Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set

Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Review 1 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dianex2001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brentford

Very Happy with the product

Posted11 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I am very happy with my lights. Excellent value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smittie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Good value set

Posted29 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great value with the combined set. Bright lights with flashing features. easy TO FIT AND QUICK TO REMOVE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chopper316
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good light set for commuting.

Posted27 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought these for the daily commute on busy but relatively well lit roads. The rear light is very bright and lights you up nicely, the front light is surprisingly bright too and is fine for my usage.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rob63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Front Light Works Loose

Posted23 October 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: good functionality
Cons: Heavy, front light works loose
The tail light was excellent. I was pleased with these lights functionality at first.
The head light has 4 AA batteries (making it heavy) and a relatively short mounting bracket with clip compared to light length. Despite carefully checking it was fully clipped in before riding following the user instructions, I found the light worked loose 3 times and flew off on same road section but not others.
Therefore the EL220 headlight is no solution for me, twice I had to scramble to collect batteries and light parts of road. This may have affected me particularly because I have stiff roadbike, rather than front suspension or soft fat tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
heman468
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent product

Posted05 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
they are great and do just what they are meant to do
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Youngster
from Chandlers Ford
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job

Posted14 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, very bright
A great compromise between cost, weight and brightness. Simple to fit, light and bright - what more do you need.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NicoB
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality kit @ great value.

Posted19 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Simple install, easy use and good light coverage. Great light kit for city use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharpy09
from london
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great, cheap and cheerful

Posted15 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
i have cateye's but i needed a spare set and these do the trick perfectly the big light ( white) is a lot more powerful with a really bright beam, and the red is small compact and easy to carry around. both are very hard wearing and a great cheap set of light's. took 2-3 days to arrive from ordering will order again from evans cycles again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucks61
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye

Posted21 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These units were extremely easy to fit and give emit a very bright light. They are also very good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GregisCool
from Oxford
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A nice light set

Posted20 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Lights are easy to put on and take off. Easy to install too. Front light is bright but not for pitch black nights without street lighting. Its good not to have to toggle through countless flash settings to turn them off, just hold the buttons down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cby9

Good value at discounted price

Posted06 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
At £25 a decent light set. I would have been disappointed had I paid the originally advertised full price of £40.
Pretty good front light in the dark but I wouldn't want to do more than a few miles using it and certainly wouldn't use it for busy dark roads. Probably good in lit-up urban areas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RichardQ

Bright lights

Posted05 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Rear light is nothing special but very bright front light so good on darker roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stacvic
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Good set of lights

Posted02 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Have used these for a month or so now.
The battery life seems to be fine, size wise they are small but bright. I commute with them and find they light up dark alleyways and it is really really easy to switch from flashing to constant for navigating obstacles.
They have been rained on a few times and though I cannot confirm they are waterproof they seem to be fine in the sort of heavy drizzle we get.
Would recommend and buy again if needed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
paulbcfc
from birmingham
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

nice and bright

Posted02 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
excellent lights easy to install front light is more effective in flash mode you will be seen rear light bright as well with 3 modes excellent buy ideal for those dark nights and mornings
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye EL220/TL150 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bigmofo
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great piece of kit

Posted05 March 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
well worth the price tag for an easy to fit and effective set of lights. The front light will illuminate your way on dark trails and paths with no lighting on them. real easy to install without the need for tools.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.