Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike

Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike

(Picture may be of mens model)
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PinkPotions
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Love it,

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Recently purchased my Pashley & love it!
Every bike I've owned up to now has been agony on my butt cheeks but this brooks saddle is comfy straight away and I'm told that once the leather breaks in it will be even better. I've not had a sore butt once on this.
The bike looks fab, it's sturdy, great seating position if like me your not a fat of being hunched over the handle bars.
It's only fault is its weight which makes hills or the odd patch of grass quite difficult but I think with more use my legs will get stronger and I'll manage better.
The bell is also super cute it's like a door bell!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
safer66
Country:United Kingdom

Beautiful Ladies Bike but HEAVY

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Bought via cycle scheme to missus who is not an accomplished ryder mainly because she found it really beautiful in the shop. It is indeed a beautiful sturdy bike but very heavy and I do not recommend to petite ladies such as my wife. Although she really likes the looks I predict that if she starts using it more often she will eventually change to a lighter one.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Victoria84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

Retro sheek

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Absolutely amazing bike I love it, would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a retro looking bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Den21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Lovely bike

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I spent ages trying to decide whether to buy this bike. I read lots of positive reviews but also a lot saying it was a heavy bike. Having been used to a lightweight road bike I was unsure whether to go ahead and get this one. I am so glad I did. Yes it is heavy if you had to lift it up a flight of stairs. But I don't, and I live in a flat area. The first time I went out on my pashley I couldn't stop smiling. It is very comfortable to ride and feels very stable even with the basket full of shopping. I have ridden it to work each day and haven't wanted to get the car out once. If you want a lightweight bike to do hills it is not the one for you. But as a practical bike for daily use around town, it is perfect. It looks great too.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wsf1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

lovely bike, but too heavy

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
It's an absolutely gorgeous bike and my wife loved it, but it's really heavy, particularly on hills. If it could be just a bit lighter, it'd be perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Faranak
Country:United Kingdom
Gender:Female

A cool cruiser with a hefty weight

PostedJune 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This was a recent purchase, so time will tell how well it fares, but it seems it would take a lot to break this incredibly solid and well built bicycle. The historical look of the bike is less "old fashioned" and more "retro cool," less "Lady Muck" and more "Biker Chick." The thick black paint with gold detailing finishes things off with class. The bike is heavy though, oh yes. Do not purchase if you want to race or climb hills in a hurry. That weight offers a great solidity on the tarmac though with pot holes and emergency braking becoming less of a danger than with some aluminum feather weights.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kimberleycb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

I love the basket and the bell :)

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I think this bike is beautiful and proper girly, which makes me smile. Everyone looks at it in admiration. However it is a little heavy but I was warned about this, but I don't use it anywhere where I need to lift it. I would definitely recommend this for commuting.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spencey
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Gorgeous design

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Really great bike, beautiful looking and sturdy frame.
Basket makes it easy for you to carry all your stuff around without needing to wear a rucksack etc and you can add another onto the back if you want to.
Only downside to it, is of course it's weight. Will be difficult for any lady to carry up one step, let alone a flight of stairs, so bear that in mind before purchasing.
It's a smooth ride and great for relatively even and flat surfaces but weight will mean going up hills requires a bit more effort than usual!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swisshills
from Switzerland

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought bike for my wife, who hadn't ridden for sometime and wasn't so confident about ridding on the roads again. The bike is realy solid and my wife loves it, has all her confidence back.
Bike is perfect for ridding on the flat and avoiding hills as its quite heavy. Looks great. The hand grips are not so confortable so have replaced these with brooks leather grips from evans,
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissAmanda
from Southport
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Beautifully crafted

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
A beautiful bike, well crafted and excellent sizing for taller ladies.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChloeJane
from Manchester
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female

Pashley Princess Sovereign

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This bike is beautiful and is very well made.
It is very heavy which means riding up hills requires quite a bit of effort, however I bought this bike to commute to work and it does the job perfectly.
I have also ridden the bike down canal paths and on dirt tracks and although it’s slightly bumpy, the bike can definitely handle it!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linrider
from Midlands
Age:Over 65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great classic bike

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Bought for my wife to get back into cycling. Excellent bike for round town. Heavy but stable and secure. Should last a lifetime.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hasenschneck
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Just don't give it a name...

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This is the Rolls-Royce of bikes. It rides very smoothly and looks beautiful. The wheels don't buckle every time you go over a pothole and the seat is really comfortable once you've worn it in (takes about a week). The brakes are easy to adjust and don't leave you filthy. In fact, it's probably the cleanest bike I've ever owned with its fully enclosed chain.
It certainly bucks the trend for the latest technology (lightweight/collapsible), which is great, considering the roads today are so poorly surfaced and speed is nothing but a danger in a city like London. Most importantly, car drivers seem to be more respectful of me riding it. Not sure if this is the imposing basket on the front or the fact that it seems to have such 'presence', or perhaps I just look less competent and savvy than on my anonymous-looking hybrid bike. But whichever, as the veteran of a serious bike accident that I was lucky to survive relatively unscathed, this is a GOOD thing.
On the down side, it is expensive and quite heavy. It's also taking time to get used to the gears after using derailleurs for years. Whilst they are quite sufficient for town use, the lever on this five-speed Sturmey Archer set is not well positioned and is awkward to manoeuvre (and I have big hands for a woman). But it's repositionable (not combined with the brakes - big bonus) and just needs adjusting.
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
drps
from Kingston
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, Good quality
The quintessence of old fashion bike manufacture. Smooth ride, very comfortable. My wife loves it. Thanks. Viva Shakespeare!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sparkley
from Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

Design classic, great town bike!

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
The Pashley Princess Sovereign is a very stylish bike, but probably not for a "serious" rider!! It is heavy to handle so better off to use on the flat or around town. During my first ride 3 people asked about the bike, so it certainly turns heads! Good sized basket to carry shopping but be careful not to over-load it. So if you want a Made in England design classic and don't want to go up hill this might be the bike for you!!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RossBD

Beautiful

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
It's a lovely bike, thoughtfully specced and really well made. Its weight makes it not a great bike for hilly terrain, but the fact that bike isn't featherlight actually makes it better for lugging shopping around because stuff carelessly thrown in the basket has little impact on the bike's centre of gravity.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
doctort
from Nottingham
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fantastic Bike

PostedJune 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good quality
I bought this bike for my wife's fortieth birthday to replace an older bike which had been through the mill. It's fair to say that this present made me a very popular man because the bike is simply stunning. The quality of manufacture is second to none, the attention to detail is beyond anything I've ever seen on a bike and above all it's genuinely beautiful to look at. This is a bike that harks back to a different age and for sheer gracefulness it can't be beaten.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pashley Princess Sovereign Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ATO36
from MK
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

Quick test ride

PostedMay 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Beautiful bike. Really well equipped. Nice to have rack, dynamo lights and protected chain with sealed gearing hubs (little to go wrong). It also has a protected portion to keep feet out (if you are going to put your son or daughter on the back).
Disadvantage was that I was amazed how heavy it was, but if you can get past that do give it a go. The steering takes a bit of getting used to if you're used to mountain bikes. Hard to control steering at low speed, brilliant once moving well.
Not for me, but is definitely worth a look.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.