Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set

Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set

Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Review 1 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jbob
Country:Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a great little light set that is adaptable to just about any helmet. Cheap, and actually made in Germany.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Giddiyap
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very light weight , bright poor mounting

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: poor mounting
Light is bright , very easy to set up but the attachment methods is not great. Included adhesive does not hold the light well enough. They tend to drop off. Also angle of how it is mounted needs to experiment with , so that it can be seen
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
c113

Cheap design - seem to break too easily

PostedDecember 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
These just don't fit that well on the helmet, and leave wires hanging down which is a hassle. The 'switch' won;'t stay clipped on either.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hydie
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

not really worth it

PostedJuly 12, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I have had a couple of problems already, the sticky tape for the LEDs doesn't seem to be sticky enough and the LEDs keep falling off (have now used Sellotape sticky fixes instead). almost lost the battery cover because when you turn the lights off you can easily keep twisting the cap so it's loose and can fall off. maybe they could have designed a push button on/off rather than twist. not impressed but it wasn't too expensive.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JoeJ
from surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Topfire helmet tail light - repeat customer

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, adaptable product
Cons: attachment depends on fallible sticky tape!
I like this Topfire red flashing helmet tail. In fact i've bought a second one as the first one was showing signs of reaching the end of its 'life expectancy'.
On the longevity front, this product might have gone on a bit longer...but it got a lot of use and it hadn't completely failed anyway: 3 of the 4 diodes were still working, though not quite as bright as when new.
The design and functionality are good and i haven't come across many similar products.
The light is used by fitting the battery onto the helmet strap (behind the ears) and has 4 diode lights that are mounted in helmet vents with sticky tape. You can arrange the diodes as you see fit.
It's easy to fit, turn on and off and it's not bulky.
I've had two of these tail lights - the first one lasted me a few years until one of the diodes gave up. So on the longevity front, this product might have gone on a bit longer...
It may not fit every style of helmet but fitting it is simple and it's adaptable.
All-in-all a good enough product for a repeat purchase and the price tag is probably justified by the design effort that went into it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
sprog
from Derby
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Bad switch

PostedDecember 14, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: on /off switch
Nice buit of kit, fairly bright.
On /Off switch is dodgy, no feeling to when it is off
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
timetogo
from Sussex
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good additional lighting option

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
Cons: Heavy, could do with being even brighter
Easy to install. The LEDs are quite directional so it is tricky aligning them. Not surprisingly they are not as bright as a conventional rear light. I would pay more for a brighter version. That said they are the best option I've across as a neat retrofit to a cycle helmet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GSwan
from Bo'ness
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Helmet LED set

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great set of helmet lights , they just add an extra high level visible option for the other road users to see.
Used for a year now and still on the original battery, but if used everydayy think would need to replace battery.
In all a great safety product.....:-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Skidlid
from Wimbledon
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent Idea

PostedDecember 10, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great, excellent idea
Cons: Poor quality, needs improving
This item was recommended to me by a colleague. Excellent idea and worked very well for the first couple of weeks. After that water/sweat managed to get into the battery compartment and it then only worked intermittently. Shortly after that it stopped working altogether and before the six months were up the wires had eroded so much that they actually came away from the battery housing. However, excellent idea but needs to be robust enough for the hardened commuter...I cycle 16 miles a day on a working day and have been commuting every day, including in the snow, for the past 18 months.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brizzly
from Bristol
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

lit up like a christmas tree!

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: poor functionality
I like to wear lights on my helmet because I think the extra height helps you to be seen in heavy traffic. More and more lights specifically designed to be mounted on the help are now on the market. Where the topfire is different is that because the lights fit inside the vents, they are pretty difficult to spot during the day, so if image is important these are for you. They're nice and light, and don't effect the fit of your helmet so you can leave them on there all year round.
Where they fall down is functionality. Because the LED's aren't magnified in any way, they're not very bright and are quite directional. The switch is embedded into the battery housing, so you rotate the outside of the casing to turn the lights on and off. This is a little fiddly, and can pull the housing off the upper end of your chinstrap to which it is designed to be mounted.
All in all they're a nice little addition to have and they look great, but they are a little disappointing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thedonkey

show you helmet

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
excellent idea,value and quality as those nights are now wet and miserable this adds that extra visibilty for little amount of dosh.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Busch & Muller Topfire Helmet LED Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Crdc
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: sticky pads did not last long
The lights are great as you can spread them around your helmet, however the stickyness of the tabs did not last that long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.