and it bounced out of the clip.
This is probably the only weak point of this light in that clip doesnt always feel that secure.i sometimes tape over the clip for security.
Other than that i think its a good product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rookie666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

ultra bright rear light

Posted24 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, bright
I have a couple of Blackburn lights and a cateye. But this is the one I like the most. It is very bright. Gets you noticed on those dark winter nights. My mate following me had to go in front as he said it was too bright for him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Richy7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Dissapointing

Posted14 March 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Had one of these for about a year and was impressed with brightness, but it suddenly died, (should have kept reciept for warranty...doh)
When I ordered a new one the troubles began, the first one was dead with all the battry terminals corroded, second one had dead batteries so was returned, and the third one had dead batteries again, I changed these and the replacements drained in 3 days without using the light! so that ones been returned as well.
A big thumbs up for Evans customer service but a big thumbs down for this light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
oldcrankturner
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Faulty out the box - not a patch on Mars 3

Posted24 January 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Very bright. Faulty out the box, batteries went dead after 3 days, used 4 sets of batteries to confirm this. I love my Blackburn Mars 3 which has proved ideal for a couple of years. I prefer the "knightrider" type strobe of the 3 to the simple on/flash/off of the 4. Seatpost clamp is marginally better than the 3's but 3's is adequate and simpler. My replacement will either be another Mars 3 or a different brand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trekwheatlands
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent bright light

Posted14 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, bright
bought this light to as other rear light came off bike whilst commuting and smashed. so my criteria was to buy a good quality rear light which was bright and fit onto my pannier rack. this light does both/ im using it as i commute to work 32 miles along some dark country lanes and need to be seen, no issues with light, cars appear to be seeing me with no issues. im not using it as a solo light i do have another rear light for peace of mind. because of my experience with my light uncliping itself i do check this is secure regularly which i recommend as sometimes it does not appear to be fully clipped in, that said ive had no issues with it coming unsecure once clipped in, so overall very pleased with purchase so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dwarf
from Scotland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best of bad bunch

Posted23 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, light is good
Cons: retaining clip
This is my second one!
Better light than my Cateye and the reason to buy another. Need another? Yes because with our rubbish roads they fall out of the clip. After 200+ miles the fibration eroded the clip. I know because I recovered the debri after it fell off. However, I have just completed 450+ miles in France and no wear! Smooth roads! Same bike same rider same light and bracket.
I suggest a regular check of the retaining clip or if using only one bike, drill and cable tie.
Great light - pity about clip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
power2weight
from Hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little light

Posted18 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, bright, side lights
This is a compact and solidly built rear light. It fits neatly under a range of saddles, tucking neatly out of the way at the top of the seat post. I use one on my Brompton for commuting and I bought this one for my daughter who has started riding to the local station to get to college.
The light is bright and highly visible although being a single LED it lacks the spread of some bigger lights. The orange side lights are a great benefit when riding in London as they aid side visibility at junctions.
Fitting is very easy and the mount doesn't swivel or slip.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joginder
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very bright, good value

Posted11 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I have not used it for long so can't say anything about battery life but the supplied batteries still going on. Anyway I am going to use rechargeable one. Its very bright and shiny and easy to detach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scruffmonster
from London/Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Bright, great flash, good value

Posted29 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: eats batteries, fiddly battery compartment
I've owned this light for 3 months and would recommend it to anyone that cared to listen. It's super bright, and while the batteries do not last as long as they do in my other light (A knog boomer), the light is a lot brighter.
Do not expect to use this light without buying some rechargeable batteries or finding a money tree, the brightness comes at a price. I put being seen easily over the inconvenience of charging batteries once a week though, so would definitely buy the light again.
The fixing to the bike is a bit too complicated, but once fixed is very strong and the quick release clip is great, it's not likely to bounce the light out yet is easy to clip in and out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenMumbaGreen
from South London/ North Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Light For The Money

Posted06 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
You get more than you pay for with this nice light from Blackburn.
My friend has one too, so I get to see what its like when we ride at night.
The side amber lights are a nice touch.
I does the job flashing behind me making me feel confident when riding at night.
The mount is sound as a hound in a pound.
I'd say put this on your short list for sure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nunowoolmez
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very bright!

Posted07 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A great choice, very bright light, have used for long time & not changed batteries yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scouserinlondon
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Bright, but directional

Posted03 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: direcitonal beam
If you look at this light head-on its eye-searingly bright.
The unit is well waterproofed, there are a million methods of attaching it to stuff, and with a set of 2100 hybrids in, it stays bright for a week's commuting.
I have this light on the seat post on flash mode, all the time; day and night.
My only issue with this light is that it is very directional. There is a significant deterioration of brightness as you move away from head on, but that's the price you pay for such a bright lens. To mitigate that I have a cateye light which isn't as bright but has a much better throw.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
BarryH
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Faulty unit?

Posted16 November 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Although light, bright and waterproof, the Mars 4 has a number of design flaws, not least of which is the pathetic on/off switch, difficult to use even without gloves. It's also expensive compared to the competition.
Sadly, my example drains new Duracell Ultra batteries in less than a week, say about three hours. Have switched to a Topeak unit and would not buy this model again.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kestevan
from West Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Eye melting rear light

Posted04 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is one seriously bright little light.
The main rearward red LED is bright enough to show up amongst car taillights on a wet foggy November night in the city centre. Two modes are offered, constant on and a steady flash which really screams "Bike!"
The auxiliary amber side lights are to be honest a bit of a gimmick, as they're not large/bright enough - but more lights can't really hurt.
The unit itself is well made, and weatherproof. The fitting options are excellent, the back of the unit has a molded on beltclip which acts as the connector for the supplied post mount. The mount is easy to attach, using a large thumb wheel, and very secure when in place (unlike the cat-eye mounts). The bracket fastens well to a seatpost, but is too large for skinny rear stays.
Battery life on standard AA cells is pretty good, with a steady drop off in brightness after about 20hrs - a good indicator to change the batteries.
Only drawback really is the small, rather fiddly power switch which can be awkward to use in winter gloves.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KW123
from Peterborough
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Posted31 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, flexible fitting options
Great light - excellent visibility from a distance in either flash or constant mode. It has flexible fitting options. I have it attached to a rear pannier, which feels very secure but could also use it without a bracket by attaching it to saddle/pannier bags or clothing. Overall, very pleased with it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stubbsy
from Milton Keynes
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

The best LED

Posted15 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, easy to fix
Cons: batteries in pack may be discharged
This is the brightest LED I have seen. I use it when riding in competitive time trials. Several fellow competitors have remarked how visible it is even on the sunniest of days. Fixing to any profile of seat pin, including aero, is quick and easy as is the angle adjustment. Does what it says on the tin.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sergf1
from Ukraine
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

One of the best rear light on the market

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good value, Good quality
I am very satisfy with this light. Extra bright LED attract attention to you on the road in solar day and makes you visible in night time. To small LEDs on each side makes 180 degrees of visibility on the road.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nash
from York
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very bright light

Posted18 April 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, very bright
This is a great bright light for night-time riding. Have used it on completely unlit country routes and it definitely leaves me visible to cars. It also has several different mounting options. Very good light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Djion
from yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good commuter light

Posted20 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Excellent light, a good size, very bright and also good side visibility. The thing I really like about this light is the variety of mounting options, there is a clip for attaching to clothing or a bag, pannier or seat post mounting. The only minor thing is, you use a coin to open up the casing to replace the batteries and this has nicked the plastic casing, so far no problems hopefully it will stay that way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Blackburn Mars 4.0 Rear LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
road
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

mars attacks

Posted15 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, bright
Cons: Expensive, small
The main contender in this price bracket would be the Cateye L610. The cateye has the fact of its length over the Mars 4.0, which is a rather stubby little thing. However, the Mars 4.0 has a 1 watt bulb, which is brighter and more projective than the cateye equivalent, in my opinion. I like to leave my lights on the fixed beam, as drivers have told me that they cannot percieve the distance of a cyclist with a flashing light. So the strong single beam of this light suits me. It comes with a belt clip attached to the light body, which clip cleverly slides into the mounted bracket without needing to be removed from the light. Its amber sides are functionally limited but conceptually appealing. I have had no problem removing this light quickly, with plenty of finger room between the bracket and the light to get at the release button. You can tell that Blackburn mean business because the packaging promises a lifetime warranty on this model, and the light comes ready with duracells, not cheapy unbranded ones. A useful light, but I still double it up with another on my bag.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>