Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus

Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus

Overall rating:
4.227 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Review 1 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
franco13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Grudge Purchase ! but perfect !

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Hope I never need to use it but if I do I know ir will do the job and it fits neatly in a small saddlebag (with a cartridge inside turned round) along with inner tube, levers mobile phone and money! worth doing the Fixit course if you are a returnee like me for peace of mind on getting the rear wheel sorted. Ultraflate and Evans Fixit gives you miles of carefree cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jurek
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect.

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Bit heavy when you carrying 2 cartridges with you, but when you get flat tire you're back on the road in minutes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hanna123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Easy to use

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I have it in my saddlebag, but it's easy to use and very handy to have when you get a puncture. The design is such that you can easily fill just a little air into the innertube to help you change it, then fill the the innertube up when the wheel is back on the bike. Good for bad weather days and cycling in groups, or next to busy roads. For that matter, any time you have a puncture because who wants to sit next to a road changing innertubes when you can be on your bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
adassoc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good but larger CO2 canisters don't fit properly

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable, best for small co2 bottles only
Useful, handy CO2 tyre inflator which has dual valve capability, however..... while the packaging says it will take all cartridge sizes, which it does in term of the valve head, but the plastic body will not fit onto the valve head if you are using a 25g.
It's OK with the supplied 16g and might be OK with the 20g (never tried so I don't know) but if you want to use the big cartridge, for say, your 29er it just will not screw together as the cartridge is too long for the body. Be prepared for chilly fingers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Crossin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Reliable CO2 device

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: large
There are two great things about this item: 1) one of the easier ones to use if you have never used one before as there is a trigger to start and stop, 2) the shell protects the hands from the freezing tube. The only downside is that it is slightly big and takes quite a bit of space. For me, usability beats light weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product - not used in anger yet

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Purchased (in addition to spare inner tube) in case of puncture on long rides. Fits in small/medium under saddle bag.
Well built & cannister is covered therefore protects from freezing cannister when dispensed.
Cannister can be stored in the handle the 'wrong way round' until required, therefore you don't have to pierce the seal
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spud51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Must be one of the best on the market.

PostedMay 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The cannister is enclosed so no frozen fingers. Controlled release. Haven't had to use it and hope I don't need to!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mememe666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

so easy to use

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy and compact love it what more can I say its does what it says on the tin?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nick63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great compact pump

PostedMay 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great pump for long bike trip. Fits perfectly into small frame bag. I hope I never have to use it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mcb46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product - watch one thing though!

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: don't overtighten
I used it for the first time this evening in the dark by the side of the road. So helpful when you just want to get going again.
I was grateful for an earlier review on here: the user had tightened the pump up tightly when fitting the cartridge and could't then untighten it, meaning it could only be used once. With this in mind I only screwed it up with the cartridge in snug, rather than as I tight as I could - it worked fine with a 16g Genuine Innovations non-screw cartridge, pumping up a 700c road tyre to between 100 and 120 psi (and i wasted a bit by accident working out how it works!).
So overall a great piece of kit which fits in a medium size saddle-bag. Just don't screw it up too tightly or you will only be able to use it once!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mcb46
London and Surrey, UK
 
Please wait while more information about mcb46 is loaded.
Additional information about mcb46 could not be loaded.
Review Update
Posted April 14, 2013
I read that someone had found the thread had gone a bit funny. Since my first review I have also had a similar problem. The thread on the actual inflator has worn - I've only used it perhaps five times.
This means it doesn't screw together correctly, and therefore the canisters do not neatly attach and pierce to release the CO2 into your tire.
Yesterday out and about I had a puncture in the rain - I found one canister slightly pipped but luckily had a second. It didn't get all the air into the tyres, but enough to get it inflated...
I will be very wary in future of relying on this alone.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Qwerty163
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

small and sturdy

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I purchased this on recomendation from a friend. Not had to use it yet but my mate had to use his and it worked great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gnarlylondon
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice tool to have

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Well built, easy to use, reasonable weight.
Fits in the saddle pack easily and is a fine replacement for a hand pump.
Button adds to the ease of use and allows you to pump up to desired pressure.
Takes threaded and non-threaded canisters and can take the different sizes.
One canister pumps up one tire up to 130 psi which is what I need, so it's great.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

looks great

PostedApril 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have not had to use this Innovations tool yet but have used others in the past and they work great.
This one looks vert stylish, is comfortable to hold and feels very sturdy and good quality.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Emmay
from Lake District
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Not used yet

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Bought this to use when out with my road bike because it's small enough to fit in my saddle bag. The quality is good and with the ability to use the trigger to put in as much or as little pressure as required it should be okay. I was worried that I might not be able to get up to pressure with a manual pump( because I'm so weedy!) and I'm hoping this will do the job.
Not used for real yet
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tapemeister
from Kent
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Dissapointing

PostedOctober 31, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, breaks first time
I had tried a practice repair with the cartridge supplied and everything worked fine. When it came to the real thing yesterday, on a very windy isle of Sheppey, I had to replace the cartridge with one of the innovations 16gram cartridges I bought with the device. These have labels on the outside and the tolerance of the container is so fine that the label causes them to jam inside. I inflated the tyre successfully but on trying to remove the cartridge by rotating the head of the device the head snapped leaving the cartridge jammed in the container. Not good on a first use. I think I’ll be looking at a metal one next time.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BaughtForMySon
from Cornwall
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very handy gadget

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Not had a chance to use this yet but very well made. Nice size which fits in saddle bag very easily. Will take threaded or non-threaded cartridges. Mixed reviews on the pressure that it will inflate to but should get enough in the tyres to get you home.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trackrecordplay
from London & Herts
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Ultraflate plus

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Brilliant., brilliant , brilliant Quick simple and easy to use. just remember always put the cover on and if not make sure you have yours gloves on CO2 gets very cold when released. but very easy to use. small and fits in small saddle bag easy with gas bottles and tools neat and simple
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BrickWall74
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Pump-Pump

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
More of a toy then an actual requirement, but very handy while out on club runs, as you can leave the bulging out of the jersey, pump behind. Easy to load and use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gilbert
from Norfolk
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
  • Staff

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: big
light and easy to use. You need never be disappointed with a small hand pump again as this will get your tyres up to 125 psi! little to bulky but who cares when it makes your life so much easier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Genuine Innovations Ultraflate Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CotswoldDave
from Oxfordshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Lightweight, Easy to use!

PostedApril 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I keep one of these in my seat pack, stores in there easily. Easy, quick and safe to use.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>