Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover

Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover

Thermoregulation: Body temperature plays an important role in athletic performance. If the body cools down, the muscles do not receive a sufficient blood supply. As a result, accidents and deterioration in performance can occur. The materials used for temperature control are highly wicking on the inside, offer ideal insulation and are extremely soft to the touch. Rapid escape of perspiration prevents the body from cooling down due to evaporation and the fabric from sticking to the skin. In this way, you can keep your body warmer and drier.
Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
34 out of 42(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rose11

Great product

Posted13 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Nice looking item. Has kept my feet nice and warm and away from wind chill. Had to order two sizes to get correct fit. Trainers are UK size 6 and medium was a tight squeeze. Traded up to the large and they are a much better fit. Definitely recommend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
luckyornot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Should be ok when the weather warms a bit

Posted13 April 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: thin, snags on velcro
They are a bit thin for anything below about 10c for me, toes went numb. I'll try them again when it warms up a bit (back to the neoprene in the meantime).
They also seemed to snag on velcro so care is needed when putting them on or taking them off if you have any velcro on your shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brastardo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great, easy to use and kept my feet warm!

Posted06 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Really happy with these as they were easy to use fitted well and kept my feet warm. Great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
freehrmny

not for UK weather

Posted02 April 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
it is not waterproof not windproof
maybe it will be more suitable for country that is much more warmer than here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mattdsc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

As expected, excellent quality

Posted25 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great all round product. The quality of Gore is always great and this item is no different. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Infinitifx30d
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works very well.

Posted26 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I have sprayed me overshoes with a waterproofer and so far they have been excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
FletcherSheff
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Not great

Posted21 May 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Although the oversocks look good and seemed to work well, windproof and warm, I only wore them two days in a row (90 miles) and two holes appeared in the front of each foot. This was not due to falling off the bike or tearing them in anyway, so a little confused
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Richard50

Very Thin

Posted09 April 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
It is very thin and almost no protection against cold weather. Toe becomes very cold even with putting this cover over the shoes. It may be effective during spring time, but not for winter.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mozz
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

look great

Posted01 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Just need to be careful you don't try to use these when it is going to rain as it won't keep your feet dry
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
solsurf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

the design has changed for the worse

Posted10 March 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Uncomfortable
This is my third pair of these, they seem to not fit as well, and the the zip rubs on my leg making it sore, also the velcro fastener undoes as the material is doubled over.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
moshe1
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The zipper got broken during my first use

Posted14 January 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
So I returned them to Evans and got a refund. Also, no real protection from cold weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantamas
It was bought:Online

good buy

Posted20 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good for chilly days but not for freezing winter days.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Topper77
from England
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent for the price

Posted05 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought these for my city commute, as I was tired of cold/wet feet. While they have solved the wind chill, they don't offer any protection agains the rain. As stated, decent for the price, but of no use for anything more taxing than a commute.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
liquidcool
from Radlett
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great as long as you can levitate

Posted20 October 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Have worn these for 3 rides, and already there are holes in the toe area. I have not done any excessive walking, besides walking into the house and putting the bike on a bike rack.
Does not look like they will last much longer unless I can find a patch to sew to that area to protect it.
It does do the job of keeping your feet warmish on those crisp days. So I can't take that away from it.
The reflective stuff on it is also a plus and shows up really well in the dark.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
thedream
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Avoid if you want to waterproof shoes!

Posted04 October 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
They weren't waterproof at all - the water seeped through onto my trainers so they were a waste of time for me as I was looking for something to protect my trainers from bad weather.
Possibly more suitable for those looking for something to protect them from wind and to keep the warmth in.
I found this product came up a lot smaller than it's sizes. I am a 40 and the Medium siad it went up to 41. However,
I struggled to get them over my trainers.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Jayz58
London
 
Please wait while more information about Jayz58 is loaded.
Additional information about Jayz58 could not be loaded.
Love them
Posted 26 October 2011
I'm a size 11 so bought the XXL. They go on with no problems at all. I actually think I should I gone for a smaller size for a snugger fit even though these aren't loose.
They keep my feet warm and look great. I'm aware they are not waterproof and have another pair for that. Velcro is very useful to ensure they are nice and tight around the ankle.
I'm glad the cleat and heel holes have already been cutout and re-enforced, unlike the Assos ones I previously had. What a stupid design they were and only lasted a couple of months.
I'll keep an eye on the wear and tear on the sole.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from Perth, Western Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value purchase

Posted25 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Good product. Came as advertised and as shown in the picture except for a velcro strap at the top of each bootie to allow you to tighten the top - perhaps they've been listening to other reviews saying that the fit across the top is too loose.
I found the fit good for me, and I'm not a big guy. I picked off the stitching to remove the velcro straps and make the booties look as they do in the picture (the velcro on the strap is black, and I thought that it spoiled the sleekness of the bootie anyway..
As per other reviews, the bootie does provide a definite level of warmth, but is not as warm as a full winter bootie. However, from what I found through searching the web, it is probably the only warm bootie in colour white on the market.
All in all, this was a good buy for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nigellynch1
from Nottingham
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good deal

Posted25 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Having brought these online (which went ok, no hitches in getting them to the shop for collection) there has only been one occasion where I've had to use them, I have a size 10 shoe and ordered the large, which are a pretty tight fit but OK.
white wouldn't be my choice of colour (they was cheaper in the sale) but I suppose better when its dark.
The zip and Velcro flap help to keep it in place, they are easy to fit (even when raining)
Walking on them once on (if you had to) could be an issue with them being made of material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JamesSewry
from Weymouth, Dorset
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great look!

Posted21 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, windproof
Cons: not waterproof
I bought these after having my feet drenched on a sportive. The shoe covers are a great product, and are waterprooof in light rain, but I cannot comment on their ability in heavy rain. They manage to keep your feet warm also. A great buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
arnieS
from Oslo, Norway
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality product reasonably priced

Posted25 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Provide excellent cover. Easy to get on and off. Keeps my feet dry and warm on the cold summer days here in Norway.
Arnie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Road Shoecover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ilfalco1912
from North Surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gore Wear bike shoe covers

Posted13 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
good quality, protect the shoes from light dust etc, not too tight around the ankle and they look pretty good too (well I reckon they looked good in the photo of me on the way up Alpe D'Huez. Also the lettering is reflective which helps with gradually darkening morning. For a light show cover these are pretty good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>