Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer

Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andyd5367
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Great product

Posted06 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great product, this is the second velo 5 computer that i have purchased for my second bike as i know it works and has a easy to read screen. The lights are powerful and work very well also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gooksta

Great product! A*

Posted30 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great product, the lights are good quality and clip easily on and off the bike. the little computer is great to see the speeds you have been going and the distance you have covered - good motivational tool to keep going !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davew5169
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Exerllent item/ package

Posted07 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have found this item to be of excellent use, for a medium beginner,
The speed gauage gives you an inclination what you have achieved and the lights both front and rear are excellent and value if only for the brightens, which is very helpful in my case due to living in the country, thus using country lanes and roads daily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
acoleman51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice & Bright

Posted23 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
With Autumn well and truly here and winter fast approaching I needed a set of lights to extend by riding which up until now had been restricted to day time. The lights are very bright and highly visible so I had no fear of other trail users or vehicles on the busy roads around where i live having any problems spotting me. Work well in the fog/mist too which we've had recently. Haven't quite got the Velo 5 computer sorted yet but this was only a secondary part of the main purchase and for the price was worth the addition. Very easy to install and very stable even over rough terrain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HighLow
from Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money

Posted01 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: instructions in chinese
If you have just bought a bicycle and invested all your budget in the price of it, this is a nice kit to equip your bike, and covers all basic needs for safety, visibility during dark hours of the day (e.g. return from work) and mileage and speed count. I guess this can cover your needs for ever.
- Lights are great, I do not see any reason to replace them even in the future,
- velo5 is basic and wired. Probably some will need a more sophisticated computer later on, but for beginners or if some do not need detailed measurements for calories etc, can live with it forever just fine. This is overall a good value kit, and it cost significantly more to buy its element separately.
The instructions for velo5 were only in Chinese, however it is easy to find an English version of it on the net.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Impi
from Banbury, United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A ightweight product that is easily installed.

Posted26 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This product is excellent value for money. I started cycling again after many years and the cycle computer works well to keep track of your distance cycled and the speed at which you cycling . The lights work well in well-lit areas. I haven't used the lights when it is very dark.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
whartley

does the job

Posted08 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very good value basic bike kit. Lights are powerful and easy to attach and detach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NaitPutney
from Putney Hill
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent Gift

Posted19 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have bought this a a gift for my husband. He has found the lights very good, the rear light is very visible and the front light, strong enough to be able to see the surfac /path properly at night. The fixings for the lights were easy to install and so far have kept the lights secure.
He is also enjoying the computer, he found it easy to install and is pleased with its keeping of his cycling millage
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
giannos1980
from Athens
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye Gift Set

Posted10 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Perfect value for money ratio, frond light is great for city use and good enough for poor lighted roads but don't expect miracles at this price range, back light is good too. The computer is pretty basic but if you set it correctly (check youtube) you will get perfect results. Evans delivered in lightning fast time. Product exactly as described.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PlumTex
from Newbury
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted07 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very easy to fit lights. Front light was unexpectedly bright compare to my old LED one. Rear is good too.
Computer is basic but frankly is perfect for my needs. It always displays your speed. It has a clock, a trip distance as well as a total distance and records your peak speed.
Switching from KPH to MPH isn't explained in the instructions. A combination of pressing the front button and rear 'set' button seems to allow you to switch to MPH at the expense of doing a total reset.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
SammyCharlie
from Reading
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye gift set

Posted27 March 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
The front light is excellent and allows other road user to see you.
The rear light is not very good. This is because the light is not very bright and other road users struggle to see you with this rear light.
The timer is also a waste of money and very rarely keeps up with the amount of miles/distance that you actually do.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nasho
from bedfordshire
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

satisfactory enough

Posted07 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This set represents good value, the lights are ok for town use but I felt additional lights were necessary for dark country roads as the front light in particular does not light the way very well. Other wise very satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Veg79
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Nice lights

Posted06 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, shiny
Cons: only two settings on front light
They are good and shiny! Bright, clear and secure!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomD93
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Posted02 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
very good for price, durable, works well, a great bundle to be put all in one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thecyclemonkey
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

excellent value-for-money set

Posted01 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, good splay of light & variable settings
Cons: pedometer difficult to fit
I was bought this set of lights & pedometer as a present wen I replaced my (stolen) bike. The lights are very good - very easy to fit, remove & use, and give a really decent throw of light considering how small they are, with several different variable settings (permanently on, slow flash, fast flash, etc). The pedometer is also excellent - now I've managed to fit it! The instructions for fitting the pedometer are minimal and not very helpful, and I had to enlist the help of someone who had fitted one previously. Might be worth asking a friend in a advance, or even your local friendly Evans staff, to help fit it ;-)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jens
from Stockholm, Sweden
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Male

Good lights, not so good computer

Posted15 April 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: few functions on the computer
Bought this set from Sweden and got it delivered in 4 days, everything worked out great.
The lights in this set is really good, but the computer misses a lot of functions wich i thought i wouldnt need, like average speed a stopwatch, calorie meter and so on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philok
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great, easy to read
Computer easy to fix to bike. easy to set and easy to read.
Lights easy to fix to bike. front bright but uses battery up quite quickly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Gift Set - EL135/TL130/Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LaLa
from Cornwall
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

Good value set

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a nice simple little set of basic lights and computer. Doesn't do anything too fancy but you wouldn't expect that for the price. I Especially like this computer. Looks nice and sleek and quite easy to use and understand.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.