Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M647 Pedals

Shimano M647 Pedals

Overall rating:
4.756 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
41 out of 41(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M647 Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darrenhall206
from Surrey Hills
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fantastic pedal

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
As a rider with large feet these pedals are superb, having used them now for coming up 2 years I can safely say that I've put them through their paces from purpose built trail centre riding to muddy single track on the Surrey hills these have never let me down and because of the larger frame they give you great support on those long all day rides. Highly recommended pedals that feel great.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrBikeEastside
from In a shed up at Heathrow
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've been using SPDs since - erm the early 90s. I've tried various models/types but find that Shimano are the best in terms of value for money and function. I'd been using M540s for quite a number of years but wanted something with a platform for more epic rides to give more support to my shoe when clipped in and also to give a platform for when I'm not clipped in. These really serve that purpose, so much so that I bought a 2nd pair for my other bike.
I'd recommend these to mountain bikers who like riding clipped in but are looking for something with a larger platform than regular SPDs. I'd also recommend these over the other similar looking offerings from Shimano (M424 and M545) as these have a better clipping in system.
The only downside is that the larger area means more risk of pedal strike, but it's negligible really.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Manstein
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for big feet !

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
This is an excellent pedal for bigger feet and gives good support over long rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fizz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality product

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
My first foray into the world of clipless pedals, so I wanted something I could use with normal trainers or cleats, these fit the bill to a certain extent, they're excellent with the shimano mt43 shoes I have, but only good for short distances with normal shoes as the clips do stick up from the pedal cage slightly but I can live with that. They seem good quality and are lighter than I thought they would be with a bigger cage than my mates m424s which is what I wanted
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
duncanjw69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pedals

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great dual purpose clipless pedals at a great price. Solid, well made I would recommend to those who want the best of both pedal types.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GJKIoW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful option for mountain bike

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Useful option for mountain bike where you do not feel fully confident using pedal clips all the time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brijn
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I wanted an SPD that would give me a firm purchase on the mountain bike as opposed to road biking where I feel you can get away with less of a pedal. I've found you can really drive through the pedal stroke when climbing which is exactly what I was looking for. Also when I want to nip out you can just wear a trainer as opposed to clipping in
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ammn
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Take a beating well

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I am new on SPD so fall a lot and this pedal is able to take the falling well. Only slight problem is sometime if it get too muddy i will take a bit more effort to clip in.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ashmoreland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

excellent value. Sturdy pedal

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit/set up. Good under foot, especially out on the trail
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OhMaggie
Country:South Korea
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pedal with very good features

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value
Cons: Expensive
Mountain riding in the necessary pedal is
Safety is good, easy to deal with emergency situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wormy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

GREAT ALL ROUND PEDAL

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great clip ins, very strong and very easy to clip in and out. Very strong can take a good knock
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
886nicko
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Flexible Pedals

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Ok , so they are not the lightest on the market but they do what they do extremely well! I like the feeling of a wider base to push into when on the road at traffic lights etc and when on rutted trails. The added security of being clipped in makes my pedalling more efficient. If I forget my MTB shoes I can still cycle with no discomfort.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MisterMR44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent MTB pedal

PostedMay 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these to use with my MTB. They're easy to fit and to adjust (although they were pretty much ideally set straight out of the box for me) and are mechanically identical to the 520 (which are tough, reliable and easy to service) so you can clip in on both sides.
I particularly chose these because they looked like you could also use them without wearing a SPD shoe should the need ever arise... but having now tried them for that I would have to say that occasional option comes with limitations.
It is possible to ride on them without a dedicated SPD compatible shoe but the mechanism does stand proud of the pedal cage so even if you're wearing soft tread trainers, you will feel it through the sole. I'd say 'okay for short distances and only if you have to' which is ideal for me, but maybe shouldn't be a primary reason for choosing these.
As a SPD pedal though, they're hard to fault. 5 stars. Recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cenzo
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable and sturdy

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
I've run a pair of these on a SS commuter for the last 2 years and they've been great. The clip-in mechanism is much better than the cheaper Shimano pedals and provides an excellent connection with the perfect amount of float for me. The platform gives me options in terms of footwear, I can pretty much wear any shoes and still use these effectively - the only exception is flipflops, the soles are too thin.
I like them so much that I've put a pair on my new 29er MTB. Again, the extra platform is great when you hit a gnarly patch and need to ride unclipped for a spell.
The only downside is that they're fairly heavy, but this is far outweighed by the good stuff!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Christoph1966
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does just what I want them to.

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Never used SPD's before (but have used toe clips). Recently just been using flats but these weren't very good with the Northwave GTX boots I recently purchased as the carbon soles kept sliding around on the pedal. Now I can clip in and out easy as pie and still ride in comfort down to the shops in a pair of trainers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cull
Ireland
 
Please wait while more information about cull is loaded.
Additional information about cull could not be loaded.
Posted October 12, 2013
Hi, I have a pair of Northwave GTX boots also, and am looking for a pedal that i can cycle on rougher stuff without being clipped in, do you get enough grip without being clipped in these pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IThinkICan
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My first clip in pedals

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I took the plunge to buy clip in pedals for my regular commute and occasional xc race. These have been great to learn on as they are so easy to clip in when starting off. I had confidence day 1 to just start riding without having to look and try and get my feet clipped in.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travlefx
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect all rounder

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Very good !! Unlike most these make you feel very stable clipped in - easy release - very happy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lazygoat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent - but quite expensive

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, reliable
Cons: Expensive
Great pedals - been using a pair on my other bike for some time now as well. Comfort and flexibility of good quality SPD pedals with the ability to ride, in comfort, with flat shoes when required (which I do when I simply want to go to town with the family)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Adam222
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Adam222

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I find it hard to get pedals to lat. Mostly ride big All mountain.
I find the bearing in mine are usually knackered within 3 months.
I'm sure with gentler use they would last longer.
The plastic also tends to develop sharp edges so Its worth removing these with a de-burring tool or file every month.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M647 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian918
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Made me wish I went 'SPD' years ago!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I've been toying with the idea of SPD pedals and shoes for a while. I was tempted to go second hand in case I didn't get on with them but at this price thought 'what the hey'! They were easy to adjust; I started on a slack setting as my initial ride would be through the streets of London on my way to Ruislip Woods. Easy entry and exit; I'm a massive SPD convert now and can't wait to use them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>