Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock

Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tobleronemaster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Heavy Duty & Secure

Posted17 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This is my 2nd Kryptonite lock from Evans replacing a Kryptonite Kryptoflex Key Cable Lock which was broken into within record time. This lock however is the opposite although very heavy it is not only a strong detterent but a must if you do not want to loose your bike.
The lock is good value, good quality, looks great as a visual deterrent and does exactly what is required
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trudge2
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

solid but expencive.

Posted04 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, very solid
Cons: Expensive
Built like a tank. I bought it to lock a £1000 bike at home but also use it to lock the same bike if I want to take the same bike to busy towns. It is nearly 5kg so heavy to put in the panier.
Is so heavy that it is a awkward to handle when locking up . Worth it for piece of mind.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jesse
from Leamington Spa
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Home Chain

Posted26 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, weight is reassuring
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This is far too heavy to be carried around, although I have seen people cycle with it around their necks; probably a very good workout!!
In my humble opinion, it is best used with a ground anchor at home, because of the heavy weight. It is a beast that would surely scare off all but the most determined and knowledgeable (read professional) thief. You can feel the quality in both the chain and the mini U lock.
Make sure you price match this as it is very expensive!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lofty678
from Yorkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very secure

Posted02 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
It isnt easy to cut through these chains. Ive been using this chain together with an anchor in my garage - it would take some serious hardware to defeat this combination. It is very heavy so not really suitable to carry around on rides. A really good feature is the light on one of the keys - this makes it easier to find they key hole when the light isnt too great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
disconoir
from Berkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid but heavy!

Posted14 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Bought this chain as I was going to be leaving my Cannondale at the train station all day whilst I commute to London and although the bike is 8 years old I really didn't fancy having it nicked. After a good hunt round the internet I decided on the Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit lock (chain version).
All I can say it's excellent if a little heavy.
Very easy to use but the 5/6kg weight is a bit much to carry around with you on each ride. You don't notice it if it's round your seatpost but I tend to have it rounbd my waist and it can give you a it of sore back (but also a bit of a work out)
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AngelVideyra
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

lock

Posted30 December 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
this is a really good lock, i bought this and happy with it. it is 5kg but it is worth it, ive got an eye catching roadie and dont want to lose it, i lock back wheel and frame with this lock, i also use 16mm New york U lock to secure my front wheel and also attach it to a frame, also if u got a good seat i suggest to get a wire for 15 quids to secure the seat,
overall this lock is very reliable, a very comfortable way not to notice the lock when riding is attaching it around ur waist, in that way u wont feel it, it is better than keepin it in ur backpack, this lock is expensive but so is ur bike, strongly suggest
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
1brompton
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Too heavy for carrying around

Posted19 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Uncomfortable
Felt very sturdy and safe but unfortunately was too heavy for me to carry around in my back pack (5Kg). Would be good if you were keeping it chained to the same place. I had to return it in favour of a lighter version
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RedDragonTaff
from Wales
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Heavy Duty Chain and Lock

Posted11 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I bought this chain because it was Gold Secure rating and I was able to price match an online competitors price.
This arrived in a small-medium sized purpose made brown cardboard box which bares the Kryptonite logos/branding. It was very heavy.
You get the small u-lock, the chain, 3 keys (one includes the blue LED light), and some paperwork. For UK buyers this paperwork offers you free theft insurance cover for your bike for upto 12 months (check the T&Cs on the paperwork). However in order to qualify you need to provide the till receipt for both the bike and this chain/lock, and also register your bike with a national bike register.
The lock seems substantial and it's hard not to notice it when installed on a bike (visual deterant). There is no bike mount for this sort of thing and it's heavy enough I'd say not to carry around with you all the time. The fabric outer cover seems to be made of a durable material. I have been using it for 2 weeks removing from the bike about 20 times and I can see signs of wear and tear on the seams of the fabric. Everything else seems as good as new.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Potsie
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Feeling Safe

Posted26 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I bought this quite a while ago but thought it might be worth giving a comment on it. I use this puppy to secure my Brompton when out cycling, I don't take a lock out with me for my racer a to perfectly honest I wouldn't feel safe leaving it anywhere. The lock is very heavy and noticeable when carrying it in your back pack, make sure you have one with a padded back. The chain is chunky and can be difficult to feed through a folded Brompton but I feel happy leaving my bike in a town centre knowing its locked up with the Fahgettaboudit. This is a Gold Standard lock FYI. Think about the weight it before you buy, and how much you love your bike!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vilmantas
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Tough and heavy

Posted02 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, heavy
Cons: Heavy, you know you did your best
My fixie is over 1K so at least you know you did your best by putting the thickiest chain on the bike, but reciently I use the lock with thinner chain.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blakey
from Birmingham
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Does what it says

Posted02 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I had a bike stolen with one of these on it...they had to prise the wall anchor off the wall at the front of my house as the lock was too tough to break! The bike was returned and I have bought another one of these locks, but I wont be locking it to a wall anchor again. These are worth the money as a physical...and visual deterrent. Some people who are intent on stealing your bike will know what the bike is worth...but will also know how tough the lock is.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
keith
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Security is second to none

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, locks easily
Cons: Expensive
Having had quite a few locks over time this is the best I have owned. The chain is heavy (funny, the lighter the bike the heavier the chain) but it is long enough to go around things most chains couldn’t even attempt and the lock is VERY easy to use. It is not one of those single sided locks that never seem to sit right but it engages on both sides so it is easy to slide the u bolt in place and lock up, even under stretch.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.